为什么我的 Amazon OpenSearch Service 集群处于红色或黄色状态?

上次更新日期:2021 年 7 月 30 日

我的 Amazon OpenSearch Service(Amazon Elasticsearch Service 的后继者)集群处于红色或黄色状态。为什么会发生这种情况?

简短描述

OpenSearch Service 控制台中的监控选项卡用于显示集群中运行状况最差的索引的状态。显示红色状态的集群状态并不意味着您的集群出现了故障。而是表示至少有一个主分区及其副本未分配给节点。如果您的集群状态显示黄色状态,则表示已将所有索引的主分区分配给集群中的节点。但是,至少一个索引的副本分区不会分配给任何节点。

注意:在您首次解决红色集群状态之前,请勿重新配置域。如果您尝试在域处于红色集群状态时重新配置该域,则它可能会卡在“正在处理”状态。有关集群卡在“正在处理”状态的更多信息,请参阅我的 Amazon OpenSearch Service 域为什么卡在“正在处理”状态?

您的集群也可能因以下原因而进入红色状态:

  • 数据节点故障
  • 为索引使用损坏的或红色的分区
  • 高 JVM 内存压力或 CPU 利用率
  • 磁盘空间不足或磁盘偏斜

注意:在某些情况下,您可以通过删除然后从自动快照中恢复索引来解决红色集群状态。

您的集群也可能因以下原因而进入黄色运行状态:

  • 创建新索引
  • 没有足够的节点分配给分区或磁盘偏斜
  • 高 JVM 内存压力
  • 单节点故障
  • 已超过分区分配重试的最大次数

注意:如果您的黄色集群状态无法自行解决,则可以通过更新索引设置或手动重新路由未分配的分区来解决状态。如果您的黄色集群状态无法自行解决,请确定并排查根本原因。要防止出现黄色集群状态,请应用集群运行状态最佳实践

解决方法

确定未分配分区的原因

要识别未分配的分区,请执行以下步骤:

1.    列出未分配的分区:

$ curl -XGET 'domain-endpoint/_cat/shards?h=index,shard,prirep,state,unassigned.reason' | grep UNASSIGNED

2.    检索为什么未分配分区的详细信息:

$ curl -XGET 'domain-endpoint/_cluster/allocation/explain?pretty' -H 'Content-Type:application/json' -d'{"index": "<index name>", "shard": <shardId>, "primary":<true or false>}'

3.    (可选)对于红色集群状态,删除所关注的索引,然后确定并解决根本原因:

curl -XDELETE 'domain-endpoint/<index names>'

然后,确定可用的快照并从快照还原索引

curl -XGET 'domain-endpoint/_snapshot?pretty'

对于黄色集群状态,请解决根本原因,以便分配分区。

排查红色或黄色集群状态

没有足够的节点分配给分区

副本分区不会被分配给与其主分区相同的节点。具有副本分区的单节点集群始终以黄色集群状态进行初始化。以这种方式初始化单节点集群,因为 OpenSearch Service 没有其他可用节点可以分配副本。

此外,OpenSearch Service 版本 7.x 及更高版本的默认限制为“1000”个 cluster.max_shards_per_node 设置。最佳实践是将 cluster.max_shards_per_node 设置保持为默认值“1000”。如果您设置了分区分配筛选条件以控制 OpenSearch Service 如何分配分区,可能会因为没有足够的已筛选节点而未能分配分区。为了防止出现此节点短缺情况,请增加节点计数。确保每个主分区的副本数少于数据节点的数量。您还可以减少副本分区的数量。有关详细信息,请参阅调整 OpenSearch Service 域的大小揭秘 OpenSearch Service 分区分配

磁盘空间不足或磁盘偏斜

如果磁盘空间不足,集群可能会进入红色或黄色运行状况。在 OpenSearch Service 分发分区之前,必须有足够的磁盘空间来容纳分区。

要查看集群中各个节点的可用存储空间大小,请使用以下语法:

$ curl domain-endpoint/_cat/allocation?v

有关存储空间问题的详细信息,请参阅如何解决我的 Amazon OpenSearch Service 域中存储空间不足的问题?

