为什么我的 AWS Glue ETL 任务运行很长时间?

上次更新时间:2021-08-20

我的 AWS Glue 任务运行了很长时间。

-或者-

我的 AWS Glue straggler 任务完成需要很长时间。

简短描述

AWS Glue 任务完成需要很长时间的某些常见原因如下:

  • 大型数据集
  • 数据集中的数据分配不均
  • 执行程序之间的任务分配不均
  • 资源调配不足

解决方案

启用指标

AWS Glue 提供了 Amazon CloudWatch 指标,可用于提供有关执行程序及各执行程序完成的工作量的信息。通过执行以下任一操作,您可以在 AWS Glue 任务上启用 CloudWatch 指标:

使用特殊参数:将以下参数添加到您的 AWS Glue 任务中。此参数允许您收集任务分析指标以用于任务运行。这些指标可在 AWS Glue 控制台和 CloudWatch 控制台上获取。

Key: --enable-metrics

使用 AWS Glue 控制台:要在现有任务上启用指标,请执行以下操作:

  1. 打开 AWS Glue 控制台
  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Jobs(任务)
  3. 选择要为其启用指标的任务。
  4. 选择 Action(操作),然后选择 Edit job(编辑任务)
  5. Monitoring options(监控选项)下,选择 Job metrics(任务指标)
  6. 选择 Save(保存)

使用 API:使用带 --enable-metrics的 AWS Glue UpdateJob API 作为 DefaultArguments 参数,以启用现有任务的指标。

注意:AWS Glue 2.0 不使用报告指标的 YARN。这意味着您无法获得 AWS Glue 2.0 的某些执行程序指标,例如 numberMaxNeededExecutors 和 numberAllExecutor。

启用连续日志记录

如果您在 AWS Glue 任务中启用连续日志记录,实时驱动程序和执行程序日志每五秒钟会向 CloudWatch 推送一次。借助这些实时日志记录信息,您可以获得有关运行任务的更多详细信息。有关更多信息,请参阅启用 AWS Glue 任务的连续日志记录

检查驱动程序和执行程序日志

在驱动程序日志中,对运行了很长时间才完成的任务进行检查。例如:

2021-04-15 10:53:54,484 ERROR executionlogs:128 - g-7dd5eec38ff57a273fcaa35f289a99ecc1be6901:2021-04-15 10:53:54,484 INFO [task-result-getter-1] scheduler.TaskSetManager (Logging.scala:logInfo(54)): Finished task 0.0 in stage 7.0 (TID 139) in 4538 ms on 10.117.101.76 (executor 10) (13/14)
...
2021-04-15 12:11:30,692 ERROR executionlogs:128 - g-7dd5eec38ff57a273fcaa35f289a99ecc1be6901:2021-04-15 12:11:30,692 INFO [task-result-getter-3] scheduler.TaskSetManager (Logging.scala:logInfo(54)): Finished task 13.0 in stage 7.0 (TID 152) in 4660742 ms on 10.117.97.97 (executor 11) (14/14)

在这些日志中,您可以查看需要 77 分钟才能完成的单个任务。使用此信息,您可以查看需要很长时间完成该特定任务的原因。您可以通过使用 Apache Spark web UI 来实现。Spark UI 为不同阶段、任务和执行程序提供结构良好的信息。

启用 Spark UI

您可以使用 Spark UI 对长时间运行的 Spark 任务进行故障排除。通过启动 Spark 历史记录服务器并启用 Spark UI 日志,您可以获得有关阶段和任务的信息。您可以使用日志了解工件如何执行任务。您可以使用 AWS Glue 控制台或 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 启用 Spark UI。有关更多信息,请参阅启用用于 AWS Glue 任务的 Apache Spark Web UI

任务完成后,您可能会看到类似于以下内容的驱动程序日志:

ERROR executionlogs:128 - example-task-id:example-timeframe INFO [pool-2-thread-1] s3n.MultipartUploadOutputStream (MultipartUploadOutputStream.java:close(414)): close closed:false s3://dox-example-bucket/spark-application-1626828545941.inprogress

