配置 Amazon VPC CNI 插件以便将 VPC 子网中的 IP 地址与 Amazon EKS 搭配使用的最佳实践是什么?

上次更新日期:2021 年 11 月 22 日

我想要配置 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Container Network Interface (CNI) 插件,以便将 VPC 子网中的 IP 地址与 Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (Amazon EKS) 搭配使用。最佳实践是什么?

简短描述

Amazon VPC CNI 的主要组件之一是 L-IPAM 守护进程。您可以配置此守护进程,以便向节点分配 IP 地址。

如果节点上安排了新的 pod,则kubelet 将会调用 CNI 二进制文件。CNI 二进制文件将会调用 L-IPAMD,以获取新 pod 的 IP 地址。然后,该 pod 将会跟踪附加到实例的弹性网络接口和 IP 地址。

您可以使用一些配置变量来控制维护的网络接口和 IP 地址的数量。有关更多信息,请参阅 WARM_ENI_TARGET、WARM_IP_TARGET 和 MINIMUM_IP_TARGETWARM_PREFIX_TARGET、WARM_IP_TARGET 和 MINIMUM_IP_TARGET(来自 GitHub 网站)。

解决方法

以下是使用配置变量控制维护的网络接口和 IP 地址数量的最佳实践。

WARM_ENI_TARGET

使用 WARM_ENI_TARGET 变量确定 L-IPAMD 保留可用的弹性网络接口数量,以便在节点上进行调度时立即为 pod 分配 IP 地址。

  • 为了防止耗尽子网中的可用 IP 地址,请务必检查 Worker 节点实例类型以及每个接口的最大网络接口和专用 IPv4 地址数量。例如,如果为 m5.xlarge 节点设置 WARM_ENI_TARGET=3,则始终会有三个弹性网络接口附加到此节点。节点随后会分配 45 个 IP 地址,每个弹性网络接口 15 个。由于为此节点保留了 45 个 IP 地址,因此,这些地址不能用于其他 Worker 节点上调度的 pod。
  • 如果您希望应用程序大幅扩展,则可以使用 WARM_ENI_TARGET 快速调整新调度的 pod。

WARM_IP_TARGET

使用 WARM_IP_TARGET 变量确保 L-IPAMD 的暖池中始终包含定义数量的 IP 地址。

  • 对于低生产效率的集群,请使用 WARM_IP_TARGET,以便只向网络接口分配所需数量的 IP 地址。这就可以防止弹性网络接口的 IP 地址受阻。

MINIMUM_IP_TARGET

使用 MINIMUM_IP_TARGET 确保在节点最初出现时向其分配最低数量的 IP 地址。此变量通常与 WARM_IP_TARGET 变量搭配使用。

  • 如果您知道每个节点要运行的最低 pod 数量,则使用 MINIMUM_IP_TARGET,以便分配所需数量的 IP 地址。如果 IP 地址准备就绪,则 pod 可以在对其进行调度时接收这些 IP 地址。
  • 设置此变量及 WARM_IP_TARGET,确保节点上有可用 IP 地址供未来 pod 使用。

WARM_PREFIX_TARGET

使用 WARM_PREFIX_TARGET 变量确保您始终将定义数量的前缀(/28 CIDR 块)附加到实例的网络接口。您可以仅在 CNI 版本 1.9.0 或更高版本上使用 WARM_PREFIX_TARGET,并且您必须启用 Amazon VPC CNI IP 地址前缀分配功能

  • 如果您使用 IP 地址前缀分配,则请确保将 WARM_PREFIX_TARGET 变量设置为一个大于或等于 1 的值。如果此值设为 0,则您将会收到以下错误:
Error: Setting WARM_PREFIX_TARGET = 0 is not supported while WARM_IP_TARGET/MINIMUM_IP_TARGET is not set. 
Please configure either one of the WARM_{PREFIX/IP}_TARGET or MINIMUM_IP_TARGET env variables
  • 对于较小的子网,请使用 WARM_IP_TARGETWARM_PREFIX_TARGET,以免分配过多前缀。分配过多前缀可能会耗尽可用 IP 地址。

要了解有关这些配置变量如何影响 IP 地址使用的更多信息,请参阅 CNI 配置变量(来自 GitHub 网站)。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

What are the best practices to configure the Amazon VPC CNI plugin to use an IP address in VPC subnets with Amazon EKS?

