I'm joining or creating an organization, and my AWS account has active credits on it. How do my credits apply to the consolidated bill?

All AWS credits under an account are applied to the organization's consolidated bill, beginning the first full billing cycle after an account joins the organization.

To change this behavior, sign in to the master account, and then turn credit sharing off for the organization.

When you turn credit sharing off, be aware of the following that affects the rest of the current billing cycle:

  • If the account was a standalone account, any credits will apply only to the month-to-date bill for the member account.
  • If the account was a member account in a different organization, the credits on the member account will apply to the bill of the former master account until the end of the billing cycle. Any charges incurred by the member account will still be billed to the current master account.

After the end of the current billing cycle, credits on the member account will apply to the month-to-date bill for the master account.

Note: When credit sharing is enabled for member accounts, credits for AWS Support are applied only to the master account. To use AWS Support credits, credit sharing must be turned off.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2016-04-25

Updated: 2019-03-08