在内存足够时,为什么我的 Amazon RDS 数据库实例会使用交换内存?

上次更新时间:2020 年 5 月 13 日

我正在运行 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 数据库实例,但即使我为其分配了足够的可用内存,Amazon RDS 数据库实例仍在使用大量的交换内存。内存足够时,为什么要使用交换内存?

简短描述

当系统需要的内存多于分配的内存时,运行 Linux 的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例会使用交换内存。有关更多信息,请参阅实例存储交换卷。由于大多数 RDS 数据库实例使用 Linux(SQL Server 除外),因此数据库有时会使用交换内存。

仅当页面正被访问时,RDS 数据库实例才需要 RAM 中的页面,例如在执行查询时。如果最近未使用过,则由先前执行的查询带入 RAM 的其他页面将被刷新到交换空间。让操作系统 (OS) 交换旧的页而不是强制操作系统将页保留在内存中是最佳实践。这可确保有足够的可用 RAM 用于未来的查询。

Linux 使用的交换内存不会经常清除,因为在清除使用的交换内存时,需要额外的开销来在需要时和重新加载页时重新分配交换内存。因此,如果 RDS 数据库实例使用了交换空间,即使交换空间仅使用过一次,SwapUsage 指标也不会回到零。如果您使用 Amazon RDS Oracle 支持的 HugePage 以及 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 上的 HugePage,那么也会消耗交换内存。HugePage 大于 Linux 默认的 2 兆字节大小。

解决方法

要了解 RDS 数据库实例的交换内存使用行为,请首先根据应用程序工作负载检查数据库性能指标。检查 Amazon CloudWatch 指标 FreeableMemorySwapUsage,以了解 RDS 数据库实例的整体内存使用模式。检查这些指标,留意 SwapUsage 指标上升的同时 FreeableMemory 指标减少的情况。这可以表明 RDS 数据库实例在内存方面面临压力。有关更多信息,请参阅如何解决 Amazon RDS for MySQL 或 MariaDB 数据库中的低可用内​​存问题? 如果有足够的可用内存,则交换内存的使用应该不会影响 RDS 数据库实例的性能。如果可用内存始终保持较低水平,则可以将 RDS 数据库实例大小更改为拥有更多内存的实例大小。

要监测交换内存,启用增强监测以以最短为一秒的时间间隔检查指标。增强监测在主机级别收集统计数据,CloudWatch 每 60 秒从管理程序级别收集数据。您可以使用增强监测来识别仅发生一秒钟的增加或减少,并查看各个进程使用的 CPU 和内存。有关更多信息,请参阅 CloudWatch 指标与增强监测指标的区别

您还可以启用 Performance Insights 来识别在 RDS 数据库实例上消耗过多交换空间或内存的 SQL 和等待事件。Performance Insights 在数据库级别收集数据,并在 Performance Insights 控制面板中显示数据。Performance Insights 可以帮助您解决与数据库性能相关的问题。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon RDS Performance Insights

Amazon RDS MySQL

如果可用内存较低,可执行 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST; 查看数据库上运行的所有线程。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的线程表部分。来自 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST 输出的进程 ID 与增强监测中显示的进程 ID 不匹配。要查看正确的进程 ID,请修改与数据库关联的数据库参数组,以启用 Performance_Schema 参数。这是一个静态参数,因此您必须重新启动 RDS 数据库实例。为避免停机,请在非流量高峰时间修改参数并重新启动数据库。在内存达到想要的利用率时,请遵循以下步骤:

1.    在“增强监测”页面中对进程 ID 进行排序,以查看 CPU 占用最多的进程的 ID。

2.    以主用户身份执行以下查询:

select * from performance_schema.threads where THREAD_OS_ID in (ID shown in the Enhanced Monitoring window)\G

例如,如果 Thread_OS_Id 10374 和 1432 使用了最多的内存,则执行以下查询:

select * from performance_schema.threads where THREAD_OS_ID in (10374, 1432)\G

3.    从此查询的输出中获取 PROCESSLIST_ID 列。这为您提供了与 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST 中的进程 ID 值相匹配的进程 ID。

拥有正确的进程 ID 后,您可以将进程 ID 映射到查询。您可以使用该 ID 来确定造成高内存和 CPU 利用率的根本原因。您可以使用增强监测查看操作系统进程。有关更多信息,请参阅查看增强监测

Amazon RDS PostgreSQL

要识别消耗大量内存的进程,通过运行以下 pg_stat_activity 视图将增强监测进程列表中的进程 ID 映射到确切的查询:

select * from pg_stat_activity where pid=(the PID of your process);

然后,调整查询使其消耗更少的计算资源。

Amazon RDS SQL Server

增强监测可以识别消耗大量内存的特定线程 ID。线程 ID 就是 SQL Server 中的内核进程 ID (KPID)。

从 Amazon RDS for SQL Server,运行以下查询以获取与 KPID 对应的服务器进程 ID (SPID):

select * from sys.sysprocesses where kpid = '<Value of Thread ID from Enhanced Monitoring>' ;

获得服务器进程 ID 后,例如进程 ID 是 69,运行以下命令来查看 SPID 69 正在运行的内容:

dbcc inputbuffer(69)

Amazon RDS Oracle

通过使用增强监测中的操作系统进程 ID,您可以查看哪个进程消耗的内存最多。然后,执行以下查询以获取会话的进程地址:

select ADDR from v$process where SPID=OS_PID;

您可以通过执行以下查询来使用进程地址识别数据库中的会话:

select sid,serial#,username, status from v$session where PADDR='<ADDR from above query>';

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

Why is my Amazon RDS instance using swap memory when I have sufficient memory?

