How do I delete a Route 53 hosted zone?
Last updated: 2019-06-11
I want to delete an Amazon Route 53 hosted zone. How do I do that?
Important: You can't undo the deletion of a hosted zone.
To delete a Route 53 hosted zone:
- Delete any records associated with the hosted zone, except for the default start of authority (SOA) and name server (NS) records.
- Delete the public hosted zone.
Note: After you delete a hosted zone, it no longer routes traffic. If you create a new hosted zone for your domain later, you can update the NS record to route traffic to the new zone.