将二进制读取器用于 Amazon RDS for Oracle 时,我的 AWS DMS 任务为什么失败?

上次更新日期:2022 年 11 月 25 日

为什么当我将二进制读取器用于 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for Oracle 时我的 AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) 任务失败?

简短描述

在变更数据捕获 (CDC) 阶段期间,Oracle 提供了两种读取重做日志的方法:Oracle LogMiner 和二进制读取器。Oracle LogMiner 是一个 SQL 接口,用于访问在线和存档重做日志。二进制读取器是一项 AWS DMS 功能,可直接读取和解析重做日志。

使用二进制阅读器进行大量更改的迁移时,与使用 Oracle LogMiner 相比,对 Oracle 源的影响较小。这是因为存档日志被复制,然后在复制实例上进行解析。对于包含大量变更的迁移,二进制读取器通常比 Oracle LogMiner 具有更好的 CDC 性能。请务必预配置足够的网络带宽,以避免网络性能瓶颈。

如果使用二进制读取器时未满足前提条件,您可能会收到两种类型的错误:

  • 权限错误
  • 额外连接属性错误

解决方法

权限错误

AWS DMS 在源数据库上创建目录以使用二进制读取器。因此,AWS DMS 用户账户必须拥有必需的权限以访问源 Oracle 端点并创建必要的目录。如果 AWS DMS 没有权限,您会看到与此类似的日志条目:

消息

"[SOURCE_CAPTURE ]E: OCI error 'ORA-00604: error occurred at rMeecursive SQL level 1 ORA-20900: Invalid path used for directory: /rdsdbdata/log/arch ORA-06512: at "RDSADMIN.RDSADMIN", line 321 ORA-06512: at line 2' [1022307] (oradcdc_bfilectx.c:164)"

要解决这些错误,请使用 Amazon RDS 主用户作为 AWS DMS 用户。当 AWS DMS 任务开始运行时,将会自动创建这些目录。如果未创建这些目录,请先使用主用户登录到 Oracle 数据库。。然后,运行下面的命令以测试是否可创建这些目录:

SQL> exec rdsadmin.rdsadmin_master_util.create_archivelog_dir; 
SQL> exec rdsadmin.rdsadmin_master_util.create_onlinelog_dir;

通过查询 all_directories 表来检查结果:

SQL> select directory_path from all_directories where directory_name in ('ONLINELOG_DIR','ARCHIVELOG_DIR');
DIRECTORY_PATH
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/rdsdbdata/log/arch
/rdsdbdata/log/onlinelog

创建所需的目录 ONLINELOG_DIRARCHIVELOG_DIR 后,请重新启动您的 AWS DMS 任务。

额外连接属性错误

如果您使用二进制读取器,但是您的 Oracle 源缺少必要的额外连接属性,您将看到此日志条目:

消息

"[TASK_MANAGER ]E: ORA-00604: error occurred at recursive SQL level 1 ORA-20900: Invalid path used for directory: awsdms_dir_test ORA-06512: at "RDSADMIN.RDSADMIN", line 321 ORA-06512: at line 2 ; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db settings, replacePathPrefix should be set to TRUE and usePathPrefix should be set to '/rdsdbdata/log/'; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db settings, useAlternateFolderForOnline should be set to TRUE; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db setting, oraclePathPrefix should not be empty; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db settings; Failed while preparing stream component 'st_0_4MGMBIOJCILNOU3UHICCDBCNFQ'.; Cannot initialize subtask; Stream component 'st_0_4MGMBIOJCILNOU3UHICCDBCNFQ' terminated [1020418] (replicationtask.c:2680)"

要使用二进制读取器捕获 Amazon RDS for Oracle 源的变更数据,请将这些额外的连接属性添加至源端点:

useLogMinerReader=N;useBfile=Y;replacePathPrefix=true;usePathPrefix=/rdsdbdata/log/;useAlternateFolderForOnline=true;oraclePathPrefix=/rdsdbdata/db/ORCL_A/;accessAlternateDirectly=false

Why did my AWS DMS task fail when using Binary Reader for Amazon RDS Oracle?

