如何对通过堡垒主机使用 SSH 连接访问我的 EC2 实例进行故障排查?

上次更新时间:2021 年 1 月 4日

我在通过堡垒主机使用 SSH 连接连接我的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例时遇到问题。我应该如何排查此问题?

简短描述

要对通过使用堡垒主机 连接 SSH 进行故障排查,请执行以下操作:

  1. 设置代理转发以进行故障排查,对以下各项之间的 SSH 连接进行单独排查:
    您的本地计算机和堡垒主机。
    堡垒主机和您的 EC2 实例。
  2. 按照 如何排查使用 SSH 连接我的 Amazon EC2 Linux 实例时遇到的问题? 中的步骤,对您的本地计算机与堡垒主机、堡垒主机与 EC2 实例之间的 SSH 连接进行故障排查。

解决方法

1.    添加一个或多个 EC2 实例和堡垒主机私有密钥到您的本地计算机的 ssh-agent上。在以下示例命令中,将 private-key.pem 替换为您的私有密钥名称。

ssh-add private-key.pem

运行以下命令以验证密钥是否可用于 ssh-agent:

ssh-add -L

2.    运行以下命令,以使用开启详细消息选项的-A 来连接堡垒主机。在以下示例命令中,将 ec2-user 替换为您的用户名。将 192.0.2.0 替换为适合您的堡垒主机的公有 IP 地址。您还可以使用公有 DNS 条目代替公有 IP 地址。

ssh -v –A ec2-user@192.0.2.0

重要提示:-A 选项将启用 ssh-agent 转发。代理转发应仅用于故障排查。转发将启动本地 ssh-agent 以响应公有密钥挑战,包括当您从堡垒主机连接到 EC2 实例时。设置代理转发时,一个套接字文件将在堡垒主机上创建。套接字文件充当将密钥转发给 EC2 实例的机制。堡垒主机上具有修改文件功能的其他用户可使用此密钥进行身份验证。定期使用堡垒主机连接实例时(故障排查外),请使用 ProxyCommand 或类似方法。

3.    连接到堡垒主机后,运行以下命令以使用开启详细消息的 SSH 来连接您的 EC2 实例。在以下示例命令中,将 ec2-user 替换为您的用户名。将 192.0.2.0 替换为适合您的堡垒主机的公有 IP 地址。您还可以使用公有 DNS 条目代替公有 IP 地址。

ssh -v ec2-user@192.0.2.0

注意: 在前两个命令中您无需明确提供密钥。ssh-agent 在密钥成功之前按顺序尝试代理中加载的所有密钥。实例在连接尝试失败五次后终止连接。因此,请确保代理具有五个及以内的密钥。每个管理员都应该有一个密钥,这样,对于大多数部署来说,这将几乎不成问题。有关如何在 ssh-agent 中管理密钥的详细信息,请运行命令 man ssh-agent

从本地计算机连接到堡垒主机时的故障排查

如果您从本地计算机连接到堡垒主机时遇到问题(步骤 2),请执行以下操作:

  • 请验证堡垒主机的私有密钥是否已正确添加到您的本地计算机的 SSH 代理上。此过程在步骤 1 中显示。
  • 请验证 ssh-add-L 返回五个及以内的密钥。

如果您仍无法连接到堡垒主机,请参阅步骤 2 如何排查使用 SSH 连接我的 Amazon EC2 Linux 实例时遇到的问题?

从堡垒主机连接到 EC2 实例时的故障排查

如果您在从堡垒主机连接到 EC2 实例时遇到问题(步骤 3),请执行以下操作:

  • 请验证您的 EC2 实例私有密钥是否已正确添加到您的本地计算机上的 SSH 代理上。如果该密钥与您的堡垒主机的私有密钥不同,您可能需要检查此项。
  • 请验证 ssh-add-L 返回五个及以内的密钥。

如果您仍无法从堡垒主机连接到您的 EC2 实例,请使用 SSH 客户端的输出消息进行故障排查。有关更多信息,请参阅步骤 2 如何排查使用 SSH 连接 Amazon EC2 Linux 实例时遇到的问题?


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I troubleshoot accessing my EC2 instance using an SSH connection through a bastion host?

Last updated: 2021-01-04

I'm having trouble connecting to my Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance using an SSH connection through a bastion host. How can I troubleshoot this?

Short description

To troubleshoot connecting through SSH using a bastion host, do the following:

  1. Set up agent forwarding for troubleshooting purposes to separately troubleshoot the SSH connection between the following:
    Your local machine and the bastion host.
    The bastion host and your EC2 instance.
  2. Follow the steps in How do I troubleshoot problems connecting to my Amazon EC2 Linux instance using SSH? to troubleshoot the SSH connection between your local machine and the bastion host, and between the bastion host and your EC2 instance.

Resolution

1.    Add one or more private keys of your EC2 instance and bastion host to ssh-agent on your local machine. In the following example command, replace private-key.pem with the name of your private key.

ssh-add private-key.pem

Run the following command to verify that the keys are available to ssh-agent:

ssh-add -L

2.    Run the following command to connect to the bastion host using the -A option with verbose messaging on. In the following example command, replace ec2-user with your username. Replace 192.0.2.0 with the appropriate public IP address for your bastion host. You can also use the public DNS entry instead of the public IP address.

ssh -v –A ec2-user@192.0.2.0

Important: The -A option enables ssh-agent forwarding. Agent forwarding should be used for troubleshooting only. Forwarding enables the local ssh-agent to respond to the public-key challenge, including when you connect from your bastion host to your EC2 instance. When you set up agent forwarding, a socket file is created on the bastion host. The socket file acts as the mechanism that forwards the key to your EC2 instance. Another user on the bastion host with the ability to modify files could use this key to authenticate as you. When connecting to your instance using a bastion host regularly (outside of troubleshooting), use ProxyCommand or a similar method.

3.    After connecting to the bastion host, run the following command to connect to your EC2 instance using SSH with verbose messaging on. In the following example command, replace ec2-user with your username. Replace 192.0.2.0 with the appropriate public IP address for your bastion host. You can also use the public DNS entry instead of the public IP address.

ssh -v ec2-user@192.0.2.0

Note: You don't need to explicitly provide a key in the preceding two commands. The ssh-agent sequentially tries all the keys that are loaded in the agent until one succeeds. Instances terminate the connection after five failed connection attempts. Therefore, make sure that the agent has five or fewer keys. Each administrator should have one key, so this is rarely a problem for most deployments. For details on how to manage the keys in ssh-agent, run the command man ssh-agent.

Troubleshooting the connection from your local machine to the bastion host

If you have problems connecting to the bastion host from your local machine (step 2), do the following:

  • Verify that you added the private key of the bastion host to the SSH agent on your local machine correctly. This procedure is shown in step 1.
  • Verify that ssh-add -L returns five or fewer keys.

If you still can't connect to the bastion host, see step 2. in How do I troubleshoot problems connecting to my Amazon EC2 Linux instance using SSH?

Troubleshooting the connection from the bastion host to your EC2 instance

If you have problems connecting to your EC2 instance from the bastion host (step 3), do the following:

  • Verify that you correctly added the private key of your EC2 instance to the SSH agent on your local machine. You might need to check this if the key is different than the private key of your bastion host.
  • Verify that ssh-add -L returns five or fewer keys.

If you still can't connect to your EC2 instance from the bastion host, use the output messages from the SSH client to troubleshoot. For more information, see step 2. in How do I troubleshoot problems connecting to my Amazon EC2 Linux instance using SSH?


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?