如何将 Amazon RDS 数据库实例的自动快照保留更长时间?

上次更新日期:2021 年 11 月 3 日

我希望将 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 数据库实例的自动快照保留更长时间。

解决方法

Amazon RDS 会在数据库实例的备份时段中创建和保存数据库实例的自动快照。自动快照将根据您为实例指定的备份保留期进行保存。

激活自动备份

您可以通过将备份保留期设置为正值、非零值来激活自动备份。要激活自动快照并设置备份保留期,请参阅启用自动备份。您可以将备份保留期设置为 1 到 35 天。当前自动快照的最长保留期为 35 天。为数据库实例打开自动备份功能时,Amazon RDS 将自动对数据执行全天快照,并捕获事务日志。启动时间点恢复时,事务日志将应用到最合适的每日备份,以便将数据库实例还原到您请求的特定时间。

复制自动备份

要将特定自动快照保留超过 35 天,您可以复制快照。复制的副本将存储为手动快照。您可以根据需要决定此手动快照的保留时间。手动快照与自动备份不同,它不受备份保留期的约束。手动快照不会过期。

注意:若要长期备份 RDS for MariaDB、RDS for MySQL 和 RDS for PostgreSQL 数据,最佳实践是将快照数据导出到 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)。如果您的数据库引擎的主要版本不再受支持,则无法从快照还原到该版本。有关更多信息,请参阅将数据库快照数据导出到 Amazon S3

创建手动快照

您还可以选择创建数据库实例的手动快照,以将数据保留更长时间。有关更多信息,请参阅创建数据库快照


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I retain the automated snapshots of my Amazon RDS DB instance for a longer period?

Last updated: 2021-11-03

I want to retain the automated snapshots of my Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) DB instances for a longer period.

Resolution

Amazon RDS creates and saves the automated snapshots of your DB instance during the backup window of your DB instance. The automated snapshots are saved according to the backup retention period that you specify for the instance.

Activating automated backups

You can activate automated backups by setting the backup retention period to a positive, non-zero value. To activate automated snapshots and set the backup retention period, see Enabling automated backups. You can set the backup retention period from 1 to 35 days. The maximum retention period currently available for automated snapshots is 35 days. When automated backups are turned on for your DB Instance, Amazon RDS automatically performs a full, daily snapshot of your data and captures transaction logs. When you initiate a point-in-time recovery, transaction logs are applied to the most appropriate daily backup to restore your DB instance to the specific time that you request.

Copying the automated backup

To retain a particular automated snapshot for longer than 35 days, you can copy the snapshot. The copy is stored as a manual snapshot. You can retain this manual snapshot for as long as you need. Unlike automated backups, manual snapshots aren't subject to the backup retention period. Manual snapshots don't expire.

Note: For very long-term backups of RDS for MariaDB, RDS for MySQL, and RDS for PostgreSQL data, it's a best practice to export the snapshot data to Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). If the major version of your DB engine is no longer supported, then you can't restore to that version from a snapshot. For more information, see Exporting DB snapshot data to Amazon S3.

Creating a manual snapshot

You can also choose to create a manual snapshot of your DB instance to retain the data for a longer period of time. For more information, see Creating a DB snapshot.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?