How do I resolve WorkSpaces system errors by restoring or rebuilding my WorkSpace?

Last updated: 2022-09-12

Amazon WorkSpaces is failing, returning system errors, or failing while Windows is updating. How do I resolve these issues?

Resolution

You can resolve critical errors or failures with your WorkSpace by using either the restore or rebuild feature. Restoring a WorkSpace is easier than rebuilding one, and it deletes less data in the process. Keep the following points in mind when deciding whether to restore or rebuild a WorkSpace:

Restoring your WorkSpace

  • To restore a WorkSpace, it must have a state of AVAILABLE, ERROR, UNHEALTHY, or STOPPED. A WorkSpace in the REBOOTING state cannot be restored.
  • To restore a WorkSpace, you must have snapshots of both the root volume and user volume.
  • When you restore a WorkSpace, both the root volume and user volume are recreated from the most recent healthy snapshot.

To restore your WorkSpace, then follow the instructions at Restore a WorkSpace.

Rebuilding your WorkSpace

  • To restore a WorkSpace, it must have a state of AVAILABLE, ERROR, UNHEALTHY, STOPPED, or REBOOTING.
  • To rebuild a WorkSpace, you must have a snapshot of the user volume.
  • When you rebuild a WorkSpace, it is restored to the most recent image of the bundle that the WorkSpace was launched from. Any modifications made after the WorkSpace was launched from the image (custom system settings, installed applications) are lost.
  • Because automatic snapshots of the D: drive are taken every 12 hours, you might be able to preserve the contents of the D: drive by rebooting the WorkSpace, waiting 12 hours, and then rebuilding the WorkSpace.
    Note: The file structure of an application installed to the D: drive will be restored, but if it was installed after the Workspace was launched, the application will require reinstallation.

To rebuild your WorkSpace, then follow the instructions at Rebuild a WorkSpace.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?