Why do I still see charges for Amazon S3 after I deleted all the files from my Amazon S3 buckets?
Last updated: 2020-12-14
I deleted all the files from my Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets, but I still have charges for S3 on my bill.
Here are some things you can check to minimize your S3 charges:
- Disable logging for any S3 buckets before deleting them. Otherwise, logs might be immediately written to your bucket after you delete your bucket's objects.
- Delete any file versions (backups of S3 objects) in versioning-enabled buckets.
- Delete empty S3 buckets that you don't need. Some programs (including the AWS Management Console) initiate LIST requests to pull the names of your buckets. These requests are charged at standard rates.
- Cancel any incomplete multipart upload requests.