为什么 Kinesis Data Streams 触发器无法调用我的 Lambda 函数?

上次更新日期:2020 年 8 月 21 日

我已集成 AWS Lambda 与 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 作为事件源来处理我的 Amazon Kinesis 数据流。但是,没有调用 Lambda 函数。为什么会出现这种情况,我该怎样解决呢?

简短描述

Lambda 函数错误通常由以下原因导致:

  • Lambda 函数的执行角色中的权限不足。
  • 无传入数据进入 Amazon Kinesis 数据流。
  • 重新创建 Kinesis 数据流、Lambda 函数或 Lambda 执行角色而引起的不活动事件源映射。
  • Lambda 函数超出执行限制,导致 Lambda 函数中出现超时错误。
  • Lambda 违反并发执行其限制。有关 Lambda 违反其限制的更多信息,请参阅 AWS Lambda 限制

如果存在 Lambda 函数错误,则不会调用您的函数,函数也不会处理批次中的记录。错误可能会导致 Lambda 函数尝试重新批量处理记录,直到处理成功或者批次过期。有关 Lambda 函数和 Kinesis 错误的更多信息,请参阅将 AWS Lambda 与 Amazon Kinesis 结合使用

解决方法

要确定未调用 Lambda 函数的原因,请执行以下步骤:

1.    检查 Amazon CloudWatch 中的调用指标,查看设置为总计的 Lambda 函数统计数据。调用指标可帮助您确认是否调用了 Lambda 函数。

2.    检查 IteratorAge 指标以查看批次中的最后一条记录有多早或者处理完成的时间。当您的 Lambda 使用器无法进行调用时,数据流的 iterator age 增加。

3.    检查 Lambda 函数的 CloudWatch logs,其名称采用 .../aws/lambda/function_name 格式。对照函数错误查找任何相应的条目。 例如,如果出错的原因是 Lambda 函数的执行角色权限,则修改策略以授予 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色正确的访问权限。

4.    确认您的 IAM 执行角色拥有正确的权限来访问 CloudWatch:

{
    "Version": "2012-10-17",
    "Statement": [
        {
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": [
                "logs:CreateLogGroup",
                "logs:CreateLogStream",
                "logs:PutLogEvents"
            ],
            "Resource": "*"
        }
    ]
}

5.    (可选)如果您遇到权限错误,则更新您的 Lambda 函数策略以授予它访问 Kinesis Data Streams 的权限:

{
    "Version": "2012-10-17",
    "Statement": [
        {,
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": [
                "kinesis:DescribeStream",
                "kinesis:DescribeStreamSummary",
                "kinesis:GetRecords",
                "kinesis:GetShardIterator",
                "kinesis:ListShards",
                "kinesis:ListStreams",
                "kinesis:SubscribeToShard",
                "logs:CreateLogGroup",
                "logs:CreateLogStream",
                "logs:PutLogEvents"
            ],
            "Resource": "*"
        }
    ]
}

注意:AWSLambdaKinesisExecutionRole 策略包含这些权限。

其他问题排查方法:

  • 如果错误与 Lambda 执行函数超时有关,则增加超时值以适应更快的处理。
  • 如果您的 Kinesis 数据流使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 加密,使用器和创建器必须拥有适当的访问权限。Kinesis 数据流必须能够访问用于加密和解密的 AWS KMS 密钥。Lambda 函数的执行角色还必须具有读取 KMS 密钥的访问权限才能成功地从 Kinesis 数据流读取数据。
  • 如果错误由内部 Lambda 函数错误导致,则此错误可指示流处理问题。为了避免控制平面 API 限制,应将每个流限制到 4 到 5 个事件源映射。
  • 如果错误由内部 Lambda 函数错误导致,则可指示流处理问题。将每个流限制到 4 到 5 个事件源映射,以避免过多的事件源映射使用相同数据流。多个事件源映射使用相同的流可能会造成违反 Kinesis 和 Amazon DynamoDB 控制平面限制。
  • 如果您收到连接超时错误,则在代码中执行的 API 调用前后添加日志记录语句。然后,您可以确定函数在哪一个确切的代码行开始失败。
  • 如果您遇到缓慢或停顿的分片,则配置事件源映射以重试较小的批处理大小。您也可以限制重试次数或丢弃较早的记录。
  • 如果您在 CloudWatch logs 中看到“已用内存”错误消息,请增大 Lambda 函数的内存。
  • 如果您超过了 Lambda 函数的最大超时,则修改客户端库和客户端超时。要根据 Lambda 容器中的剩余时间修改超时会话,请使用 context.GetRemainingTimeInMillis 函数。context.GetRemainingTimeInMillis 函数返回发生超时前 Lambda 容器中剩余的时间量。
  • 如果您收到来自 Lambda 函数代码的错误,则您的 Lambda 函数可能卡在尝试相同记录的步骤。使用 try-catch 块获取失败的数据,然后使用 Amazon SQS 队列或 Amazon SNS 主题记录它。您还可以向包含单独重试失败请求的处理逻辑的 Amazon SQS 队列中添加一个 Lambda 触发器。
  • 设置 Amazon SQS 死信队列 (DLQ) 以手动调用 Lambda 函数。当您创建或更新您的 Lambda 函数时配置 DeadLetterConfig 属性。您可以提供 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 队列或 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 主题作为您的 DLQ 的 TargetArn 。然后,Lambda 将写入事件对象,在标准重试策略用尽后将 Lambda 函数调用到指定的终端节点。
  • 结合使用 AWS Lambda 与 AWS X-Ray 来检测、分析和优化 Lambda 应用程序的性能问题。AWS X-Ray 从 Lambda 服务收集元数据,并生成图表来描绘影响 Lambda 应用程序性能的问题。例如,如果有一个调用的执行时间很长,则可以使用 AWS X-Ray 确认该问题。

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why is Kinesis Data Streams trigger unable to invoke my Lambda function?

