Rahul helps you add domains
for multiple certificates
to an ELB using ACM


I want to upload multiple certificates for different domains on an Elastic Load Balancer (ELB).

As of April 2018, Classic Load Balancer does not support adding multiple certificates. To overcome this limitation, use a Subject Alternative Name (SAN) certificate to validate multiple domains behind the load balancer, including wildcard domains, with AWS Certificate Manager (ACM).

SSL/TLS certificates provisioned through ACM are free, are easy to install, and support certificate renewals.

Note: ACM certificates can't be downloaded, and can be used only with AWS resources such as ELB (Classic and Application), Amazon CloudFront distributions, and Amazon API Gateway.

Follow these steps to create a SAN certificate using ACM.

  1. Go to the AWS Certificate Manager console.
    Note: If you've never created a certificate, choose Get started.
  2. Request an ACM public certificate. For instructions, see Request a Public Certificate.
  3. In the AWS Certificate Manager console, verify that the status of the certificate request has changed from Pending validation to Issued.
  4. Attach the certificate to a Load Balancer. For detailed steps, see Replace the SSL Certificate for Your Classic Load Balancer.  

Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2018-05-17

Updated: 2018-08-03