如果您使用的数据库基于 AWS,那没有理由不选择 Amazon Aurora。高峰期间,通过 API 访问会员系统的次数超过每秒 250 次,但是即便在这种处理负载下也毫无问题。此外,由于这是一项完全托管的服务,我们还可以将资源集中在服务开发上。
Shuhei Sakai RecoChoku Co., Ltd. 业务系统推广部系统架构师小组

RecoChoku 成立于 2001 年,是全球首家推出诸如“Chaku-Uta®”和“Chaku-UtaFull®”等手机音乐发行服务的公司,此后一直是日本音乐发行服务的推动力量。公司很快陆续推出了各种服务,还扩展到 B2B 领域,包括可以在各种设备上下载的“RecoChoku”服务,按固定价格提供无限量音乐流的“RecoChoku Best”服务,以及与 NTT DOCOMO 合作提供的“由 RecoChoku 提供支持的 d hits”服务。RecoChoku 最近还专注于促进音乐产业的复兴和发展,提出全新尝试,旨在提供增值的用户体验或其他更多尝试,不再简单提供收听的音乐。这些尝试包括 WIZY 共创体验平台,该平台将与艺术家创意项目相关的粉丝相联系并支持他们实现共创。

为了满足日益多样化用户的需求,RecoChoku 正在不懈努力成为一家综合性娱乐公司,前瞻性地提供各种娱乐内容并提出全新尝试。

对于 RecoChoku 来说,音乐数据至关重要。RecoChoku 业务系统推广部系统架构师小组 Shuhei Saka 表示:“由于歌曲数目的增加以及视频和高分辨率音频的数据量越来越大,准确预测我们需要管理的数据总量变得很困难。”随着新服务的推出以及增加的音乐越来越多,业务扩展需要快速添加安全基础架构,以便存储这些音乐数据。

由于公司还与许多合作伙伴一起推出服务,因此另一项挑战是为音乐发行预测合适基础架构资源容量的难题。

音乐发行服务还需要会员数据库系统来管理客户信息和存储用户信息。客户信息管理是业务的关键部分,需要一种具有高可靠性和可用性的系统。会员系统的基础架构包括数据库在内,最初由 RecoChoku 负责运行和管理。 

随着服务数量的增加,每项服务的成本管理同样是个问题。以前是各个系统分别管理的,很难确定哪些基础架构成本是由哪个服务产生的RecoChoku 需要灵活而可靠的服务基础架构解决这些业务挑战。

RecoChoku 在 2013 年左右开始使用云解决方案,旨在实现灵活而又具有高扩展性的基础架构。公司首先将自己开发和构建的服务基础架构系统迁移到 AWS。Sakai 谈到:“在考虑了诸多云服务后,我们认为 AWS 在服务数量和开发新服务的速度方面远远超出其他服务。”

RecoChoku 决定将自己的整个 IT 基础架构转移到 AWS,首先将现有的本地系统迁移到以 Amazon EC2、Amazon S3 和 Amazon RDS 等服务为中心的环境中。在迁移初始阶段,使用了集成本地系统的混合环境。

在将大量服务迁移到 AWS 并确认其具备足够的稳定性和灵活性之后,目前正在 AWS 环境中开发新推出的服务。在不同情况下,RecoChoku 都主动引入系统人员认为必要的服务,目前正在使用的 AWS 服务多达 30 余种。

RecoChoku 在迁移到 AWS 期间面临的一大挑战是迁移管理客户信息的会员数据库系统。客户信息管理是业务的关键部分,需要一种具有高可靠性和可用性的系统。因此,RecoChoku 一直运行的一个数据库系统的配置是结合使用 Oracle Database 和 Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC)。为了将该系统转换为 AWS,RecoChoku 最初考虑的方法有在 Amazon EC2 上安装 Oracle Database 或使用 Amazon RDS for Oracle。“对于这些方法,我们必须考虑如何确保高可用性,以及转变将花费多少费用。在全力以赴地完成此次迁移的同时,我们还希望选择一个系统能让 AWS 处理以前架构所需要的运行和管理。”Sakai 谈到。

RecoChoku 选择了 Amazon Aurora 解决这些问题。“会员系统管理着大约 1000 万组用户信息,运行了八年。因为我们采用的方法是从 Oracle 迁移到 MySQL,首先我们花了大约一个月时间来调整系统消化 SQL 差异性问题,并确保 Amazon Aurora 上有足够的性能。”Sakai 解释说。

