借助 AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server,您可以使用 VMware vCenter 管理 AWS 资源。该门户以 vCenter Server 插件的形式安装在您现有的 vCenter Server 环境中。完成安装后,您就可以将 VMware 虚拟机迁移到 Amazon EC2,并从 vCenter Server 内部管理 AWS 资源。

开始使用 AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server (7:09)

getting-started-with-amp-vcenter-thumbnail

使用 AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 创建的 AWS 资源将位于您的 AWS 账户中,即便这些资源是利用 vCenter Server 创建的也是如此。对经验丰富的 VMware 管理员而言,AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 提供了熟悉的外观和体验,让使用 AWS 变得更容易。对于现有环境基于 VMware 的企业,该门户让他们可以更轻松地将计算资源迁移到,并在过渡初期继续利用现有工具和培训材料。提供基于 VMware 的服务的服务提供商也可以使用该门户,为其最终客户提供对 AWS 的自助服务访问。

该服务不额外收费。客户需要支付通过该门户使用 AWS 服务所产生的费用。

AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 专为企业客户而设计,它支持单点登录,因此可以利用活动目录或其他身份提供商管理您的用户。它提供了集成的基于角色的访问控制 (RBAC),因此您可以为最终用户可以查看、创建或修改的特定资源设置精细权限。管理员也可以定义模板,模板可以指定最终用户在创建 EC2 实例时可以利用的镜像、实例类型、网络以及其他资源,为管理最终用户能够在门户内执行的操作提供了一个熟悉的管理模型。在门户中创建的资源会被自动标记,因此,管理员还可以对使用门户创建的资源生成基于标记的成本分配报告

AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 包含对 VM Import 的支持。在 vCenter Server 中安装门户后,您可以右键点击一个停用的虚拟机,然后选择“迁移到 EC2”,便可从该虚拟机创建一个 EC2 实例。门户会将虚拟机从 vCenter Server 导出并上传到 S3,然后将其转换到 EC2 实例中,这个过程无需任何额外的工作。您还可以追踪门户中进行的虚拟机迁移进度。对于希望将虚拟机从 VMware 迁移到 AWS 的客户,此门户是在 AWS 中迁移虚拟机最简单、最方便好用的选择。

*将虚拟机迁移到 Amazon EC2 所需的时间取决于您的网络连接速度和上传的虚拟机镜像的大小。

借助 AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server,企业和服务提供商能够提供自助式门户,用于在 vCenter Server 内部署和管理 AWS 资源。在该门户中,管理员可以定义能够在 AWS 中使用的网络、资源和模板。最终用户可以利用管理员创建好的模板和网络在 AWS 中部署资源。使用该门户,管理员可以对最终用户在部署资源时可以使用的镜像、实例类型以及配置进行精细控制。集成单点登录 (SSO) 功能意味着最终用户只需打开门户并点击模板,即可开始部署。借助集成的基于角色的访问控制 (RBAC) 功能,您可以轻松地对最终用户可以创建、查看、修改或删除的资源设置精细控制权限。另外,自动标记功能还可确保资源已标记,让管理员了解每个环境或应用程序正在使用哪些资源。客户也可以利用门户提供的标记,使用 AWS 账单基于标记的账单报告生成环境或应用程序级拒绝付款报告。

将您的现有 VM 应用程序和工作负载迁移到 Amazon EC2。使用该门户,您可以保留现有虚拟机中配置的软件和设置,同时获得在 Amazon EC2 中运行应用程序和工作负载产生的各种收益。使用该门户迁移虚拟机非常简单,只需在 vCenter Server 中点击虚拟机,然后选择该门户提供的“迁移到 EC2”菜单选项即可。您只需向该门户提供要使用的 AWS 区域、实例类型和子网,即可开始执行迁移。完成虚拟机迁移后,您还可以使用该门户对其进行管理。该门户为您提供了生命周期管理工具、摘要数据、监控以及其他功能,用于管理导入的实例,所有功能皆可在 vCenter Server 中方便地取用。您还可以使用其它 AWS 工具(例如 AWS 管理控制台AWS CLI)来管理导入的实例。

