Der Airport Nürnberg, auf dem jährlich etwa 4 Millionen Passagiere abgefertigt werden, gilt als Deutschlands meistgenutzter Flughafen mittlerer Größe. Er wurde 1955 eingeweiht und ist heute ein internationaler Flughafen mit deutschland- und europaweiten Zielen. Im Jahr 2010 wurde er mit dem Business Traveler Award als beliebtester Flughafen Deutschlands ausgezeichnet.

 

Der Airport Nürnberg ist ein serviceorientiertes Unternehmen. Internetbasierte Services sind ein zentraler Bestandteil der Strategie des Flughafens. Auf der Website des Flughafens werden Informationen zu Flügen und Flughafendiensten sowie Online-Parkplatzreservierungen und weitere E-Commerce-Dienste angeboten.

Anfänglich hatte der Flughafen einen Drittanbieter mit dem Hosten der Website beauftragt. Während dieser Ansatz zwar zunächst Betriebskosten sparte, traten bei unerwarteten Ereignissen wie Schlechtwetter oder Streiks im Flugverkehr aufgrund des erhöhten Zugriffs Schwierigkeiten mit der Website auf. Da sich die Anschaffung zusätzlicher Serverkapazität als zu kostspielig erwies, suchte der Flughafen nach Alternativen.

 

Der Airport Nürnberg wollte eine flexible und skalierbare Umgebung, die dem schwankenden Bedarf standhielt und dem Flughafen die Möglichkeit lies, weitere internetbasierte Services zu entwickeln. Darüber hinaus musste die Lösung die in Deutschland geltenden Datenschutzvorschriften erfüllen. "Da unsere Website persönliche Kundendaten enthält, unterliegt sie dem deutschen Datenschutzgesetz", erklärt Christian Käser, Manager New Media und Online-Marketing.

Der Airport Nürnberg beauftragte die Infopark AG, ein in Berlin ansässiges Mitglied des AWS-Partnernetzwerks (APN), mit der Entwicklung einer neuen Lösung. Infopark erstellte mithilfe von Amazon Web Services (AWS) eine innovative Plattform, die als Basis für die Website und die E-Commerce-Anwendungen des Flughafens dient. Da AWS Daten an dem vom Kunden gewählten Speicherort belässt, konnte Infopark eine Umgebung erstellen, die den deutschen Datenschutz- und Compliance-Anforderungen entspricht. Die Lösung für den Airport Nürnberg beinhaltet Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2), Elastic Load Balancing, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) und Amazon CloudFront.

 

Infopark konnte dank der Elastizität und Skalierbarkeit von AWS eine Lösung für den Airport Nürnberg entwickeln, die der schwankenden Nutzung seiner Website standhält, die Sicherheits- und Datenschutzanforderungen des Flughafens erfüllt und eine Umgebung zur Entwicklung weiterer Software bietet. "Die umfassende Lösung, die aus der Kombination von AWS und Infopark entstanden ist, passt optimal zu unseren Anforderungen", erklärt Käser. "Wir haben eine flexible und skalierbare Infrastruktur und sparen gegenüber unseren frühere Web-Hosting-Kosten schätzungsweise 60 bis 70 Prozent."

 

Weitere Informationen dazu, wie AWS Ihnen beim Erfüllen Ihrer Anforderungen an das Hosting Ihrer Webanwendung helfen kann, finden Sie auf unserer Seite zu Web-, mobilen und sozialen Netzwerkanwendungen: http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.

Weitere Informationen darüber, wie Infopark Ihnen beim Betrieb Ihres Unternehmens in der AWS Cloud helfen kann, finden Sie im Eintrag von Infopark im AWS-Partnerverzeichnis.

AlbrechtDürerAirportNuremberg_Customer-Reference_Logo.fe0797b3801e5834c640394ca98988c090367efc

Albrecht Dürer Airport Nuremberg Case Study

2014

Albrecht Dürer Airport Nuremberg, which handles approximately four million passengers per year, is considered one of Germany’s busiest mid-size airports. Inaugurated in 1955, today Airport Nuremberg is an international airport with connections throughout Germany and Europe. In 2010, Airport Nuremberg received a business traveler award as the most popular airport in Germany.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

We have a flexible and scalable infrastructure and we estimate that we’re saving 60–70% compared to our previous web hosting costs.”

Christian Kaeser
Business Development and New Media Management, Airport Nuremberg

 

 

The Challenge

Albrecht Dürer Airport Nuremberg is a service-oriented company and Internet-based services are a central part of the airport’s strategy. The airport’s website provides information on flights, airport services and local destinations as well as online parking reservations and other e-commerce services.

The airport initially used a third-party provider to host its website. While this approach saved operating expenses at first, the website had difficulties when unexpected events, such as poor weather or air traffic strikes, led to increased demand. Purchasing additional server capacity was too costly and the airport began to look for alternatives.

Why Amazon Web Services

Airport Nuremberg wanted a flexible and scalable environment to support fluctuating demand for their website and one that would allow the airport to continue to develop Internet-based services. In addition, it was essential that the solution conform to German data compliance requirements. “Our website is subject to the German Protection Action because it contains customers’ personal data,” explains Christian Kaeser, responsible for Business Development and New Media Management.

Airport Nuremberg chose Infopark AG, a Berlin-based member of the AWS Partner Network (APN), to develop a new solution. Infopark used Amazon Web Services (AWS) to create an innovative platform to support the airport’s website and e-commerce applications. Because AWS leaves data where the customer stores it, Infopark was able to create an environment that complies with German location-based data protection and compliance requirements. The Airport Nuremberg solution includes Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2), Elastic Load Balancing, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) and Amazon CloudFront.

The Benefits

Infopark was able to take advantage of the elasticity and scalability of AWS to develop a solution for Airport Nuremberg to handle fluctuating demand for its website, meet the airport’s security and privacy requirements, and provide an environment for software development. “The combination of a comprehensive solution from AWS and Infopark proved to be particularly suitable for our requirements,” says Kaeser. “We have a flexible and scalable infrastructure and we estimate that we’re saving 60–70% compared to our previous web hosting costs.”


About Albrecht Dürer Airport Nuremberg

Albrecht Dürer Airport Nuremberg, which handles approximately four million passengers per year, is considered one of Germany’s busiest mid-size airports.

Benefits of AWS

  • Handles fluctuating demand for website
  • Meets airport security and privacy requirements
  • Saves 60-70% compared to previous web-hosting costs

AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing automatically distributes incoming application traffic across multiple targets, such as Amazon EC2 instances, containers, IP addresses, and Lambda functions.

Learn more »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront is a fast content delivery network (CDN) service that securely delivers data, videos, applications, and APIs to customers globally with low latency, high transfer speeds, all within a developer-friendly environment.

Learn more »

AWS Partner Network

The AWS Partner Network (APN) is the global partner program for technology and consulting businesses who leverage Amazon Web Services to build solutions and services for customers.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.