分析任务日志后,您可以在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上或使用 Docker 启动 Spark 历史记录服务器。打开 UI,然后导航到 Executor(执行程序)选项卡以检查特定执行程序是否运行了更长时间。若是如此,则任务分配不均和可用资源利用不足可能是数据集中的数据偏斜造成的。在 Stages(阶段)选项卡中,关于需要很长时间的阶段,您可以获得更多信息和统计数据。您可以找到有关这些阶段是否涉及昂贵且耗时的随机溢出的详细信息。

数据处理单元 (DPU) 的容量规划

如果所有执行程序的任务执行量相同,但任务仍然需要很长时间才能完成,那么您可以考虑在任务中增加更多工件以提高速度。DPU 容量规划可以帮助您避免以下情况:

  • 调配不足可能会导致执行时间减慢
  • 过度调配会导致更高的成本,但会在相同的时间内提供结果

从 CloudWatch 指标中,您可以获取有关当前使用的执行程序数以及所需的最大执行程序数的信息。所需的 DPU 数量取决于输入分区的数量以及请求的工件类型。

定义输入分区的数量时,请记住以下几点:

  • 如果 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 文件不可拆分,则分区数等于输入文件的数量。
  • 如果 Amazon S3 文件可拆分,且数据是非结构化/半结构化的,则分区数等于文件总大小/64 MB。如果各文件大小均小于 64 MB,则分区数等于文件数量。
  • 如果 Amazon S3 文件可拆分且数据结构化,则分区数等于文件总大小/128 MB。

执行以下操作来计算 DPU 的最佳数量:

例如,假设输入分区的数量为 428 个。然后,您可以通过以下公式计算 DPU 的最佳数量:

所需的最大执行程序数 = 输入分区数/每个执行程序的任务数 = 428/4 = 107

请记住以下内容:

  • 标准工件类型支持每个执行程序运行 4 个任务
  • G.1X 支持每个执行程序运行 8 个任务
  • G.2X 支持每个执行程序运行 16 个任务

标准工件类型在一个节点中有两个执行程序(包括一个驱动程序)。其中一个执行程序是 Spark 的驱动程序。因此,您需要 108 个执行程序。

所需的 DPU 数量 =(执行程序数量/各节点的执行程序数量)+ 1 个 DPU = (108/2) +1 = 55。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why is my AWS Glue ETL job running for a long time?

Last updated: 2021-08-20

My AWS Glue job is running for a long time.

-or-

My AWS Glue straggler task is taking a long time to complete.

Short description

Some common reasons why your AWS Glue jobs take a long time to complete are the following:

  • Large datasets
  • Non-uniform distribution of data in the datasets
  • Uneven distribution of tasks across the executors
  • Resource under-provisioning

Resolution

Enable metrics

AWS Glue provides Amazon CloudWatch metrics that can be used to provide information about the executors and the amount of done by each executor. You can enable CloudWatch metrics on your AWS Glue job by doing one of the following:

Using a special parameter: Add the following argument to your AWS Glue job. This parameter allows you to collect metrics for job profiling for your job run. These metrics are available on the AWS Glue console and the CloudWatch console.

Key: --enable-metrics

Using the AWS Glue console: To enable metrics on an existing job, do the following:

  1. Open the AWS Glue console.
  2. In the navigation pane, choose Jobs.
  3. Select the job that you want to enable metrics for.
  4. Choose Action, and then choose Edit job.
  5. Under Monitoring options, select Job metrics.
  6. Choose Save.

Using the API: Use the AWS Glue UpdateJob API with --enable-metrics as the DefaultArguments parameter to enable metrics on an existing job.

Note: AWS Glue 2.0 doesn't use YARN that reports metrics. This means that you can't get some of the executor metrics, such as numberMaxNeededExecutors and numberAllExecutor, for AWS Glue 2.0.

Enable continuous logging

If you enable continuous logging in your AWS Glue job, then the real-time driver and executor logs are pushed to CloudWatch every five seconds. With this real-time logging information, you can get more details on the running job. For more information, see Enabling continuous logging for AWS Glue jobs.