然后,RecoChoku 迁移了数据,在并行运行的测试期后大约三个月内完成了从 Oracle RAC 到 Amazon Aurora 的迁移。

随着其会员系统数据库迁移到 Amazon Aurora,RecoChoku 完成了其核心系统向 AWS 的迁移,并且其余所有系统的迁移计划于 2017 年 3 月完成。

jp_diagram_recochoku-aurora_en_1024x617

迁移到 AWS 的一大优势在于,它能够阐明每个服务使用的基础架构。“过去我们需要通过本地解决方案保留一定数量的资源,但在迁移到 AWS 后就不再需要这样。我们能够将机器资源的使用减少到本地系统的 30% 左右。”Sakai 谈到。

在 RecoChoku,服务基础架构的采购和管理通常由执行服务开发的团队实施。虽然在决定运行规则等方面从基础架构团队进行了一定的技能转移,但从那时起,开发团队的成员便能自己在 AWS 环境中运行数据库。因此,由于能够轻松地安排基础架构,采购时间大大缩短,并且使用托管服务意味着运行负载更轻,因此好处很多。“Amazon Aurora 是一个完全托管的系统,使开发团队能够将人力资源集中用于服务开发。”Sakai 谈到。

此外,使用 Amazon Aurora 时,维护期间服务不会暂停,因此像 RecoChoku 这样与合作伙伴协作提供服务的公司就有了明显优势。与使用 Oracle RAC 的多个节点相比,Amazon Aurora 还大幅降低了数据库软件的许可费用。

除了管理用户 ID 和服务登录和注销外,会员系统还负责各种功能,如管理注册设备的数量以及用于保存用户喜爱的艺术家的“My Artist(我的艺术家)”信息。例如,当电视上谈论艺术家或歌曲时,在同一时间会有许多客户试图下载相同的媒体,RecoChoku 会员系统有时会遇到大量访问,导致负载突然增大。“各种服务通过 API 访问会员系统。在高峰时段,API 对系统的访问次数超过每秒 250 次,但我们采用 Amazon Auror,没有出现任何问题。而且也没有响应延迟,因此我们能够顺利处理访问请求。”Sakai 谈到。

RecoChoku 正考虑实施 AWS Lambda,由此可以在未来创建无服务器系统。“我们相信,使用 AWS Lambda 在系统之间进行协调会非常方便。AWS 服务简单易用,无需详细检查可靠性等方面问题。我们还取得了一系列安全认证,因此安全性不成问题。”Sakai 谈到。

此外,RecoChoku 计划在完全部署与 PostgreSQL 兼容的 Amazon Aurora 服务之后,马上着手更换当前在 PostgreSQL 上运行的数据库系统。“在使用 Amazon Aurora 之后,我们强烈感受到它带来的好处。”Sakai 谈到。

Shuhei Sakai 图像

RecoChoku Co., Ltd. 业务系统推广部系统架构师小组
Shuhei Sakai

如需了解更多有关 AWS Cloud 如何帮助媒体和娱乐公司的信息,请访问我们的详细信息页面 AWS Cloud 中的数字媒体

If you work with databases on AWS, there is no reason not to choose Amazon Aurora.
At peak periods the membership system is accessed via API more than 250 times per second, but there have been no issues at all even under this kind of processing load.
Also, because it is a fully managed service, we can focus our resources on service development.
Shuhei Sakai Systems Architect Group, Business Systems Promotion Department, RecoChoku Co., Ltd.

RecoChoku, founded in 2001, launched world-first music distribution services for mobile phones such as "Chaku-Uta®" and "Chaku-Uta Full®," and ever since it has been a driving force among Japanese music distribution services. It has rolled out a diverse range of services in quick succession, also extending to the B2B sector, including the "RecoChoku" service which enables downloads on a variety of devices, the "RecoChoku Best" service, which offers unlimited music streaming for a fixed price, and the "d hits powered by RecoChoku" service, provided in collaboration with NTT DOCOMO. RecoChoku has also recently focused on contributing to the revitalization and development of the music industry by proposing new endeavors that provide the added value of experiences or other extra touches, rather than simply offering music to listen to. These include the WIZY cocreation experience platform, which connects fans who relate to an artist's creative projects and supports their realization.

To meet the needs of an increasingly diverse range of users, RecoChoku is continually striving to become a comprehensive entertainment company that proactively offers a variety of entertainment content and proposes new ventures.

Music data is of primary importance to RecoChoku. "It has become difficult to accurately predict the total amount of data we need to manage, due to an increase in the number of songs and the larger data size of videos and high-resolution audio," says Shuhei Sakai, from the Systems Architect Group in the Business Systems Promotion Department of RecoChoku. As new services are launched and even more music is added, business expansion requires the quick addition of secure infrastructure to store this music data.

Since the company has also launched services with many partners, another challenge was the difficulty of predicting suitable infrastructure resource capacity for music distribution.

A music distribution service also requires a membership database system to manage customer information and store user information. Management of customer information is a crucial part of the business, requiring a system with high reliability and availability. The infrastructure for the membership system, including the database, was originally operated and managed by RecoChoku. 

