我该如何排查将 Storage Gateway 文件网关加入到域以用于 Microsoft Active Directory 身份验证的问题?

上次更新时间:2020 年 2 月 3 日

我在 AWS Storage Gateway 创建了一个文件网关,并且想将 Microsoft Active Directory (AD) 用于身份验证。但是,当我尝试将我的文件网关加入到 Microsoft AD 域时却收到以下错误消息:

  • "The specified request timed out"
  • "The gateway cannot connect to the specified domain"
  • "Invalid domain name/DNS name cannot be resolved"

我该如何排查这些问题,以便将我的网关加入到域?

解决方法

要排查此类问题,进行以下检查或配置:

1.    确定网关可以通过运行 Ping 测试连接到域控制器。您必须从与文件网关具有相同网络配置的系统对域控制器 IP 地址运行 Ping 测试:

注:将 DomainControllerIP 替换为域控制器的 IP 地址。

ping DomainControllerIP

2.    验证您已打开防火墙内的所需端口。通过从与文件网关位于相同子网的服务器对端口 389 (TCP LDAP) 或端口 636 (TCP LDAPS) 上的域控制器 IP 地址运行 Telnet 命令以进行确认:

注:将 DomainControllerIP 替换为域控制器的 IP 地址。

telnet DomainControllerIP 389
telnet DomainControllerIP 636

3.    如果文件网关在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行,那么您必须创建 DHCP 选项集,然后将该集附加到实例所在的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)。这让您的文件网关可以找到您希望加入的域。在创建 DHCP 选项集并将其附加到 VPC 以后,您最好停止并启动文件网关运行所在的实例。

如果您将文件网关实例加入到本地域控制器,而且该文件网关实例是使用 AmazonProvidedDNS 的众多实例之一,则更改 DHCP 选项集并不可行。针对此用例,您可以:

注:对于每个出站终端节点,您必须有连接到网络的 AWS Direct Connect 或 VPN 连接。

4.    确定文件网关可对域进行解析。如果网关设备未对域进行解析,那么您将无法加入该域。针对部署在 EC2 Linux 实例上的文件网关,您可以通过连接到与网关 VM 位于相同 VPC 的任何其他实例来进行测试。然后,通过运行 nslookup 命令查询 DNS。对于本地网关,从与文件网关具有相同网络配置的系统运行 nslookup 命令。

如果未被解析,则将必要的记录添加到 DNS。

5.    验证域控制器未被设置为只读,而且该域控制器有足够角色让计算机可以加入。要对此进行检查,尝试将与网关 VM 位于相同 VPC 子网的其他服务器加入到域。

6.    您最好将文件网关加入到在地理位置上与该网关更接近的域控制器。若网关设备无法在 20 秒内连接或查询域控制器,则该流程可能超时。例如,如果网关设备位于美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域,而且域控制器位于亚太地区(新加坡)区域,那么加入域的流程可能会超时。

注:要提高 20 秒的默认超时值,您可以在 AWS 命令行界面 (AWS CLI) 上运行 join-domain 命令,其中需包含 --timeout-in-seconds 选项以延长该时间。或者,您可以使用 JoinDomain API 调用并包含 TimeoutInSeconds 参数以延长该时间。最大超时值为 3600 秒。

7.    检查 Microsoft AD 的组织单位 (OU) 是否有任何组策略对象会在除默认 OU 以外的位置创建新的计算机对象。针对此用例,OU 在您将域加入到文件网关前必须有新的计算机对象。有些环境经过自定义,对于新创建的对象有不同的 OU。要确保特定 OU 下方的用于网关 VM 的某计算机对象加入域,尝试将文件网关加入到域前在您的域控制器上创建计算机对象。或者,您可以使用 AWS CLI 运行 join-domain 命令,并为 --organizational-unit 指定选项。

注:创建计算机对象的流程被称为预存。

8.    在尝试进行上述的检查和配置以后,如果您依然无法将网关加入到域,请检查是否有关于该域加入的任何事件日志。检查域控制器的事件查看器中的任何错误。验证网关查询可连接到域控制器。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How can I troubleshoot issues with joining my Storage Gateway file gateway to a domain for Microsoft Active Directory authentication?

