为什么即使在我启用了任务指标之后,我仍然无法看到 AWS Glue ETL 任务的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标?

上次更新日期:2021 年 8 月 20 日

我已启用了为 AWS Glue 提取、转换和负载 (ETL) 任务创建任务指标的选项。但是,我看不到 Amazon CloudWatch 中的任务指标。

简短描述

AWS Glue 每 30 秒向 CloudWatch 发送一次指标,CloudWatch 控制台控制面板配置为每分钟显示这些指标。AWS Glue 指标代表之前报告的值的增量值。指标控制面板将 30 秒的值聚合起来,以获取最后一分钟的值。随着任务脚本中的 GlueContext 初始化,可以启用任务的任务指标。这些指标仅在 Apache Spark 任务结束时更新。任务指标表示所有已完成的 Spark 任务的聚合值。

解决方法

延长 AWS Glue 任务的运行时间:CloudWatch 指标每 30 秒报告一次。因此,如果任务的运行时间少于 30 秒,那么任务指标不会发送到 CloudWatch。AWS Glue 使用 Spark 中的指标,Spark 使用 DropWizard 指标库发布指标。要获取 AWS Glue 指标,您的任务必须运行至少 30 秒钟。更新任务以处理更多数据有助于延长任务的运行时间。但是,您可以使用临时解决方法来查看任务指标。您可以通过在任务中包含函数 time.sleep () 来增加 AWS Glue 任务的运行时间。您可以根据使用案例在代码的开头或结尾处包含 time.sleep ()。

重要提示:使用 time.sleep() 函数不是编码的最佳实践。

对于 Python:

import time
time.sleep(30)

对于 Scala:

Thread.sleep(30)

确保作业已完成 Spark 任务:作业指标在 Spark 任务完成后报告。因此,请检查并确认作业的 Spark 任务是否已完成,且作业没有失败。

确保在任务脚本中初始化了 GlueContext:任务脚本中的 GlueContext 类可以将指标写入 CloudWatch。如果您使用的是只使用 DataFrame 而不是 DynamicFrame 的自定义脚本,则可能无法初始化 GlueContext 类。这可能会导致指标无法写入 CloudWatch。如果您使用的是自定义脚本,请务必更新您的任务以初始化 GlueContext 类。

确保 AWS Glue IAM 角色具有所需的权限:检查并确认附加到 ETL 任务的 IAM 角色是否具有 CloudWatch: PutMetricData 在 CloudWatch 中创建指标的权限。如果您使用的是自定义角色,请确保该角色有权将任务指标写入 CloudWatch。
注意:最佳实践是使用 AWS 托管策略AWSGlueServiceRole 管理权限。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why am I not able to see the Amazon CloudWatch metrics for my AWS Glue ETL job even after I enabled job metrics?

Last updated: 2021-08-20

I've enabled the option to create job metrics for my AWS Glue extract, transform, and load (ETL) job. However, I can't see the job metrics in Amazon CloudWatch.

Short description

AWS Glue sends metrics to CloudWatch every 30 seconds, and the CloudWatch console dashboard is configured to display these metrics every minute. The AWS Glue metrics represent delta values from previously reported values. The metrics dashboard aggregates the 30-second values to obtain a value for the last minute. The job metrics for your job are enabled with the initialization of a GlueContext in the job script. The metrics are updated only at the end of an Apache Spark task. The job metrics represent the aggregate values across all completed Spark tasks.

Resolution

Increase the run time of your AWS Glue job: The CloudWatch metrics are reported every 30 seconds. Therefore, if the run time of your job is less than 30 seconds, then the job metrics aren't sent to CloudWatch. AWS Glue uses the metrics from Spark, and Spark uses the DropWizard metrics library for publishing metrics. To get the AWS Glue metrics, your job must run for at least 30 seconds. Updating your job to process more data can help increase the run time of your job. However, you can use a temporary workaround to see the job metrics. You can increase the run time of your AWS Glue job by including the function time.sleep() in your job. You can include time.sleep() in your job at the start or end of the code based on your use case.

Important: Using the time.sleep() function is not a coding best practice.

For Python:

import time
time.sleep(30)

For Scala:

Thread.sleep(30)

Be sure that the job completed the Spark tasks: Job metrics are reported after the Spark tasks are complete. Therefore, check and confirm that the Spark tasks for your job are completed, and the job did not fail.

Be sure that GlueContext is initialized in the job script: The GlueContext class in your job script enables writing metrics into CloudWatch. If you're using a custom script that uses only a DataFrame and not a DynamicFrame, the GlueContext class might not be initialized. This might result in the metrics not getting written to CloudWatch. If you're using a custom script, be sure to update your job to initialize the GlueContext class.

Be sure that the AWS Glue IAM role has the required permission: Check and confirm that the IAM role attached to the ETL job has the cloudwatch:PutMetricData permission to create metrics in CloudWatch. If you're using a custom role, then be sure that the role has the permission to write the job metrics into CloudWatch.
Note: It's a best practice to use the AWS managed policy AWSGlueServiceRole to manage permissions.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?