Why do accounts in my organization show as "suspended" in the AWS Organizations console?
Last updated: 2020-08-04
Some member accounts in my organization show as "suspended" in the AWS Organizations console. Why is this happening, and how can I fix this?
If a member account of an organization is closed and remains closed for 90 days, then the account is visible in your organization with the "suspended" state for 90 days after the account closure. After 90 days, the closed member account is permanently removed from your organization and is no longer visible in your organization. The AWS Organizations console no longer displays details about the former member account.
All member accounts, open or closed, count against the account limits for your organization. You can also contact AWS Support to increase the account limit. For more information, see How do I manage my AWS service limits?