2U-logo

2U 公司是一家与著名院校合作在线取得学位的革命性高等教育机构。为支持协作和学习,该公司的技术平台必须能够缓存学生与讲师相互交流所产生的呈指数增长的数据。通过依托 AWS 构建并运行 Amazon ElastiCache 及其他 AWS 服务,2U 能够轻松缓存数据以实现快速用户社交,并将其资源集中在创新而非基础设施上。


2U James Kenigsberg 演讲

BCM logo

Baylor 需要一个具有成本效益和易于维护的解决方案,以便其能够提供安全、高效的全球合作,不会因为构建物理基础架构而导致延迟。Veeraraghavan 表示:“我们已经有好几个月没有在构建基础设施上投资了,我们需要的是能够高效地、交互式地并且安全地共享数据。”

此外,其解决方案必须足够灵活,能够满足临床标准和 HIPAA 的要求。“我们比较所有候选方案,很自然地就被 DNAnexus 和 AWS Cloud 吸引了。”

了解有关 Baylor 如何利用 AWS Cloud 的更多信息。

CarnegieMellonlogo

“Olympus 项目是一个新的首创项目,旨在创建并维持‘宾夕法尼亚西部下一代计算革新’。我们的垂直搜索引擎 Spider 是一款对时间敏感的应用程序,它对计算能力的需求激增。Amazon Web Services 帮助我们快速利用云计算的力量来满足项目需求。”

– David E. Chen(卡内基梅隆大学信息系统和人机交互专业本科生)

详细了解 Olympus 项目

code.org-logo

由于在 AWS 上运行,Code.org 能够按计划在 CSEdWeek 期间举行 Hour of Code 活动。Elliott 表示:“我们的目标是吸引 1000 万名学员,实际却有 2000 万的参与者。我们的网站在 AWS Cloud 上运行,因而极富弹性。活动周期间,我们网站访问量从 0 飙升到 2000 万个程序员,之后还能高效地收缩回去。AWS 简直太棒了。”

了解 Code.org 如何利用 AWS 专注于目标而非基础设施上的更多信息。

logo-coursera-150

通过使用 Amazon Web Services,Coursera 每月可以处理 0.5 PB 的流量,并可以扩展到每年为 300 多万的学生提供课程。

观看视频了解详细情况。

echo360-logo

Echo360 的主动式学习平台帮助教师管理高级教育领域和 K12 环境中的教学进度,借助 AWS EC2、S3、Glacier、ELB 和 DynamoDB 可以进行扩展并可靠地管理内容。

听听 echo360 公司 Tony Abate 的评价。

edx_logo_200x200

edX 正在通过大规模开放式在线课程转变学生的学习方式,而这一过程离不开 AWS 的支持。听听公司 CEO Anant Agarwal 在年度讨论会上的发言。

点击此处可了解更多信息。 

“在 2008 年秋季,我们将哈佛的计算机科学入门课程 (CS 50) 转移到了云。我们在 Amazon EC2 内为 330 名学生创建了负载均衡的虚拟机集群,而不是继续依赖校园中自己的教学计算基础设施。我们的目标是在技术和教学方面都获得好处。作为计算机科学家,我们希望拥有更多对课程基础设施的控制权限(例如根访问权限),以便我们可以随意地自行安装软件,并随时对问题采取措施。作为老师,我们希望更轻松地访问学生的作业,以及按照解决问题所需的计算要求来增加和缩减我们的基础设施。但是,我们还要将可扩展性、虚拟化、多核处理和云计算这些课题结合到课程的教学大纲讨论中。有什么教学方法比让学生实际体验这些课题更理想呢?”

– David J. Malan(哈佛大学计算机科学系讲师)

查看哈佛课程

logo_harvard

“转化科学是一项快速发展的活动,范围包括整个基因组测序和单个 SNP 的临床转变,以便达到验证和吸收新发现的基因和原子知识,并在测试后应用于诊所的最终目的。我的实验室 (lpm.hms.harvard.edu) 和同事利用 Amazon Web Services 的灵活性进行广泛的转化科学‘实验’,这些实验由 Dennis Wall 和我主持,在哈佛大学医学院生物医学信息学中心开展。”

– Peter J. Tonellato(哈佛大学医学院生物医学信息学中心博士)

