I've deleted snapshots of my EBS volume, and then I deleted the volume. Why aren't my data storage costs lower?
Last updated: 2019-05-09
I've tried to reduce my data storage costs by deleting snapshots of my Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volume. Then, I also deleted the volume. Why am I being charged so much?
Charges for EBS volumes and for snapshots are managed separately. With EBS volumes, you are charged for the amount of storage that you use. Deleting the EBS volume reduces your charges. You can view the charges from the AWS Billing and Cost Management console and dashboard.
Deleting a snapshot might not reduce your data storage costs. When you delete a snapshot, only the data referenced exclusively by that snapshot is removed. If other snapshots reference that snapshot's data, the referenced data is always preserved. You can view the total cost for snapshots in the AWS Billing and Cost Management console.
You can view the charges for each snapshot by creating cost allocation tags. After the snapshots are tagged, you can either view the charges for the snapshot on the Cost Allocation Tags dashboard, or you can generate cost and usage reports.