AWS DMS 如何使用内存进行迁移?

上次更新日期:2022 年 8 月 18 日

我有一个 AWS Database Migration Service(AWS DMS)任务使用的内存多于或少于预期。AWS DMS 如何使用内存进行迁移,以及如何优化复制实例的内存使用情况?

简短描述

AWS DMS 复制实例使用内存来运行复制引擎。此引擎负责在满载阶段在源引擎上运行 SELECT 语句。此外,复制引擎在变更数据捕获(CDC)阶段读取源引擎的事务日志中的数据。这些记录将迁移到目标,然后作为验证过程的一部分与目标数据库上的相应记录进行比较。这便是通用迁移流程在 AWS DMS 中的工作原理。

AWS DMS 还可将内存用于任务配置以及从源到目标的数据流。

解决方法

LOB 设置受限的任务

当您使用具有有限 LOB 设置的 AWS DMS 任务迁移数据时,会根据每个 LOB 列的 LobMaxSize 提前分配内存。如果您将此值设置过高,则您的任务可能会失败。该任务失败是因为内存不足(OOM)错误,具体取决于要迁移的记录数和 CommitRate。

因此,如果您为任务配置高值,请确保 AWS DMS 实例有足够的内存。

{
  "TargetMetadata": {
  "SupportLobs": true,
  "FullLobMode": false,
  "LobChunkSize": 0,
  "LimitedSizeLobMode": true,
  "LobMaxSize": 63,
  "InlineLobMaxSize": 0,
  }

ValidationEnabled 的任务

当您使用 ValidationEnabled=true 的 AWS DMS 任务进行迁移时,您可能会看到额外的内存使用情况。发生这种情况是因为 AWS DMS 会从源数据库和目标数据库中检索 ThreadCount * PartitionSize 记录。然后,它将比较复制实例上的相应数据。因此,在迁移过程中,您可以观察到复制实例、源数据库和目标数据库上的内存使用情况。

要限制正在使用的内存量,请使用 SkipLobColums 忽略 LOB 列。您还可以使用单独的复制实例或 AWS DMS 任务,与迁移任务分开执行验证。为此,请使用 ValidationOnly 设置:

"ValidationSettings": {
  "EnableValidation": true,
  "ThreadCount": 5,
  "PartitionSize": 10000,
  "ValidationOnly": false,
  "SkipLobColumns": false,
  },

有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS DMS 数据验证

在满负载和 CDC 阶段使用并行线程的任务

当您使用非关系型数据库(RDBMS)目标时,ParallelLoadThreads * ParallelLoadBufferSize 将决定线程数和向目标传输的数据大小。同样,ParallelApplyThreads * ParallelApplyBufferSize 将决定 CDC 阶段的线程数和传输数据的大小。AWS DMS 将从源中提取的数据保存在 ParallelLoadQueuesPerThread 和 ParallelApplyQueuesPerThread 中。调整这些设置时,请确保 AWS DMS 实例和目标具有处理工作负载的容量。

{
  "TargetMetadata": {
    "ParallelLoadThreads": 0,
    "ParallelLoadBufferSize": 0,
    "ParallelLoadQueuesPerThread": 0,
    "ParallelApplyThreads": 0,
    "ParallelApplyBufferSize": 0,
    "ParallelApplyQueuesPerThread": 0
  },

有关这些设置的详细信息,请参阅目标元数据任务设置

具有批量应用设置的任务

当您使用具有批量应用设置的 AWS DMS 任务时,请采取以下最佳实践:

  • 默认的批处理配置始终足以处理正常的工作负载。在批处理过程中,批处理的大小和应用于目标的频率由 BatchApplyTimeoutMin、BatchApplyTimeoutMax 和 BatchApplyMemoryLimit 设置来决定。这些设置共同作用以在批处理中应用更改。如果由于源上的工作负载繁重而需要对这些设置进行调整,请确保 AWS DMS 实例拥有足够的内存。否则,可能会发生 OOM 错误。
  • 请不要将 BatchApplyMemoryLimit 设置为超过复制实例内存的大小,否则可能会出现 OOM 错误。在设置 BatchApplyMemoryLimit 时,请注意与用于迁移的 AWS DMS 任务同时运行的其他任务。
  • 如果 BatchApplyPreserveTransaction = true 跨多个批处理过程,则长时间运行的事务将保留在内存中。这也可能会导致 OOM 错误,具体取决于下一部分的内存设置。
  • 使用 BatchSplitSize 设置来对每个批处理中可包含的更改数量进行设置,并对内存消耗进行限制:
{
  "TargetMetadata": {
    "BatchApplyEnabled": false,
  },
},
  "ChangeProcessingTuning": {
    "BatchApplyPreserveTransaction": true,
    "BatchApplyTimeoutMin": 1,
    "BatchApplyTimeoutMax": 30,
    "BatchApplyMemoryLimit": 500,
    "BatchSplitSize": 0,
  },