详细了解哈佛 Tonellato 博士的工作

Mt Sinai

从 TB 级的基因组数据中挖掘信息并确保信息的安全性,这需要一个灵活的具备大数据存储和严格访问控制功能的高性能平台。这显然是云计算的工作。

Amazon Web Services (AWS) 是 Station X 的基因组平台 GenePool 的基础,它可以动态扩展,在数分钟内完成对成千上万对基因组的分析工作。Station X 产品副总裁 Sandeep Sanga 表示:“AWS 是一个构建软件环境的天然场所。我们在 AWS 上建立了 GenePool,让研究人员能够对海量数据进行管理和分析。我们之所以选择 AWS,是因为其提供的服务数量非常有竞争力。”AWS 让 Station X 能够专注于设计 GenePool 平台,以帮助科研人员迅速、安全地理解其测序数据。

了解有关西奈山研究人员如何使用 AWS Cloud 的更多信息。

ND_monogram_blue_L

切换到 AWS 意味着学校可以依靠多个可用区在遭遇自然灾害时提供弹性存储 – 并可在学校网站流量激增期间提供其所需的按需扩展能力。

了解有关 Notre Dame 如何利用三个不同可用区的更多信息。

ucas-logo

UCAS 是英国唯一一所帮助学生申请高等院校的服务机构。每年一到高考成绩公布之时,登录该公司网站的用户量就会出现激增。借助 AWS 的灵活容量,该公司可扩展其服务器以满足需求,之后再缩回到正常负载 – 只需根据需求支付费用。

了解有关 UCAS 如何借助 AWS 管理网络流量骤增的更多信息。

University of California Berkeley logo

“AWS 为我们的 Web 2.0 应用程序开发课程提供了非常好的资源。管理变得如此简单,学生可以快速部署他们的项目,参加最终项目展示的风险投资人都对一个小型学生团队在几周内制作出如此精美和富有创意的作品感到印象深刻。”

– Armando Fox(加州大学伯克利分校助理副教授)

查看 Fox 教授和伯克利 RAD 实验室使用 AWS 所从事的工作

UC San Diego Logo

“AWS 在教研资助计划中给予我们的慷慨资助将极大地扩展我们学生组与全美盲人联合会 (NFB) 合作范围,帮助他们为视觉受损者开发出分布式的辅助计算机视觉技术。”

– Serge Belongie(加州大学圣迭戈分校副教授)

详细了解加州大学圣迭戈分校 TIES 首创项目

university-of-maryland-logo

“感谢 Amazon Web Services 的大力支持,学生可以通过我的教研资助获得 AWS 访问权限,以帮助他们完成作业。按需调配 Hadoop 集群的功能使学生具有实用计算的实践经验,并且提供了用于完成作业和最终项目的工具。”

– Jimmy Lin(马里兰大学帕克分校副教授)

查看 Jimmy Lin 教授的课程

University of Oxford jpg

“疟疾地图项目是国际疟疾科学家合作进行的一个宏伟项目,它的具体目标是:制作详细的疟疾世界地图,以帮助对抗该疾病。疟疾地图项目团队已定义了传播界线(疟疾的地理范围边界),并且最近发布了有史以来最详细的疟疾风险世界地图。我们的下一个目标是针对全球各个区域的不同疟疾病亡情况绘制地图 – 由于现有的知识仍然非常匮乏,这使得我们无法将资金和资源发放给最需要它们的人。“所有的模型都使用高端空间统计数据,当您以 5×5km 的像素将全世界发生的事情都绘制到地图上时,这些模型就会变得极为昂贵。到现在为止,计算和存储一直是主要限制因素,它们限制了我们可以运行的模型。Amazon Web Services 的研究资助对我们而言就意味着,我们现在拥有了在可行的时间期限内实施模型所需的重要并行处理技术,并拥有处理大量模型输出的存储空间。”

– Pete Gething 博士(牛津大学动物学系)。

详细了解疟疾地图项目

logo-USF_stacked

“AWS 为我们提供用于解析学的 MS,并使计算机科学系的学生能够访问许多资源,否则他们很难在我们这种规模的学校找到这些资源。此外,管理控制台使指导员能够非常轻松地为学生管理资源。最后,DynamoDB 使我们可以建立原本不适用于学生机器的 NoSQL 数据库,并且 Elastic MapReduce 使我们不必在安装 Hadoop 时大费周折。”

– Terence Parr 教授,计算机科学系研究生项目主任

了解旧金山大学在研究生课程中使用 AWS 的更多信息

University of Texas - Austin lgo

“AWS 非常适合‘三日起步’,在该项目中,40 个学员企业家从绘图板开始制作网站,并在紧张的 60 小时后发布了网站原型。借助 Amazon 的 EC2 和 S3 技术,我们可以在几分钟内使网站生效,而无需担心配置、可靠性以及最重要的可扩展性。”