Last updated: 2021-11-22

I want to configure the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Container Network Interface (CNI) plugin to use an IP address in VPC subnets with Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (Amazon EKS). What are the best practices?

Short description

One of the primary components of the Amazon VPC CNI is the L-IPAM daemon. You configure this daemon to allocate IP addresses to nodes.

If a new pod is scheduled on a node, then the kubelet invokes the CNI binary. The CNI binary calls the L-IPAMD to get an IP address for the new pod. The pod then tracks the elastic network interfaces and IP addresses that are attached to the instance.

You can use certain configuration variables to control how many network interfaces and IP addresses are maintained. For more information, see WARM_ENI_TARGET, WARM_IP_TARGET and MINIMUM_IP_TARGET and WARM_PREFIX_TARGET, WARM_IP_TARGET and MINIMUM_IP_TARGET (from the GitHub website).

Resolution

The following are basic best practices for using configuration variables to control how many network interfaces and IP addresses are maintained.

WARM_ENI_TARGET

Use the WARM_ENI_TARGET variable to determine how many elastic network interfaces the L-IPAMD keeps available so that pods are immediately assigned an IP address when scheduled on a node.

  • To prevent depleting available IP addresses in the subnet, make sure to check the worker node instance type and the maximum number of network interfaces and private IPv4 addresses per interface. For example, if you set WARM_ENI_TARGET=3 for an m5.xlarge node, then three elastic network interfaces are always attached to the node. The node then assigns 45 IP addresses, 15 per elastic network interface. Because the 45 IP addresses are reserved for this node, those addresses can't be used for pods that are scheduled on other worker nodes.
  • If you expect your application to scale greatly, then you can use WARM_ENI_TARGET to quickly accommodate newly scheduled pods.

WARM_IP_TARGET

Use the WARM_IP_TARGET variable to make sure that you always have a defined number of IP addresses available in the L-IPAMD's warm pool.

  • For clusters with low productivity, use WARM_IP_TARGET so that only the required number of IP addresses are assigned to the network interface. This prevents the IP addresses of the elastic network interfaces from being blocked.

MINIMUM_IP_TARGET

Use the MINIMUM_IP_TARGET to make sure that a minimum number of IP addresses are assigned to a node when it initially appears. This variable is generally used with the WARM_IP_TARGET variable.

  • If you know the minimum number of pods that you'll run per node, then use MINIMUM_IP_TARGET so that the required number of IP addresses are assigned. If the IP addresses are readily available, then the pods can receive them as the pods are scheduled.
  • Set this variable with WARM_IP_TARGET to make sure that there are available IP addresses on the node for future pods.

WARM_PREFIX_TARGET

Use the WARM_PREFIX_TARGET variable to make sure that you always have a defined number of prefixes (/28 CIDR blocks) added to the instance's network interface. You can use WARM_PREFIX_TARGET only for CNI version 1.9.0 or later, and you must activate the Amazon VPC CNI IP address prefix assignment capability.

  • If you use the IP address prefix assignment, then make sure that the WARM_PREFIX_TARGET variable is set to a value greater than or equal to 1. If it's set to 0, then you receive the following error:
Error: Setting WARM_PREFIX_TARGET = 0 is not supported while WARM_IP_TARGET/MINIMUM_IP_TARGET is not set. 
Please configure either one of the WARM_{PREFIX/IP}_TARGET or MINIMUM_IP_TARGET env variables
  • For smaller subnets, use WARM_IP_TARGET with WARM_PREFIX_TARGET to avoid allocating too many prefixes. Allocating too many prefixes can deplete available IP addresses.

To learn more about how these configuration variables affect IP address utilization, see CNI configuration variables (from the GitHub website).


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?