Check the driver and executor logs

In the driver logs, check for tasks that ran for a long time before they were completed. For example:

2021-04-15 10:53:54,484 ERROR executionlogs:128 - g-7dd5eec38ff57a273fcaa35f289a99ecc1be6901:2021-04-15 10:53:54,484 INFO [task-result-getter-1] scheduler.TaskSetManager (Logging.scala:logInfo(54)): Finished task 0.0 in stage 7.0 (TID 139) in 4538 ms on 10.117.101.76 (executor 10) (13/14)
...
2021-04-15 12:11:30,692 ERROR executionlogs:128 - g-7dd5eec38ff57a273fcaa35f289a99ecc1be6901:2021-04-15 12:11:30,692 INFO [task-result-getter-3] scheduler.TaskSetManager (Logging.scala:logInfo(54)): Finished task 13.0 in stage 7.0 (TID 152) in 4660742 ms on 10.117.97.97 (executor 11) (14/14)

In these logs, you can view that a single task took 77 minutes to complete. Use this information to review why that particular task is taking a long time. You can do so by using the Apache Spark web UI. The Spark UI provides well-structured information for different stages, tasks and executors.

Enable the Spark UI

You can use the Spark UI to troubleshoot Spark jobs that run for a long time. By launching the Spark history server and enabling the Spark UI logs, you can get information on the stages and tasks. You can use the logs to learn how the tasks are executed by the workers. You can enable Spark UI using the AWS Glue console or the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI). For more information, see Enabling the Apache Spark web UI for AWS Glue jobs.

After the job is complete, you might see driver logs similar to the following:

ERROR executionlogs:128 - example-task-id:example-timeframe INFO [pool-2-thread-1] s3n.MultipartUploadOutputStream (MultipartUploadOutputStream.java:close(414)): close closed:false s3://dox-example-bucket/spark-application-1626828545941.inprogress

After analyzing the logs for the job, you can launch the Spark history server either on an Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance or using Docker. Open the UI, and navigate to the Executor tab to check whether a particular executor is running for a longer time. If so, the uneven distribution of work and under-utilization of available resources could be caused due to a data skew in the dataset. In the Stages tab, you can get more information and statistics on the stages that took a long time. You can find details on whether these stages involved shuffle spills that are expensive and time-consuming.

Capacity planning for data processing units (DPUs)

If all executors contribute equally for the job, but the job still takes a long time to complete, then consider adding more workers to your job to improve the speed. DPU capacity planning can help you to avoid the following:

  • Under-provisioning that might result is slower execution time
  • Over-provisioning that incurs higher costs, but provides results in the same amount of time

From CloudWatch metrics, you can get information on the number of executors used currently and the maximum number of executors needed. The number of DPUs needed depends on the number of input partitions and the worker type requested.

Keep the following in mind when you define the number of input partitions:

  • If the Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) files aren't splittable, then the number of partitions is equal to the number of input files.
  • If the Amazon S3 files are splittable, and the data is unstructured/semi-structured, then the number of partitions is equal to the total file size / 64 MB. If the size of each file is less than 64 MB, then the number of partitions is equal to the number of files.
  • If the Amazon S3 files are splittable and the data is structured, then the number of partitions is equal to the total file size / 128 MB.

Do the following to calculate the optimal number of DPUs:

For example, suppose that the number of input partitions is 428. Then, you can calculate the optimal number of DPUs by the following formula:

Maximum number of executors needed = Number of input partitions / Number of tasks per executor = 428/4 = 107

Keep in mind the following:

  • The Standard worker type supports 4 tasks per executor
  • G.1X supports 8 tasks per executor
  • G.2X supports 16 tasks per executor

The standard worker type has two executors, including one driver, in one node. One of these executors is a driver in Spark. Therefore, you need 108 executors.

The number of DPUs needed = (No. of executors / No. of executors per node) + 1 DPU = (108/2) + 1 = 55.