Last updated: 2020-02-03

I created a file gateway on AWS Storage Gateway and I want to use Microsoft Active Directory (AD) for authentication. However, when I try to join my file gateway with the Microsoft AD domain, I get one of these error messages:

  • "The specified request timed out"
  • "The gateway cannot connect to the specified domain"
  • "Invalid domain name/DNS name cannot be resolved"

How can I troubleshoot these errors so that I can join my gateway to the domain?

Resolution

To troubleshoot the errors, try the following checks or configurations:

1.    Confirm that the gateway can reach the domain controller by running a ping test. You must run the ping test from a system with the same network configuration as the file gateway to the domain controller IP address:

Note: Replace DomainControllerIP with the IP address of the domain controller.

ping DomainControllerIP

2.    Verify that you have opened the required ports within your firewall. Confirm this by running the telnet command from a server that's in the same subnet as the file gateway to the domain controller IP address on port 389 (TCP LDAP) or port 636 (TCP LDAPS):

Note: Replace DomainControllerIP with the IP address of the domain controller.

telnet DomainControllerIP 389
telnet DomainControllerIP 636

3.    If the file gateway is running on an Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance, then you must create a DHCP options set and then attach the set to the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) that the instance is in. This enables your file gateway to find the domain that you want to join. After you create and attach the DHCP option set to the VPC, it's a best practice to stop and start the instance that the file gateway is running on.

Changing the DHCP option set isn't feasible if you're joining the file gateway instance to an on-premises domain controller and the file gateway instance is one of many instances that are using AmazonProvidedDNS. For this use case, you can either:

Note: For each outbound endpoint, you must have either an AWS Direct Connect connection to your network or a VPN connection.

4.    Confirm that the domain can be resolved by the file gateway. If the domain isn't resolvable by the gateway appliance, then you won't be able to join the domain. For a file gateway deployed on an EC2 Linux instance, you can test this by connecting to any other instance in the same VPC as the gateway VM. Then, query the DNS by running the nslookup command. For an on-premises gateway, run the nslookup command from a system with the same network configuration as the file gateway.

If the domain isn't resolving, then add the necessary record to the DNS.

5.    Verify that the domain controller isn't set to read-only, and that the domain controller has enough roles for computers to join. To check this, try joining other servers in the same VPC subnet as the gateway VM to the domain.

6.    It's a best practice to join the file gateway to a domain controller that is geographically closer to the gateway. If the gateway appliance can't reach or query the domain controller within 20 seconds, then the process can time out. For example, the domain-join process might time out if the gateway appliance is in the US East (N. Virginia) Region and the domain controller is in the Asia Pacific (Singapore) Region.

Note: To increase the default timeout value of 20 seconds, you can run the join-domain command on the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) and include the --timeout-in-seconds option to increase the time. Or, you can use the JoinDomain API call and include the TimeoutInSeconds parameter to increase the time. The maximum timeout value is 3,600 seconds.

7.    Check if the organizational unit (OU) of the Microsoft AD has any Group Policy Objects that create a new computer object in a location other than the default OU. For this use case, there must be a new computer object in the OU before you join the domain to the file gateway. Some environments are customized to have different OUs for newly created objects. To be sure that a computer object (for the gateway VM) under a certain OU joins the domain, try creating the computer object on your domain controller before joining the file gateway to the domain. Or, you can run the join-domain command using the AWS CLI and specify the option for --organizational-unit.

Note: The process of creating the computer object is called pre-staging.

8.    After trying the previous checks and configurations, if you still can't join the gateway to the domain, then check if there are any event logs for the domain join. Check for any errors in the event viewer of the domain controller. Verify if the gateway query reached the domain controller.


Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?