有关使用批处理应用模式的详细信息,请参阅更改处理调整设置

  • 在 CDC 期间,MinTransactionSize 可决定每个事务中更改发生的次数。复制实例上的事务大小由 MemoryLimitTotal 进行控制。当您运行多个需要大量内存的 CDC 任务时,请使用此设置。请务必根据每个任务的事务性工作负载来分配此设置。
  • 设置 MemoryKeepTime 以对源上长时间运行的事务所消耗的内存进行限制。或者,如果在源上运行大批 INSERT 或 UPDATE 语句,则延长此时间。延长此时间以保留净变更表中正在处理的变更。
  • 设置 StatementCacheSize 以对存储在复制实例上的预准备语句的数量进行控制。
  • 如果您的 AWS DMS 复制实例包含大量空闲内存,请对此示例中的设置进行调整。这意味着 AWS DMS 将在内存中处理工作负载,而非频繁地刷新到 AWS DMS 存储。

"ChangeProcessingTuning": {
    "MinTransactionSize": 1000,
    "CommitTimeout": 1,
    "MemoryLimitTotal": 1024,
    "MemoryKeepTime":
  60,
    "StatementCacheSize": 50
  },

有关这些设置的更多信息,请参阅更改处理调整设置

监控复制实例的内存使用情况

有几种方法可以监控复制实例的内存使用情况。要隔离消耗最多内存的单个任务,请按 MemoryUsage 对任务进行排序。要了解任务占用内存的原因,请比较 CDCChangesMemorySource 和 CDCChangesMemoryTarget,然后对相应的端点进行问题排查。

复制实例本身使用最少的内存来运行复制引擎。要检查其他 AWS DMS 任务是否可以在复制实例上运行,请查看 Amazon CloudWatch 中的 AvailableMemory 指标。然后,创建一个新任务以使用可用的 FreeMemory 量。运行 AWS DMS 任务时,请监控 FreeMemory 和 SwapUsage 以查看是否存在资源争用问题。有关更多信息,请参阅复制实例指标

避免内存问题

为了估计您的 AWS DMS 任务已使用的内存量,请在较低的环境(开发和暂存)中对具有相同配置的实例进行测试。

另外,在使用生产数据之前先执行概念验证迁移。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How does AWS DMS use memory for migration?

Last updated: 2022-08-18

I have an AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) task that is using more or less memory than expected. How does AWS DMS use memory for migration, and how can I optimize the memory usage of my replication instance?

Short description

An AWS DMS replication instance uses memory to run the replication engine. This engine is responsible for running SELECT statements on the source engine during the full load phase. Also, the replication engine reads from the source engine's transaction log during the change data capture (CDC) phase. These records are migrated to the target, and then compared against the corresponding records on the target database as part of the validation process. This is how generic migration flow works in AWS DMS.

AWS DMS also uses memory for task configuration and for the flow of data from source to target.

Resolution

Tasks with limited LOB settings

When you migrate data using an AWS DMS task with limited LOB settings, memory is allocated in advance based on the LobMaxSize for each LOB column. If you set this value too high, then your task might fail. This fail happens due to an Out of Memory (OOM) error, depending on the number of records that you are migrating and the CommitRate.

So, if you configure your task with high values, make sure that the AWS DMS instance has enough memory.

{
  "TargetMetadata": {
  "SupportLobs": true,
  "FullLobMode": false,
  "LobChunkSize": 0,
  "LimitedSizeLobMode": true,
  "LobMaxSize": 63,
  "InlineLobMaxSize": 0,
  }

Tasks with ValidationEnabled

When you migrate using an AWS DMS task that has ValidationEnabled=true, you might see additional memory usage. This happens because AWS DMS retrieves ThreadCount * PartitionSize records from both the source and target databases. It then compares the corresponding data on the replication instance. So, you observe additional memory usage on the replication instance, source database, and target database during migration.