As the number of services increased, cost management for each service was also an issue. Management was previously done on an system by system basis, and it became difficult to ascertain which infrastructure costs were incurred by which service. RecoChoku needed a flexible and robust service infrastructure that could solve these business challenges.

RecoChoku began using cloud solutions in around 2013 in order to have a flexible infrastructure that was also highly scalable. It began by migrating the service infrastructure system it developed and built on premises to AWS. "After looking at a number of cloud services, AWS was head and shoulders above the rest in terms of the number of services and the speed of developing new services," says Sakai.

RecoChoku decided to shift its entire IT infrastructure to AWS, first migrating the existing on-premises system to an environment centered around services such as Amazon EC2, Amazon S3, and Amazon RDS. In the initial stages of migration, a hybrid environment integrating the on-premises system was used.

After migrating a number of services to AWS and confirming it offered sufficient stability and flexibility, newly launched services are now being developed in the AWS environment. In each case, RecoChoku has proactively introduced services that systems personnel deemed necessary, and over 30 AWS services are now being used.

One challenge RecoChoku faced during the move to AWS was the migration of the membership database system that manages customer information. The management of customer information is a crucial part of business, requiring a system with high reliability and availability. For this reason, RecoChoku had been running a database system with a configuration that combined Oracle Database and Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC). To convert this system to AWS, RecoChoku initially considered methods for installing Oracle Database on Amazon EC2 or utilizing Amazon RDS for Oracle. "For these methods we had to consider how to secure high availability, and how much the change would cost. As we were going to the trouble of performing this migration, we also wanted to select a system that would enable us to let AWS handle the operation and management that the previous infrastructure had required," says Sakai.

RecoChoku selected Amazon Aurora to overcome these issues. "The membership system manages around 10 million sets of user information, covering eight years of operation. Because we adopted a method involving migration from Oracle to MySQL, we first spent about a month tuning the system to absorb SQL differences and ensure sufficient performance on Amazon Aurora," explains Sakai.

RecoChoku then migrated the data, completing the migration from Oracle RAC to Amazon Aurora in a total of about three months after a test period of concurrent operation.

With the migration of the database for its membership system to Amazon Aurora, RecoChoku completed migration of its core systems to AWS, and migration of all remaining systems is scheduled to be complete in March 2017.

jp_diagram_recochoku-aurora_en_1024x617

One major benefit of migrating to AWS is the fact it enabled clarification of the infrastructure used by each service. "We needed to hold a certain amount of resources in reserve with our on-premises solution, but this was no longer necessary after the migration to AWS. We were able to reduce the use of machine resources to around 30 percent of that for the on-premises system," says Sakai.

At RecoChoku, the procurement and management of service infrastructure is generally carried out by the team that performs service development. Although there was a certain amount of skill transfer from the infrastructure team in areas such as deciding on operation rules, since then members of the development team have been able to run databases on the AWS environment by themselves. As a result, procurement time is significantly shorter due to the ability to arrange infrastructure easily, and the use of managed services means the operational load is lighter, leading to major benefits. "Amazon Aurora is a fully managed system, enabling the development team to focus their human resources on service development," says Sakai.

In addition, services are not suspended during maintenance when using Amazon Aurora, which creates significant advantages for a company like RecoChoku that provides services in collaboration with partners. Amazon Aurora has also enabled a dramatic reduction in license fees for database software compared to when multiple nodes were used with Oracle RAC.

In addition to managing user IDs and service login and logout, the membership system is responsible for a wide variety of features such as managing the number of registered devices and "My Artist" information that saves users' favorite artists. When artists or songs are talked about on TV, for example, and many customers attempt to download the same media at the same time, the RecoChoku membership system sometimes experiences heavy access, leading to a sudden increase in load. "Various services access the membership system via API. At peak times, API access to the system happens more than 250 times per second, but we have had no issues at all with Amazon Aurora. There have also been no response delays, so we have been able to handle access smoothly," says Sakai.

RecoChoku is looking at implementing AWS Lambda, which will allow it to create serverless systems in the future. "We believe it would be quite convenient to use AWS Lambda for coordination between systems. AWS services are easy to use because there is no need to check aspects such as reliability in detail. We have also obtained a range of security certifications, so security is not a concern." notes Sakai.

In addition, RecoChoku is planning to replace the database system currently running on PostgreSQL as soon as Amazon Aurora services compatible with PostgreSQL are fully deployed. "After using Amazon Aurora, we have a strong sense of the benefits it provides," says Sakai.

Shuhei Sakai Image

Systems Architect Group, Business Systems Promotion Department, RecoChoku Co., Ltd.
Shuhei Sakai

To learn more about how the AWS Cloud can help media and entertainment companies, visit our Digital Media in the AWS Cloud detail page.