如何更改 Kinesis Data Streams 中打开的分片数?

上次更新时间:2020 年 6 月 5 日

我尝试更改 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 中打开的分片数。如何执行此操作?重新分片之后,我该怎么做?

简短描述

分片可能会处于“打开”、“已关闭”或“已过期”状态。您可以向处于“打开”状态的分片添加数据记录,还可以检索该分片中的数据记录。

要更改 Kinesis Data Streams 中打开的分片数,请执行以下任意一种操作:

  1. 更新分片总数。此操作将会更改流中的分片数量。
  2. 拆分单个分片。
  3. 将两个分片合并为一个分片。

注意:如果您更改了 Amazon Kinesis 数据流中打开的分片数量,请注意这将对父分片和哈希键范围值产生的影响。

解决方法

更新分片总数

您可以通过 Kinesis 控制台 或 API 操作来更新打开的分片数。如果您使用 AWS 管理控制台,Data Streams 将会使用 UpdateShardCount API 重新为您的流分片。

  • 此 API 操作会将指定流的分片数更新为指定的分片数(通过在后台拆分或合并独立的分片)。这是一个流级别的 API 调用。
  • 它仅支持均匀扩展,将会创建哈希键范围百分比相同的分片。
  • UpdateShardCount 操作会将分片数量重新调整为大小相同的特定目标值。

拆分单个分区

如果您遇到“冷”分片或“热”分片的问题,则可以考虑将一个分片拆分为两个分片。

注意:您只能通过 API 操作拆分或合并分片。

收到的数据量超过预期的分片称为“热”分片。这时,您可以使用 SplitShard API 选择性地拆分热分片,从而增加针对这些分片的哈希键容量。有关管理热分片的更多信息,请参阅重新分片策略

您还可以利用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 服务。启用分片级别的指标,从而通过 CloudWatch 指标来确定“冷”分片或“热”分片,例如启用 IncomingRecordsIncomingBytes 指标。

将两个分片合并为一个分片

如果您遇到“热”分片或“冷”分片的问题,则可以考虑将两个分片合并为一个分片。

注意:您只能通过 API 操作拆分或合并分片。

收到的数据量低于预期的分片称为“冷”分片。这时,您可以使用 MergeShards API 来合并冷分片以利用其全部容量。这是一个分片级别的 API 调用。请注意,您只能合并两个相邻的分片,其哈希键范围合并后将构成一个无任何间隙的连续集。

您还可以利用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 服务。启用分片级别的指标,从而通过 CloudWatch 指标来确定“冷”分片或“热”分片,例如启用 IncomingRecordsIncomingBytes 指标。

其他注意事项

执行重新分片操作的分片或分片对称为父分片。执行重新分片操作后创建的分片称为子分片。父分片的状态也将从“打开”过渡到“已关闭”(并且在流的保留期到期后最终过渡到“已过期”)。这可能导致将子分片置于“打开”状态。有关父分片过渡的更多信息,请参阅分片之后的数据路由、数据保留和分片状态

重新分片后,您还应继续从“已关闭”的分片读取数据,直至用尽所有这些分片为止。这有利于保留使用者应用程序读取数据的顺序。用尽所有“已关闭”的分片后,您可以开始从打开的子分片中读取数据。Amazon Kinesis 客户端库 (KCL) 专为支持重新分片操作而设计。重新分片前已经存在于分片中的数据将会首先处理。有关重新分片操作的更多信息,请参阅重新分片、扩展和并行处理

如果您更改了打开的分片数,这还可能会导致一些(或全部)分片的哈希键范围发生变化。哈希键范围是一个分片的可能哈希键值的范围。它是一组有序的连续正整数,由开始和结束键值组成。例如,假设您创建了一个具有五个打开的分片的 Kinesis 数据流,则该哈希键范围将用 20% 等分。因此所有分片的哈希键值都为 20%。

如果您在该 Kinesis 数据流上执行重新分片操作,在该哈希键范围将在子分片按以下方式划分:

  • 使用控制台或 UpdateShardCount API:如果您将打开的分片数从 5 改为 10,则生成的子分片现在的哈希键空间为 10%。哈希键范围在所有打开的分片之间等分,值为 10%。
  • 使用 SplitShard API:将最后一个分片(分片 5)拆分为两个分片(分片 6 和分片 7)。在拆分分片前,父分片(分片 5)的哈希键空间为 20%。拆分之后,生成的子分片(分片 6 和分片 7)现在的哈希键空间为 10%。父分片的哈希键范围在两个子分片之间等分,值为 10%。因此,哈希键空间的组成为 20%-20%-20%-20%-10%-10%。 
  • 使用 MergeShards API:将最后两个分片(分片 4 和分片 5)合并为一个分片(分片 6)。父分片(分片 4 和分片 5)的哈希键空间为 20%。合并之后,生成的子分片(分片 6)现在的哈希键空间为 40%。父分片的哈希键范围在两个子分片之间相加,等于 40%。因此,哈希键空间的组成为 20%-20%-20%-40%。

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How do I change the number of open shards in Kinesis Data Streams?