对于在管理基于 VMware 的环境方面经验丰富的客户,AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 提供了 AWS 入门捷径。该门户集中提供了一系列管理功能,是 AWS 新客户的绝佳选择。您会发现,使用该门户创建首个 Amazon EC2 实例的过程与在 vCenter Server 中创建虚拟机的过程类似。同样,使用该门户创建首个 VPC 和子网也相当简单,只要指定想使用的 CIDR 块,再确定将网络设为共有还是私有即可。如果您已投资学习 VMware,且接受过 vCenter Server 等虚拟化工具方面的培训,那么除了受益于 AWS 提供的基础设施、API、工具以及生态系统之外,门户还能让您发挥自己的经验。如果您拥有 AWS 方面的经验,可以将该门户与其他 AWS 工具(例如 AWS 管理控制台和 AWS CLI)结合使用。如果您认为该门户无法再满足您的需求,或将来不再使用 VMware,您甚至可以使用这些工具来替代该门户。

使用 AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server,您可以利用位于美国、欧洲、亚太地区和南美洲各地的 AWS 区域,并且完全通过 vCenter Server 实现。如果您的最终用户位于世界其他地区,那么无论您基于 VMware 的基础设施位于何处,该门户都可以让您轻松创建靠近最终用户的 EC2 实例。

AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 工具由 AWS 提供,除了正常的服务费用之外,使用该工具不会产生额外费用。迁移虚拟机会用到 Amazon S3 和 EBS 存储,这二者单独计费。客户使用服务时还会产生 Amazon EC2 和带宽费用此费用同样单独计算。

注意:建议您在下载 AWS 连接器或启动设置程序之前,先查看设置文档

我们建议使用AWS Server Migration Service (SMS) 将虚拟机从 vCenter 环境迁移到 AWS。SMS 会逐步复制本地虚拟机并将其转换为 Amazon 系统映像 (AMI),以此来自动执行迁移过程。您可以在迁移过程中继续使用本地虚拟机。有关AWS SMS的更多信息,请参阅 AWS Server Migration Service

如果满足以下任意条件,您应考虑使用 AWS SMS:

  • 您正在使用 vCenter 6.5 Server。
  • 您希望在迁移过程中指定 BYOL 许可证。
  • 您对将虚拟机迁移到 Amazon EC2 感兴趣。
  • 您希望使用增量迁移。

仅当您希望在 vSphere 客户端中管理 Amazon EC2 资源时,才应使用 AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server。AWS Management Portal for vCenter Server 不支持 vCenter 6.5 或更高版本。

要开始使用 AWS SMS,请参阅 AWS Server Migration Service

下载 AWS Connector for vCenter

校验和文件:md5sumsha256sum

许可和属性文件:LICENSE.TXT

AWS Management Portal for vCenter enables you to manage your AWS resources using VMware vCenter. The portal installs as a vCenter plug-in within your existing vCenter environment. Once installed, it enables you to migrate VMware VMs to Amazon EC2 and manage AWS resources from within vCenter. The AWS resources that you create using the portal will be located in your AWS account, even though they have been created using vCenter. For experienced VMware administrators, AWS Management Portal for vCenter provides a familiar look-and-feel that will make it easy to start using AWS. For enterprises with existing VMware-based environments, the portal makes it easy to begin moving computing resources to the cloud, while continuing to leverage existing tools and training materials while beginning their transition. Service providers that offer VMware-based services can also use the portal to offer their end customers self-service access to AWS.

AWS Management Portal for vCenter is available at no additional charge.  Customers will be charged for AWS services consumed using the portal.

AWS Management Portal for vCenter is designed with enterprise customers in mind. It includes Single Sign-On support, so you can leverage Active Directory or other identity providers to manage your users. It provides integrated Role-Based Access Controls (RBAC), so you can set fine-grained permissions over the specific resources that end users can view, create, or modify. Administrators can also define templates, which specify the images, instance types, networks, and other resources that end-users can leverage when creating EC2 instances, providing a familiar governance model for managing what end-users are able to do within the portal. Resources created within the portal are automatically tagged, so administrators can also generate tag-based cost allocation reports for resources created using the portal.