Last updated: 2019-04-30

I'm running an Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) instance, and my instance is using high amounts of swap memory even though I have enough free memory allocated. Why is swap memory being used when I have sufficient memory?

Short Description

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances that run Linux use swap memory when a system requires more memory than is allocated. For more information, see Instance Store Swap Volumes. Because most Amazon RDS instances use Linux (except SQL Server), your database can sometimes use swap memory.

Amazon RDS DB instances need to have pages in the RAM only when the pages are being accessed currently, for example, when executing queries. Other pages that are brought into the RAM by previously executed queries can be flushed to swap space if they haven't been used recently. It's a best practice to let the operating system (OS) swap older pages instead of forcing the OS to keep pages in memory. This helps make sure that there is enough free RAM available for upcoming queries.

Linux swap usage isn't cleared frequently, because clearing the swap usage requires extra overhead to reallocate swap when it is needed and when reloading pages. As a result, if swap space is used on your RDS DB instance, even if swap space was used only one time, the SwapUsage metrics doesn't return to zero. Swap memory can also be used if you use HugePages that are supported by Amazon RDS Oracle and HugePages on Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL. HugePages are larger than the Linux default size of two megabytes.

Resolution

To understand swap usage behavior for your Amazon RDS instance, first check the DB performance metrics based on the application workload. Check both the FreeableMemory and the SwapUsage Amazon CloudWatch metrics to understand the overall memory usage pattern of your DB instance. Check these metrics for a decrease in the FreeableMemory metric that occurs at the same time as an increase in the SwapUsage metric. This can indicate that there is pressure on the memory of the DB instance. For more information, see How can I troubleshoot low freeable memory in an Amazon RDS for MySQL or MariaDB database? If there is enough freeable memory available, swap usage shouldn't affect the instance's performance. If your freeable memory remains consistently low, you can change your instance size to a larger instance size that has more memory.

To monitor swap memory, enable Enhanced Monitoring to review metrics in intervals with a granularity of as little as one second. Enhanced Monitoring collects statistics at the host level, and CloudWatch collects data from the hypervisor level every 60 seconds. You can use Enhanced Monitoring to identify increases or decreases that occur for only one second and to see the CPU and memory that are used by individual processes. For more information, see the Differences Between CloudWatch and Enhanced Monitoring Metrics.

You can also enable Performance Insights to identify the SQL and wait events that are consuming excessive swap or memory on the DB instance. Performance Insights collects the data at the database level and displays that data in the Performance Insights dashboard. Performance Insights can help you troubleshoot database performance-related issues. For more information, see Using Amazon RDS Performance Insights.

Amazon RDS MySQL

If you have low freeable memory, execute SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST; to review all the threads that are running on your database. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for The threads Table. The process ID from the output of SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST won't match with the process ID that is displayed by Enhanced Monitoring. To view the correct process ID, modify the DB parameter group that is associated with the database to enable the Performance_Schema parameter. This is a static parameter, so you must reboot the instance. To avoid downtime, modify the parameter and reboot the database outside peak traffic hours. After the memory has reached the desired usage again, follow these steps:

1.    Sort the process IDs in the Enhanced Monitoring page so that you can see the ID of the processes that are consuming the maximum CPU.

2.    Execute the following query as the master user:

select * from performance_schema.threads where THREAD_OS_ID in (ID shown in the Enhanced Monitoring window)\G

For example, if the max memory have been consumed by Thread_OS_Id 10374 and 1432, then execute below query:

select * from performance_schema.threads where THREAD_OS_ID in (10374, 1432)\G

3.    Get the PROCESSLIST_ID column from the output of this query. This gives you the process ID that matches the value of the process ID from SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST.

After you have the correct process ID, you can map the process ID with the query. You can use the ID to identify the root cause of the high memory and CPU usage. You can view the OS process by using Enhanced Monitoring. For more information, see Viewing Enhanced Monitoring.

Amazon RDS PostgreSQL

To identify the process that is consuming high amounts of memory, map the process ID that is in the Enhanced Monitoring process list to the exact query by running the following pg_stat_activity view:

select * from pg_stat_activity where pid=(the PID of your process);  

Then, tune the queries to consume less compute resources.

Amazon RDS SQL Server

If you see a specific thread ID that is consuming high amounts of memory in Enhanced Monitoring, the Thread ID is what SQL Server refers to as the Kernel process ID (KPID).

From Amazon RDS for SQL Server, run the following query to get the server process ID (SPID) that corresponds to the KPID:

select * from sys.sysprocesses where kpid = '<Value of Thread ID from Enhanced Monitoring>' ;

After you have the server process ID, for example 69, you can run the following command to review what is being done by SPID 69:

dbcc inputbuffer(69)

Amazon RDS Oracle

By using the OS process ID from Enhanced Monitoring, you can see which process is consuming the most memory. Then, execute the following query to get the process address for the session:

select ADDR from v$process where SPID=OS_PID;

You can use the process address to identify the session inside the database by executing the following query:

select sid,serial#,username, status from v$session where PADDR='<ADDR from above query>';

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?