To limit the amount of memory in use, ignore LOB columns by using SkipLobColums. You can also perform validation separately from the migration task by using a separate replication instance or AWS DMS task. To do this, use the ValidationOnly setting:

"ValidationSettings": {
  "EnableValidation": true,
  "ThreadCount": 5,
  "PartitionSize": 10000,
  "ValidationOnly": false,
  "SkipLobColumns": false,
  },

For more information, see AWS DMS data validation.

Tasks with parallel threads in full load and CDC phases

When you use a non-RDBMS target, then ParallelLoadThreads * ParallelLoadBufferSize determines the number of threads and the size of data transfer to the target. Similarly, ParallelApplyThreads * ParallelApplyBufferSize determines the number of threads and the size of data transfer during the CDC phase. AWS DMS holds the data that's pulled from the source in ParallelLoadQueuesPerThread and ParallelApplyQueuesPerThread. When tuning these settings, make sure that the AWS DMS instance and target have the capacity to handle the workload.

{
  "TargetMetadata": {
    "ParallelLoadThreads": 0,
    "ParallelLoadBufferSize": 0,
    "ParallelLoadQueuesPerThread": 0,
    "ParallelApplyThreads": 0,
    "ParallelApplyBufferSize": 0,
    "ParallelApplyQueuesPerThread": 0
  },

For more information on these settings, see Target metadata task settings.

Tasks with batch apply settings

When you use an AWS DMS task with batch apply settings, use these best practices:

  • The default batch configuration is always enough to handle the normal workload. In batch process, the size of the batch and frequency at which it's applied on the target are determined by the BatchApplyTimeoutMin, BatchApplyTimeoutMax, and BatchApplyMemoryLimit settings. These settings work together to apply changes in batch. If you need to tune these settings because of heavy workload on the source, be sure that the AWS DMS instance has enough memory. Otherwise, an OOM error might occur.
  • Don't set BatchApplyMemoryLimit to more than the size of the replication instance memory or an OOM error might occur. Be aware of other tasks running simultaneously with the AWS DMS task that you're using for migration when you set BatchApplyMemoryLimit.
  • Long-running transactions are retained in memory if BatchApplyPreserveTransaction = true across multiple batches. This can also cause OOM errors, depending on the next section's memory settings.
  • Use the BatchSplitSize setting to set the number of changes to include in every batch, and to limit memory consumption:
{
  "TargetMetadata": {
    "BatchApplyEnabled": false,
  },
},
  "ChangeProcessingTuning": {
    "BatchApplyPreserveTransaction": true,
    "BatchApplyTimeoutMin": 1,
    "BatchApplyTimeoutMax": 30,
    "BatchApplyMemoryLimit": 500,
    "BatchSplitSize": 0,
  },

For more information on using batch apply mode, see Change processing tuning settings.

  • During CDC, MinTransactionSize determines how many changes happen in each transaction. The size of transactions on the replication instance is controlled by MemorylimitTotal. Use this setting when you run multiple CDC tasks that need a lot of memory. Be sure to apportion this setting based on each task's transactional workload.
  • Set MemoryKeepTime to limit the memory that is consumed by long-running transactions on the source. Or, if large batch of INSERT or UPDATE statements are running on the source, then increase this time. Increase this time to retain the changes from processing in the net changes table.
  • Set StatementCacheSize to control the number of prepared statements that are stored on the replication instance.
  • If your AWS DMS replication instance contains a large volume of free memory, then tune the settings in this example. This means that AWS DMS handles the workload in memory itself, rather flushing frequently to AWS DMS storage.

"ChangeProcessingTuning": {
    "MinTransactionSize": 1000,
    "CommitTimeout": 1,
    "MemoryLimitTotal": 1024,
    "MemoryKeepTime":
  60,
    "StatementCacheSize": 50
  },

For more information on these settings, see Change processing tuning settings.

Monitor the memory usage of your replication instance

There are several ways to monitor the memory usage of your replication instance. To isolate the single task that is consuming the most memory, sort your tasks by MemoryUsage. To learn why the task is holding memory, compare CDCChangesMemorySource and CDCChangesMemoryTarget, and then troubleshoot the respective endpoint.

The replication instance itself uses minimal memory to run the replication engine. To check if additional AWS DMS tasks can run on the replication instance, review the AvailableMemory metric in Amazon CloudWatch. Then, create a new task to use the amount of FreeMemory available. When you run the AWS DMS task, monitor FreeMemory and SwapUsage to see if resource contention is a concern. For more information, see Replication instance metrics.

Avoid memory issues

To gauge how much memory that your AWS DMS task is using, test an instance with the same configuration in a lower environment (dev and staging).

Also, perform a proof of concept migration before working with production data.