如何为我的 Amazon EC2 Windows 实例升级 PV 驱动程序?

上次更新日期:2021 年 7 月 23 日

我想确保已经为我的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Windows 实例安装了最新的 PV 驱动程序。我该如何操作?

简短描述

Amazon EC2 Windows AMI 包含允许访问虚拟化硬件的驱动程序。这些驱动程序由 Amazon EC2 用于映射实例存储、Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷和网络接口。最好安装最新的驱动程序来提高您的 EC2 Windows 实例的稳定性和性能。对于 Windows Server 2008 R2 及更高版本,最佳实践是安装最新版本的 AWS PV 驱动程序。

注意:AWS PV 驱动程序仅在 Windows Server 2008 R2 及更高版本上受支持。Windows Server 2008 和 Windows Server 2003 使用 Citrix PV 驱动程序。请注意,Windows Server 2008 R2 仅支持 AWS PV 版本 8.3.4 及更早版本。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Windows 实例的半虚拟化驱动程序

解决方法

在开始之前,请确保您了解以下事项:

  • 当您停止某个实例时,任何实例存储卷上的数据都将被擦除。如果实例存储卷上有任何您要保留的数据,请确保将其备份到持久性存储。
  • 实例的公有 IP 地址在实例停止或终止后将释放,停止的实例将在重启后收到新的公有 IP 地址。请确保您的应用程序不依赖公有 IP 地址,因为此类 IP 地址无法恢复。最佳实践是分配弹性 IP 地址,因为此类 IP 地址在实例停止并重启后将跟随实例。
  • 如果实例充当域控制器,则需要额外的步骤。有关更多信息,请参阅升级域控制器 (AWS PV 升级)
  • 对于支持增强联网的实例,请参阅 Windows 上的增强联网
  • 对于 EBS 卷公开为 NVMe 块储存设备的实例类型,请参阅适用于 Windows 实例的 AWS NVMe 驱动程序

有关更多信息,请参阅停止实例时会发生什么

要升级到最新 PV 驱动程序,请执行以下操作:

  1. Amazon EC2 控制台中,选择实例
  2. 选择需要驱动程序升级的实例,打开上下文 (右键单击) 菜单,依次选择实例状态停止实例
  3. 在实例停止后创建备份。打开实例的上下文 (右键单击) 菜单,选择映像和模板,然后选择创建映像。有关更多信息,请参阅从正在运行的实例创建 Windows AMI
  4. 从实例的上下文 (右键单击) 菜单中选择实例状态,然后选择启动实例
  5. 使用远程桌面连接 (RDP) 连接到实例。有关更多信息,请参阅连接到您的 Windows 实例
  6. 要获取最新的 PV 驱动程序,请转到升级 Windows Server 实例 (AWS PV 升级),然后选择下载
  7. 提取文件夹的内容,然后运行 AWSPVDriverSetup.msi

在运行 MSI 后,实例将自动重启,然后升级驱动程序。实例可能有长达 15 分钟的时间不可用。在升级完成且实例在 Amazon EC2 控制台中通过了两项运行状况检查后,使用远程桌面连接来连接到实例。然后,确认已安装新的驱动程序。在 Device Manager (设备管理器) 中的 Storage Controllers (存储控制器) 下,找到 AWS PV Storage Host Adapter (半虚拟化存储主适配器)。确认驱动程序版本与驱动程序版本历史记录表中列出的最新版本相同。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS PV 驱动程序包历史记录

您现在已为您的 EC2 Windows 实例安装最新的半虚拟化驱动程序。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Qaisar shows you how to
upgrade the PV driver
for your Windows EC2 instance

qaisar-upgrade-pv-drivers-windows

I want to be sure that I have the latest PV drivers installed for my EC2 Windows instances. How can I do this?

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Windows AMIs contain drivers that permit access to virtualized hardware. These drivers are used by Amazon EC2 to map instance store, Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes, and network interfaces. We recommend installing the latest drivers to improve stability and performance of your EC2 Windows instances. For Windows Server 2008 R2 and above, we recommend installing the latest version of the AWS PV drivers.

Before you begin, make sure you understand these important considerations:

  • When you stop an instance, the data on any instance store volumes is erased. Therefore, if you have any data on instance store volumes that you want to keep, be sure to back it up to persistent storage.
  • The public IP address for your instance is released when it's stopped or terminated, and a stopped instance receives a new public IP address after it is restarted. Be sure that your applications don't depend on the public IP address, because the IP address cannot be recovered. Assigning an Elastic IP address is a recommended best practice, because the IP address remains with the instance when the instance is stopped and then restarted.
  • If the instance is functioning as a domain controller, additional steps are required. For more information, see Upgrade an Instance that is a Domain Controller (AWS PV Driver Upgrade).
  • For instances that support enhanced networking, see Enhanced Networking on Windows.
  • For instance types with EBS volumes exposed as NVMe block devices, see AWS NVMe Drivers for Windows Instances.

To upgrade to the latest PV driver:

  1. In the Amazon EC2 console, choose Instances from the navigation pane.
  2. Choose the instance that requires the driver upgrade, open the context (right-click) menu, choose Instance State, and then choose Stop.
  3. After the instance is stopped, create a backup. Open the context (right-click) menu for the instance, choose Image, and then choose Create Image. For more information, see Creating a Windows AMI from a Running Instance.
  4. From the context (right-click) menu for the instance, choose Instance State, and then choose Start.
  5. Connect to the instance using Remote Desktop Connection (RDP). For more information, see Connecting to Your Windows Instance.
  6. For the latest PV drivers, go to Upgrade Windows Server Instances (AWS PV Upgrade), and then choose Download.
  7. Extract the contents of the folder and then run AWSPVDriverSetup.msi.

After you run the MSI, the instance automatically reboots and then upgrades the driver. The instance might not be available for up to 15 minutes. After the upgrade completes and the instance passes both health checks in the Amazon EC2 console, connect to the instance using Remote Desktop Connection. Then, verify that the new driver is installed. In Device Manager, under Storage Controllers, locate AWS PV Storage Host Adapter. Verify that the driver version is the same as the latest version listed in the Driver Version History table. For more information, see AWS PV Driver Version History.

You now have the latest PV drivers installed for your EC2 Windows instance.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2017-03-13

Updated: 2018-04-11