Last updated: 2020-06-30

I've integrated AWS Lambda with Amazon Kinesis Data Streams as an event source to process my Amazon Kinesis data stream. However, the Lambda function is not being invoked. Why is this happening and how do I resolve this?

Short description

Lambda function errors are often caused by the following:

  • Insufficient permissions in the Lambda function's execution role.
  • No incoming data into the Kinesis data stream.
  • Inactive event source mapping caused by the recreation of a Kinesis data stream, Lambda function, or Lambda execution role.
  • A Lambda function that exceeds the execution limit, causing a timeout error in the Lambda function.
  • Lambda breaches its limits of concurrent executions. For more information about Lambda breaching its limits, see AWS Lambda limits.

If there is a Lambda function error, your function is not invoked, nor does it process records from the batch. An error can cause Lambda to retry the batch of records until the processing succeeds or the batch expires. For more information about Lambda function and Kinesis errors, see Using AWS Lambda with Amazon Kinesis.

Resolution

To identify why your Lambda function is not invoked, perform the following steps:

1.    Check the Invocations metric in Amazon CloudWatch with statistics set as Sum for the Lambda function. The Invocations metric can help you verify whether the Lambda function is invoked.

2.    Check the IteratorAge metric to see how old the last record in the batch was or when the processing completed. When your Lambda consumer is unable to invoke, the iterator age of your stream increases.

3.    Check the Lambda function's CloudWatch logs, which are named in the .../aws/lambda/<function name> format. Look for any corresponding entries against the function error. For example, if the error occurs because of Lambda's execution role permissions, then modify the policy to grant proper access to the AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role.

4.    Confirm that your IAM execution role has the proper permissions to access CloudWatch:

{
    "Version": "2012-10-17",
    "Statement": [
        {
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": [
                "logs:CreateLogGroup",
                "logs:CreateLogStream",
                "logs:PutLogEvents"
            ],
            "Resource": "*"
        }
    ]
}

5.    (Optional) If you experience a permissions error, then update your Lambda function policy to grant it access to Kinesis Data Streams:

{
    "Version": "2012-10-17",
    "Statement": [
        {
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": [
                "kinesis:DescribeStream",
                "kinesis:DescribeStreamSummary",
                "kinesis:GetRecords",
                "kinesis:GetShardIterator",
                "kinesis:ListShards",
                "kinesis:ListStreams",
                "kinesis:SubscribeToShard",
                "logs:CreateLogGroup",
                "logs:CreateLogStream",
                "logs:PutLogEvents"
            ],
            "Resource": "*"
        }
    ]
}

Note: The AWSLambdaKinesisExecutionRole policy includes these permissions.

Additional troubleshooting:

  • If the error is related to a Lambda execution function timeout, increase the timeout value to accommodate faster processing.
  • If your Kinesis data stream is encrypted using AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS), the consumer and producer must have proper access. The Kinesis data stream must be able to access the AWS KMS keys that are used for encryption and decryption. The Lambda function's execution role must also have read access to the KMS key to successfully read data from the Kinesis data stream.
  • If the error is caused by an internal Lambda function error, then this error indicates an issue with stream processing. To avoid control plane API throttling, restrict each stream to 4 to 5 event source mappings.
  • If the error is caused by an internal Lambda function error, then it indicates an issue with stream processing. Restrict each stream to 4 to 5 event source mappings to avoid too many event source mappings with the same data stream. Multiple event source mappings with the same stream can result in a breach of Kinesis and Amazon DynamoDB control plane limits.
  • If you are getting a connection timeout error, then add logging statements before and after the API calls made in your code. You can then identify the exact line of code where the function begins to fail.
  • If you are experiencing slow or stalled shards, then configure the event source mapping to retry with a smaller batch size. You can also limit the number of retries or discard older records.
  • If you see a "memory used" error message in your CloudWatch logs, then increase the memory of your Lambda function.
  • If you exceeded the maximum timeout for your Lambda function, then modify the client library and client timeouts. To modify the timeout session based on the remaining time in the Lambda container, use the context.GetRemainingTimeInMillis function. The context.GetRemainingTimeInMillis function returns the amount of time left in the Lambda container before it times out.
  • If you receive errors from the Lambda function's code, then your Lambda function might get stuck trying the same record. Use a try-catch block to catch the failed data, and then record it using an Amazon SQS queue or Amazon SNS topic. You can also add a Lambda trigger to the Amazon SQS queue with the processing logic to retry the failed requests separately.
  • Set up an Amazon SQS dead-letter queue (DLQ) to manually invoke the Lambda function. Configure the DeadLetterConfig property when you create or update your Lambda function. You can provide an Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) queue or an Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) topic as the TargetArn for your DLQ. Lambda then writes the event object, invoking the Lambda function to the specified endpoint after the standard retry policy is exhausted.
  • Use AWS Lambda with AWS X-Ray to detect, analyze, and optimize performance issues with Lambda applications. AWS X-Ray collects metadata from the Lambda service and generates graphs that depict issues impacting the performance of Lambda application. For example, if there is a call that is taking a long time to execute, then you can use AWS X-Ray to confirm the issue.

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?