AWS Management Portal for vCenter includes integrated support for VM Import. Once the portal is installed within vCenter, you can right-click on a stopped VM and select “Migrate to EC2” to create an EC2 instance from the VM. The portal will handle exporting the VM from vCenter, uploading it to S3, and converting it into an EC2 instance for you, with no additional work required. You can also track the progress of your VM migrations within the portal. For customers looking to migrate VMs from VMware to AWS, this provides AWS’s simplest and most user-friendly option for migrating your VMs.

*The time required for migrating a VM to Amazon EC2 is dependent upon your network connection speed and the size of the virtual machine image being uploaded.

AWS Management Portal for vCenter enables enterprises and service providers to offer a self-service portal for deploying and managing AWS resources within vCenter. Within the portal, administrators can define the networks, resources, and templates that can be used within AWS. And end-users can leverage the templates and networks that their administrators have created to deploy resources within AWS. The portal allows administrators to have fine-grained controls over the images, instance types, and configurations that end-users can use when deploying resources. Integrated Single Sign-On (SSO) means that end-users simply open the portal and click on a template to deploy it. Integrated Role-Based Access Controls (RBAC) make it easy to set fine-grained controls over the resources that end-users can create, view, modify, or delete. And automatic tagging ensures that resources are tagged, so administrators know which resources are being used by each environment or application. Customer can also leverage the portal-provided tags to generate environment or application-level chargeback reports using AWS Billing’s tag-based billing reports.

Migrate your existing VM-based applications and workloads to Amazon EC2. Using the portal, you can preserve the software and settings that you have configured in your existing VMs, while benefiting from running your applications and workloads in Amazon EC2. Using the portal, migrating a VM is as simple as clicking on the VM in vCenter and selecting the “Migrate to EC2” menu option provided by the portal. Simply tell the portal with AWS region, instance types, and subnet you would like to use and the migration will begin. Once your VM has been migrated, you can also manage it using the portal. Within the portal, you get lifecycle management tools, summary data, monitoring, and other features for managing your imported instances, all available directly within vCenter. You can also use other AWS tools, like the AWS Management Console and AWS CLI, to manage your imported instances, if you prefer.

For customers experienced with managing VMware-based environments, the AWS Management Portal for vCenter provides a simple way to get started with AWS. The portal offers a focused set of management features, making it a good choice for new AWS customers. You will find the process of creating your first Amazon EC2 instance using the portal is similar to creating a VM in vCenter. Similarly, creating your first VPC and Subnet using the portal is a straightforward matter of specifying the CIDR block you want to use and whether to make the network to public or private. If you have invested in learning VMware and have trained on virtualization tools like vCenter, the portal lets you leverage your experience, while benefiting from the infrastructure, APIs, tools, and ecosystem that AWS provides. As you gain experience with AWS, you can use the portal in combination with other AWS tools, like the AWS Management Console and the AWS CLI, or even migrate to using those tools in place of the portal if you decide that it no longer meets your needs or if you move off of using VMware in the future.

The AWS Management Portal for vCenter enables you to leverage AWS regions across the US, EU, Asia Pacific, and South America, all from within vCenter. If you have end-users in other parts of the world, the portal makes it easy to create EC2 instances close to your end-users, regardless of where your VMware-based infrastructure is located.

AWS Management Portal for vCenter is a tool provided by AWS and is available at no additional charge, aside from normal service fees. Amazon S3 and EBS storage is utilized during VM migration and is billed separately. Customers will also incur Amazon EC2 and bandwidth charges when using the service, which is also billed separately.

Note: We suggest that you review the setup documentation before downloading the connector or beginning the setup process.

Download AWS Connector for vCenter

Checksum files: md5sum, sha256hmac

License and attributions file: LICENSE.TXT