磁盘偏斜严重也可能导致某些数据节点存储空间不足的问题。如果您决定重新分配任何分区,则可能会在分区分配期间取消分区分配进程。要解决此问题,请参阅如何重新平衡我的 Amazon OpenSearch Service 集群中的不均匀分区分配?

基于磁盘的分区分配设置还可能导致出现未分配的分区。例如,如果 cluster.routing.allocation.disk.watermark.low 指标设置为 50GB,那么指定的磁盘空间必须可用于分区分配。

要检查当前基于磁盘的分区分配设置,请使用以下语法:

$ curl -XGET domain-endpoint/_cluster/settings?include_defaults=true&flat_settings=true

要解决磁盘空间问题,请考虑以下方法:

  • 删除任何不需要的索引。
  • 纵向扩展 EBS 卷。
  • 添加更多数据节点。

高 JVM 内存压力

每个分区分配都使用 CPU、堆空间以及磁盘和网络资源。持续高水平的 JVM 内存压力可能会导致分区分配失败。例如,如果 JVM 内存压力超过 95%,则将触发内存父断路器。然后,分配线程将被取消,使分区处于未分配状态。

要解决此问题,请首先降低 JVM 内存压力级别。在 JVM 内存压力降低后,请考虑以下附加提示,以使集群恢复到绿色运行状态:

  • 将默认分区重试值从“5”或更高值增加。
  • 禁用并启用副本分区。
  • 手动重试未分配的分区。

有关降低 JVM 内存压力的更多信息,请参阅如何排查 Amazon OpenSearch Service 集群的高 JVM 内存压力问题?

节点故障

当集群遇到节点故障时,分配给节点的分区将变为未分配状态。当给定索引没有可用的副本分区时,即使单个节点故障也可能导致红色的运行状态。拥有两个副本分区和多可用区部署可以保护您的集群,以免在硬件故障期间出现数据丢失情况。

如果您的所有索引都有副本分区,则单节点故障可能会导致集群暂时进入黄色运行状况。如果您的集群暂时进入黄色运行状况,则只要节点再次运行正常,OpenSearch Service 将自动恢复。或者,当分区分配给新节点时,OpenSearch Service 将恢复。

您可以通过检查 Amazon CloudWatch 指标来确认是否存在任何节点故障。有关识别节点故障的更多信息,请参阅集群节点失败

注意:这也是为每个索引分配一个副本分区或者使用专用主节点并启用区域感知的最佳实践。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的处理故障

已超过最大重试次数

在 OpenSearch Service 中,您的集群不得超过分区分配的最大时间限制 (5000 ms) 或重试次数 (5)。如果您的集群已达到最大阈值,则必须手动触发分区分配。要手动触发分区分配,请禁用然后重新启用索引的副本分区。

集群上的配置变更也可能触发分区分配。但是,当集群处于红色运行状态时,请避免对集群执行任何配置更改。有关分区分配的更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的每个分区都需要有个家

注意:如果集群的工作负载繁重,则手动触发分区分配不是最佳实践。如果从索引中删除所有副本,索引必须且仅能依赖于主分区。当节点发生故障时,您的集群会进入红色运行状态,因为主分区为未分配状态。

要禁用副本分区,请将 number_of_replicas 值更新为“0”:

$ curl -XPUT 'domain-endpoint/<indexname>/_settings' -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d'
{
  "index" : {
    "number_of_replicas" : 0
  }
}'

另外,请检查以确保 number_of_replicas 设置被设置为“false”。当集群恢复到绿色运行状况时,您可以将 index.number_of_replicas 值设置回到所需的值,以触发副本分区的分配。如果分区分配成功,您的集群将进入绿色运行状况。

集群运行状况最佳实践

要解决黄色或红色集群状态,请考虑以下最佳实践:

  • AutomatedSnapshotFailure 设置推荐的 Amazon CloudWatch 警报。通过此警报,您可以确保自己有一个可用的快照,以在集群进入红色状态时恢复索引。
  • 如果您的集群处于持续繁重的工作负载之下,请扩展集群。有关扩展集群的更多信息,请参阅如何纵向扩展 Amazon OpenSearch Service 域?
  • 监控磁盘使用情况、JVM 内存压力和 CPU 使用情况,并确保它们未超过设定的阈值。有关更多信息,请参阅推荐的 CloudWatch 警报集群指标
  • 确保所有主分区都具有副本分区,以防止任何节点故障。

有关 OpenSearch Service 最佳实践的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon OpenSearch Service 最佳实践


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why is my Amazon OpenSearch Service cluster in red or yellow status?

