My Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) queue from one Amazon account was subscribed to an Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) topic in another account. I deleted the cross-account subscription. The subscription is now in the "Deleted" status, but I want to recreate it. How can I do that?

After you run the SNS Subscribe API call from an Amazon account, the subscription itself becomes owned by that account. If you run the Unsubscribe API call from an account that does not own the subscription, the subscription goes into the "Deleted" status for 72 hours.

While the subscription is in the "Deleted" status, you can’t resubscribe the same endpoint to the respective SNS topic. The Subscribe API call returns a "200 OK", but the subscription remains in the "Deleted" status until 72 hours have passed.

To resubscribe your SQS queue from one account to an SNS topic in another account, use one of the following options:

  • Send a GET request to the "SubscribeURL" provided in the "UnsubscribeConfirmation" message. Amazon SNS sends the "UnsubscribeConfirmation" message to the SQS queue when the subscription reaches the "Deleted" status.
  • Wait for the SNS subscription to be automatically removed after 72 hours, then resubscribe your SQS queue to the SNS topic.
  • Recreate the SNS topic as a new topic, then subscribe the SQS queue to the new SNS topic.
  • Recreate the SQS queue as a new queue, then subscribe the new SQS queue to the SNS topic.

Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center.

Published: 2018-02-06