– Thomas Finsterbusch(德克萨斯大学奥斯丁分校博士生)

查看‘三日起步’站点

2U-logo

2U, Inc., is revolutionizing higher education by collaborating with leading universities to take their degrees online. To support collaboration and learning, the company’s technology platform has to be able to cache data that grows exponentially as students communicate with instructors and with each other. By building on AWS and running Amazon ElastiCache and other AWS services, 2U is able to cache data effortlessly for fast social interaction among users and focus its resources on innovation instead of infrastructure.


Hear from 2U's James Kenigsberg.

BCM logo

Baylor needed a cost-efficient, easily maintainable solution that would enable it to provide safe, effective worldwide collaboration without delays caused by setting up a physical infrastructure. “We didn’t have months to spend on setting up an infrastructure, and we needed to be able to share the data efficiently, interactively, and securely,” Veeraraghavan says.

The solution needed to be flexible enough to meet clinical standards and HIPAA requirements, as well. “Once we put all our cards on the table, we naturally gravitated toward DNAnexus and the AWS Cloud.”

Learn more about how Baylor uses the AWS Cloud.

CarnegieMellonlogo

“Project Olympus is a new initiative designed to create and sustain Next Generation Computing innovation for Western Pennsylvania. Our vertical search engine spider is a time-sensitive application that requires bursts of increased computing power. Amazon Web Services helped us quickly leverage the power of cloud computing to meet the demands of our project.”

—David E. Chen, undergraduate student studying Information Systems and Human-Computer Interaction at Carnegie Mellon University

Learn more about Project Olympus

code.org-logo

Running on AWS, Code.org was able to launch the Hour of Code campaign during CSEdWeek as planned. “Our goal was 10 million students and we had 20 million participants,” says Elliott. “Running on the AWS Cloud gave us the elasticity to keep the website running when traffic spiked from zero to 20 million coders during campaign week, and then scale back efficiently. AWS was fantastic.”

Learn more on how Code.org used AWS to focus on goals instead of infrastructure.

logo-coursera-150

By using Amazon Web Services, Coursera can handle half a petabyte of traffic each month and scale to deliver courses to over 3 million students per year.

Watch the video to learn.

echo360-logo

Echo360's active learning platform helps teachers manage the education process in higher education and K12 environments, relying on AWS's EC2, S3, Glacier, ELB and DynamoDB to scale and manage their content reliably.

Hear from echo360's Tony Abate.

edx_logo_200x200

edX is tranforming the way students learn with their Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) and AWS is supporting that transformation.  Hear what their CEO, Anant Agarwal, said at our annual symposium.

Click here to learn more. 

“In fall 2008, we moved Harvard’s introductory computer science course, CS 50, into the cloud. Rather than continue to rely on our own instructional computing infrastructure on campus, we created a load-balanced cluster of virtual machines for our 330 students within Amazon EC2. Our goals were both technical and pedagogical. As computer scientists, we wanted more control over our course’s infrastructure (e.g., root access), so that we ourselves could install software at will and respond to problems at any hour. As teachers, we wanted easier access to our students’ work as well as the ability to grow and shrink our infrastructure as problem sets’ computational requirements demanded. But we also wanted to integrate into the course’s own syllabus discussion of scalability, virtualization, multi-core processing, and cloud computing itself. What better way to teach topics like those than to have students actually experience them.”

—David J. Malan, Lecturer on Computer Science, Harvard University

See the Harvard course

logo_harvard

“Translational Science is a fast paced activity that spans whole genome sequencing to clinical interpretation of individual SNPs with an ultimate objective of validation and assimilation of newly discovered genetic and molecular knowledge and tests into the clinical enterprise. My lab (lpm.hms.harvard.edu) and our collaborators take advantage of the Amazon Web Services flexibility to conduct a broad range of ‘experiments’ in translational science hosted by Dennis Wall and myself at the Center for Biomedical Informatics, Harvard Medical School.”

—Peter J. Tonellato, Ph.D., Center for Biomedical Informatics, Harvard Medical School

Learn more about Dr. Tonellato’s work at Harvard

Mt Sinai

Mining information from terabytes of genomic data—and making sure that information is secure—calls for a flexible, high-performance platform with big-data storage and stringent access control. It was clearly a job for cloud computing.

