I deleted all the files from my S3 buckets, but I still have charges for S3 on my bill. Why?

Here are some other things you might check to minimize your S3 charges:

  • Disable logging for any S3 buckets before deleting them.
  • Delete any file versions (backups of S3 objects) in versioning-enabled buckets. Deleting an S3 object doesn't automatically delete all versions. For instructions on how to delete object versions, see Managing Objects in a Versioning-Enabled Bucket.
  • If you've used the multipart upload API to add large files to S3, make sure that you've aborted any incomplete multipart upload requests. The data from incomplete multipart uploads is stored in your account until the upload is aborted. For more information, see Abort Multipart Upload.
  • If you have empty buckets without versioned objects, some programs (including the AWS Management Console) initiate LIST requests to pull the names of your buckets. The simplest way to avoid these requests from being generated is to delete any buckets you don't need—see Deleting or Emptying a Bucket.

Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2016-04-06

Updated: 2017-06-06