Last updated: 2020-06-05

I'm trying to change the number of open shards in Amazon Kinesis Data Streams. How can I do that and what do I do after resharding?

Short Description

A shard can be in an OPEN, CLOSED, or EXPIRED state. When a shard is in the OPEN state, you can add and retrieve data records from the shard.

To change the number of open shards in Kinesis Data Streams, do one of the following:

  1. Update the number of total shards. This changes the number of shards in the stream.
  2. Split a single shard.
  3. Merge two shards into one shard.

Note: If you change the number of open shards in your Amazon Kinesis data stream, consider its impact on parent shards and hash key range values.

Resolution

Update the number of total shards

You can update the number of open shards using the Kinesis console or API operations. When you use the AWS Management Console, Data Streams reshards your stream by using the UpdateShardCount API.

  • This API operation updates the shard count of the specified stream to the specified number of shards (by splitting or merging the individual shards in the background). It is a stream-level API call.
  • It only supports uniform scaling, which creates shards of equal percentage for the hash key range.
  • The UpdateShardCount operation readjusts the number of shards to a specific target value that is of equal sizes.

Split a single shard

Consider splitting a shard into two shards if you encounter a "hot" or "cold" shard.

Note: You can only split or merge shards through API operations.

Shards that receive more data than expected are known as “hot” shards. You can then selectively split the hot shards by using the SplitShard API to increase capacity for the hash keys that target those shards. For more information about managing hot shards, see Strategies for resharding.

You can also monitor the Amazon Kinesis Data Streams Service with Amazon CloudWatch. Use CloudWatch metrics to determine "hot" or "cold" shards by enabling shard-level metrics, such as IncomingRecords and IncomingBytes.

Merge two shards into one shard

Consider merging two shards into one if you encounter a "hot" or "cold" shard.

Note: You can only split or merge shards through API operations.

Shards that receive much less data than expected are known as “cold” shards. You can then merge cold shards by using MergeShards API to use their full capacity. This is a shard-level API call. Note that you can only merge two adjacent shards, where the union of their hash key ranges forms a contiguous set without any gaps.

You can also monitor the Amazon Kinesis Data Streams Service with Amazon CloudWatch. Use CloudWatch metrics to determine "hot" or "cold" shards by enabling shard-level metrics, such as IncomingRecords and IncomingBytes.

Additional considerations

The shard or pair of shards that the resharding operation acts on are known as parent shards. The shards that are created after the resharding operation are known as child shards. A parent shard also transitions from an OPEN state to a CLOSED state (and eventually, to an EXPIRED state, after the stream’s retention period). This can result in child shards being assigned an OPEN state. For more information about the parent shard transitions, see Data routing, data persistence, and shard state after a reshard.

After resharding, you should also continue to read data from the CLOSED shards until they are exhausted. This helps to preserve the order of the data read by the consumer applications. After you have exhausted all of the CLOSED shards, you can begin to read data from open child shards. The Amazon Kinesis client library (KCL) is designed to adapt to resharding operations. Any data that existed in the shards before resharding is processed first. For more information about resharding operations, see Resharding, scaling, and parallel processing.

If you change the number of open shards, it can also result in changes to the hash key ranges for some (or all) shards. A hash key range is the range of possible hash key values for a shard. It is a set of ordered contiguous positive integers. The range consists of starting and ending key values. For example, if you create a Kinesis data stream with five open shards, then the hash key range is divided equally by 20%. Therefore, all the shards have 20% as the hash keyspace value.

If you perform resharding operations on the Kinesis data stream, the hash key range is divided among the child shards like this:

  • Using the console or UpdateShardCount API: If you change the number of open shards from 5 to 10, then the resulting child shards now have a hash keyspace of 10%. The hash key range is divided equally into all of the open shards with a value of 10%.
  • Using SplitShard API: Split the last shard (Shard-5) into two shards (Shard-6 and Shard-7). Before splitting a shard, the parent shard (Shard-5) had a hash keyspace of 20%. After splitting, the resultant child shards (Shard-6 and Shard-7) now have a hash keyspace of 10%. The hash key range for the parent shards is divided equally into both of the child shards with a value of 10%. Therefore, the hash keyspace is split 20%-20%-20%-20%-10%-10%. 
  • Using MergeShards API: Merge the last two shards (Shard-4 and Shard-5) into one shard (Shard-6). The parent shards (Shard-4 and Shard-5) have a hash keyspace of 20%. After merging, the resulting child shard (Shard-6) now has a hash keyspace of 40%. The hash key range of the parent shards is added to both of the child shards to equal 40%. Therefore, the hash keyspace is split 20%-20%-20%-40%.

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?