Last updated: 2021-07-30

My Amazon OpenSearch Service (successor to Amazon Elasticsearch Service) cluster is in red or yellow cluster status. Why is this happening?

Short description

The Monitoring tab in your OpenSearch Service console indicates the status of the least healthy index in your cluster. A cluster status that shows red status doesn't mean that your cluster is down. Rather, this status indicates that at least one primary shard and its replicas aren't allocated to a node. If your cluster status shows yellow status, then the primary shards for all indices are allocated to nodes in your cluster. However, the replica shards for at least one index aren't allocated to any of the nodes.

Note: Don't reconfigure your domain until you first resolve the red cluster status. If you try to reconfigure your domain when it is in red cluster status, it could get stuck in a "Processing" state. For more information about clusters stuck in a "Processing" state, see Why is my Amazon OpenSearch Service domain stuck in the "Processing" state?

Your cluster can enter red status for the following reasons:

  • Multiple data node failures
  • Using a corrupt or red shard for an index
  • High JVM memory pressure or CPU utilization
  • Low disk space or disk skew

Note: In some cases, you might be able to resolve your red cluster status by deleting and then restoring the index from an automated snapshot.

Your cluster can enter yellow health status for the following reasons:

  • Creation of a new index
  • Not enough nodes to allocate to the shards or disk skew
  • High JVM memory pressure
  • Single node failure
  • Exceeded the maximum number of shard allocation retries

Note: If your yellow cluster status doesn't resolve itself, you can resolve the status by updating the index settings or by manually rerouting the unassigned shards. If your yellow cluster status doesn't self-resolve, then identify and troubleshoot the root cause. To prevent yellow cluster status, apply the Cluster health best practices.

Resolution

Identifying the reason for your unassigned shards

To identify the unassigned shards, perform the following steps:

1.    List the unassigned shard:

$ curl -XGET 'domain-endpoint/_cat/shards?h=index,shard,prirep,state,unassigned.reason' | grep UNASSIGNED

2.    Retrieve the details for why the shard is unassigned:

$ curl -XGET 'domain-endpoint/_cluster/allocation/explain?pretty' -H 'Content-Type:application/json' -d'{"index": "<index name>", "shard": <shardId>, "primary":<true or false>}'

3.    (Optional) For red cluster status, delete the indices of concern and identify and address the root cause:

curl -XDELETE 'domain-endpoint/<index names>'

Then, identify the available snapshots and restore your indices from a snapshot:

curl -XGET 'domain-endpoint/_snapshot?pretty'

For yellow cluster status, address the root cause so that your shards are assigned.

Troubleshooting your red or yellow cluster status

Not enough nodes to allocate to the shards

A replica shard will not be assigned to the same node as its primary shard. A single node cluster with replica shards always initializes with yellow cluster status. Single node clusters are initialized this way because there are no other available nodes to which OpenSearch Service can assign a replica.

There is also a default limit of "1,000" for the cluster.max_shards_per_node setting for OpenSearch Service versions 7.x and later. It's a best practice to keep the cluster.max_shards_per_node setting to the default value of "1000". If you set shard allocation filters to control how OpenSearch Service allocates shards, the shard can become unassigned from not having enough filtered nodes. To prevent this node shortage, increase your node count. Make sure the number of replicas for every primary shard is less than the number of data nodes. You can also reduce the number of replica shards. For more information, see Sizing OpenSearch Service domains and Demystifying OpenSearch Service shard allocation.