Last updated: 2019-10-02

Why did my AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) task fail when using Binary Reader for Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for Oracle?

Short Description

During the change data capture (CDC) phase, Oracle provides two methods to read the redo logs: Oracle LogMiner and Binary Reader. The Oracle LogMiner is a SQL interface that accesses the online and archived redo logs, and the Binary Reader is an AWS DMS feature that reads and parses the redo logs directly.

When using Binary Reader for migrations that have a high volume of changes, Binary Reader has less of an impact on the Oracle source database compared to using Oracle LogMiner because the archive logs are copied and then parsed on the replication instance. For migrations that have a high volume of changes, Binary Reader usually has better CDC performance compared to using Oracle LogMiner. Be sure to provision sufficient network bandwidth to avoid network performance bottlenecks.

If the prerequisites aren't met when using Binary Reader, you can receive two types of errors:

  • Permissions errors
  • Extra connection attribute errors

Resolution

Permissions errors

AWS DMS uses the Binary Reader by creating directories on the source database. As a result, the AWS DMS user account must have required privileges to access the source Oracle endpoint and create necessary directories. If AWS DMS doesn't have permissions, you see log entries similar to the following:

Messages
[SOURCE_CAPTURE ]E: OCI error 'ORA-00604: error occurred at recursive SQL level 1 ORA-20900: Invalid path used for directory: /rdsdbdata/log/arch ORA-06512: at "RDSADMIN.RDSADMIN", line 321 ORA-06512: at line 2' [1022307] (oradcdc_bfilectx.c:164)

To resolve these errors, be sure to use the Amazon RDS master user as the AWS DMS user. The directories are created automatically when an AWS DMS task starts running. If the directories aren't created, log in to the Oracle database using the master user. Then, run the following commands to test if these directories can be created:

SQL> exec rdsadmin.rdsadmin_master_util.create_archivelog_dir;
SQL> exec rdsadmin.rdsadmin_master_util.create_onlinelog_dir;

Check the results by querying the all_directories table:

SQL> select directory_path from all_directories where directory_name in ('ONLINELOG_DIR','ARCHIVELOG_DIR');
DIRECTORY_PATH
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/rdsdbdata/log/arch
/rdsdbdata/log/onlinelog

After you create the required directories ONLINELOG_DIR and ARCHIVELOG_DIR, restart your AWS DMS task.

Extra connection attribute errors

If you use the Binary Reader, but you're missing the necessary extra connection attributes for your Oracle source, you see the following log entry:

Messages
[TASK_MANAGER ]E: ORA-00604: error occurred at recursive SQL level 1 ORA-20900: Invalid path used for directory: awsdms_dir_test ORA-06512: at "RDSADMIN.RDSADMIN", line 321 ORA-06512: at line 2 ; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db settings, replacePathPrefix should be set to TRUE and usePathPrefix should be set to '/rdsdbdata/log/'; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db settings, useAlternateFolderForOnline should be set to TRUE; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db setting, oraclePathPrefix should not be empty; Invalid RDS Oracle binary reader db settings; Failed while preparing stream component 'st_0_4MGMBIOJCILNOU3UHICCDBCNFQ'.; Cannot initialize subtask; Stream component 'st_0_4MGMBIOJCILNOU3UHICCDBCNFQ' terminated [1020418] (replicationtask.c:2680)

To use the Binary Reader to capture change data for an Amazon RDS Oracle source, add the following extra connection attributes to the source endpoint:

useLogMinerReader=N;useBfile=Y;replacePathPrefix=true;usePathPrefix=/rdsdbdata/log/;useAlternateFolderForOnline=true;oraclePathPrefix=/rdsdbdata/db/ORCL_A/;accessAlternateDirectly=false