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is the foundation for Station X’s genomics platform, GenePool, which can dynamically scale to analyze tens of thousands of genomes in minutes. “AWS is a natural place to build software environments,” says Sandeep Sanga, Vice President of Products at Station X. “We built GenePool on AWS to give researchers a place to manage and analyze enormous amounts of data. And we chose AWS because the number of services offered is so competitive.” Using AWS allowed Station X to focus on designing the GenePool platform to help researchers quickly and securely understand their sequenced data.

Learn more about how Mount Sinai researchers use the AWS Cloud.

ND_monogram_blue_L

Switching to AWS meant that the university could rely on multiple Availability Zones to provide resiliency in case of a natural disaster—and would provide the on-demand scalability that the school needed during bursts of traffic to its website.

Learn how Notre Dame uses three different Availability Zones.

Stanford logo

“The adoption of elastic storage with Amazon S3 at Stanford is a strategic development in achieving and maintaining a significantly improved data and security environment which highly leverages current state-of-the-art cost-effective technologies in an easily accessible and manageable framework.”

—Horace Greeley, Systems Group, Stanford University

ucas-logo

UCAS is the UK’s only service for students to apply to higher education. Once a year, when it releases its A-Level results, the company sees massive surges to users logging into its website. By using AWS for flexible capacity, the company can scale its servers to accommodate demand and then scale back down to normal loads—while paying only for what it needs.

Learn more on how UCAS manages massive web traffic surges using AWS.

University of California Berkeley logo

“Using AWS for our Web 2.0 Application Development courses has been a phenomenal resource. Administration was so easy that students were able to get their projects deployed quickly, and venture capitalists attending the final project demos were impressed at the level of polish and creativity that a small student team could produce in just a few weeks.”

—Armando Fox, Adjunct Associate Professor, University of California at Berkeley

See Professor Fox and Berkeley RAD lab work with AWS

UC San Diego Logo

“The generous grant we have received from the AWS in Education program will dramatically increase the reach of my student group’s collaboration with the National Federation of the Blind (NFB) to develop distributed assistive computer vision technology for the visually impaired.”

—Serge Belongie, Associate Professor, University of California, San Diego

Learn more about UC San Diego TIES initiative

university-of-maryland-logo

“Thanks to the generous support of Amazon Web Services, students were provided AWS access through my teaching grant which they applied to coursework. The ability to provision Hadoop clusters on-demand gave students hands-on experience with utility computing and provided a vehicle for completing coursework and a final project.”

—Jimmy Lin, Associate Professor, University of Maryland, College Park

See Professor Jimmy Lin’s course

University of Oxford jpg

“The Malaria Atlas Project is an ambitious collaboration between international malaria scientists with one specific aim: to make detailed global maps of malaria to help drive the fight against the disease. The Malaria Atlas project team has already defined the transmission limits (the boundary of malaria‚s geographic extent), and have recently published the most detailed global maps of risk ever produced. The next goal is to map how malaria‚s burden of death and disease varies across the globe — current knowledge is surprisingly patchy and this hampers efforts to target funds and resources to the people that need them most. “All models use top-end spatial statistics, and these don‚t come cheap when you’re mapping things down to 5×5km pixels across the whole world. Up to now, computation and storage have been major restrictions, placing constraints on the models we‚re able to run. Our research grant from Amazon Web Services means we now have access to the kind of serious parallel processing that we need to implement model runs in feasible timescales and the storage to deal with the massive model output.”

—Dr. Pete Gething, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford.

Learn more about the Malaria Atlas project

logo-USF_stacked

“AWS gives our MS in Analytics and computer science student’s access to resources that would otherwise be difficult to fund at a school of our size. Moreover, the management console makes it really easy for instructors to manage resources for the students. Finally, DynamoDB lets us build NoSQL databases that would not fit on a student machine and Elastic MapReduce means we don’t have to struggle with installing Hadoop.”

—Prof. Terence Parr, parrt@cs.usfca.edu, Graduate Program Director in Computer Science

Learn more about USF's use of AWS in graduate courses

University of Texas - Austin lgo

“AWS is a great fit for 3 Day Startup, an event where 40 student entrepreneurs take a web startup from the drawing board to a launched prototype in 60 intense hours. With Amazon”s EC2 and Amazon’s S3 technology on our side, we can go live in minutes without worrying about configuration, reliability, and most importantly, scalability.”

—Thomas Finsterbusch, PhD candidate, the University of Texas, Austin

See the ‘3 Day Start Up’ site