Low disk space or disk skew

If there isn't enough disk space, your cluster can enter red or yellow health status. There must be enough disk space to accommodate shards before OpenSearch Service distributes the shards.

To check how much storage space is available for each node in your cluster, use the following syntax:

$ curl domain-endpoint/_cat/allocation?v

For more information about storage space issues, see How do I troubleshoot low storage space in my Amazon OpenSearch Service domain?

Heavy disk skew can also lead to low storage space issue for some data nodes. If you decide to re-allocate any shards, the shards can become unassigned during the shard distribution. To resolve this issue, see How do I rebalance the uneven shard distribution in my Amazon OpenSearch Service cluster?

The disk-based shard allocation settings can also lead to unassigned shards. For example, if the cluster.routing.allocation.disk.watermark.low metric is set to 50 GB, then the specified amount of disk space must be available for shard allocation.

To check the current disk-based shard allocation settings, use the following syntax:

$ curl -XGET domain-endpoint/_cluster/settings?include_defaults=true&flat_settings=true

To resolve your disk space issues, consider the following approaches:

  • Delete any unwanted indices.
  • Scale up the EBS volume.
  • Add more data nodes.

High JVM memory pressure

Every shard allocation uses CPU, heap space, and disk and network resources. Consistently high levels of JVM memory pressure could lead to a failed shard allocation. For example, if JVM memory pressure exceeds 95%, a memory parent circuit breaker will be triggered. The allocation thread then gets cancelled, leaving shards unassigned.

To resolve this issue, reduce the JVM memory pressure level first. After your JVM memory pressure has been reduced, consider these additional tips to bring your cluster back to green health status:

  • Increase the default shard retry value from "5" or higher.
  • Disable and enable the replica shard.
  • Manually retry the unassigned shards.

For more information about reducing your JVM memory pressure, see How do I troubleshoot high JVM memory pressure on my Amazon OpenSearch Service cluster?

Node failure

When your cluster experiences a node failure, shards that are allocated to a node to become unassigned. When there are no replica shards available for a given index, even a single node failure can cause red health status. Having two replica shards and a Multi-AZ deployment protects your cluster against data loss during a hardware failure.

If all your indices have a replica shard, a single node failure can cause your cluster to temporarily enter yellow health status. If your cluster temporarily enters yellow health status, then OpenSearch Service will recover automatically as soon as the node is healthy again. Or, OpenSearch Service will recover when shards are assigned to a new node.

You can confirm any node failures by checking your Amazon CloudWatch metrics. For more information about identifying a node failure, see Failed cluster nodes.

Note: It's also a best practice to assign one replica shard for each index or to use dedicated master nodes and enable zone awareness. For more information, see Coping with failure on the Elasticsearch website.

Exceeded the maximum number of retries

In OpenSearch Service, your cluster must not exceed the maximum time limit (5,000 ms) or the number of retries (5) for shard allocation. If your cluster has reached the maximum thresholds, you must manually trigger a shard allocation. To manually trigger a shard allocation, disable and re-enable the replica shards for your indices.

A configuration change on your cluster can also trigger shard allocation. However, avoid making any configuration changes to your cluster when it is in red health status. For more information about shard allocation, see Every shard deserves a home on the Elasticsearch website.

Note: It's not a best practice to manually trigger shard allocation if your cluster has a heavy workload. If you remove all your replicas from an index, the index must rely only on primary shards. When a node fails, your cluster then enters red health status because primary shards are left unassigned.

To disable a replica shard, update the number_of_replicas value to "0":

$ curl -XPUT 'domain-endpoint/<indexname>/_settings' -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d'
{
  "index" : {
    "number_of_replicas" : 0
  }
}'

Also, check to make sure the index.auto_expand_replicas setting is set to "false". When your cluster returns to green health status, you can set the index.number_of_replicas value back to the desired value to trigger allocation for replica shards. If the shard allocation is successful, your cluster will enter green health status.

Cluster health best practices

To resolve your yellow or red cluster status, consider the following best practices:

For more information about OpenSearch Service best practices, see Amazon OpenSearch Service best practices.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?