如何排查 Amazon RDS for MySQL 的高副本滞后问题?

上次更新时间:2020 年 6 月 18 日

在使用 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL 时,如何查明副本滞后的原因?

简短描述

Amazon RDS for MySQL 使用异步复制,因此副本有时无法与主数据库实例保持同步。这可能会导致复制滞后。

使用 Amazon RDS for MySQL 只读副本和基于二进制日志文件位置的复制时,您可以通过查看 Amazon RDS ReplicaLag 指标来监控 Amazon CloudWatch 中的副复制滞后。ReplicaLag 指标可报告 SHOW SLAVE STATUS 命令的 Seconds_Behind_Master 字段的值。

Seconds_Behind_Master 针对副本数据库实例所处理的事件,显示副本数据库实例上的当前时间戳与主数据库实例上记录的原始时间戳之间的差异。

MySQL 复制适用于三个线程:Binlog Dump 线程、IO_THREADSQL_THREAD。有关这些线程具体工作方式的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档的复制实施细节。如果复制中存在延迟,请先确定滞后是由副本 IO_THREAD 还是副本 SQL_THREAD 引起的。然后,您可以确定滞后的根本原因。

解决方法

要确定哪个复制线程发生了滞后,请参阅以下示例:

1.    在主数据库实例上运行 MASTER STATUS 命令,然后查看输出:

mysql> SHOW MASTER STATUS;
+----------------------------+----------+--------------+------------------+-------------------+
| File                       | Position | Binlog_Do_DB | Binlog_Ignore_DB | Executed_Gtid_Set |
+----------------------------+----------+--------------+------------------+-------------------+
| mysql-bin-changelog.066552|      521 |              |                  |                   |
+----------------------------+----------+--------------+------------------+-------------------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

注意:在示例输出中,主数据库实例将二进制日志写入到文件 mysql-bin.066552

2.    在副本数据库实例上运行 SHOW SLAVE STATUS 命令并查看输出:

示例输出 A:

mysql> SHOW SLAVE STATUS\G;
*************************** 1. row ***************************
Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066548
Read_Master_Log_Pos: 10050480
Relay_Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066548
Exec_Master_Log_Pos: 10050300
Slave_IO_Running: Yes
Slave_SQL_Running: Yes

在示例输出 A 中,Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066548 指示副本 IO_THREAD 正在从二进制日志文件 mysql-bin.066548 读取数据。这是因为主数据库实例正在将二进制日志写入文件 mysql-bin.066552。此输出显示副本 IO_THREAD 滞后 4 个二进制日志。但是,Relay_Master_Log_Filemysql-bin.066548,这表示副本 SQL_THREAD 正在从与 IO_THREAD 相同的文件中读取数据。这意味着副本 SQL_THREAD 保持同步,但副本 IO_THREAD 出现滞后。

示例输出 B:

mysql> SHOW SLAVE STATUS\G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066552
Read_Master_Log_Pos: 430
Relay_Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066530
Exec_Master_Log_Pos: 50360
Slave_IO_Running: Yes
Slave_SQL_Running: Yes

示例输出 B 显示主日志文件是 mysql-bin-changelog.066552。这也是主状态的文件参数,意味着 IO_THREAD 与主数据库实例保持一致。在副本输出中,SQL 线程正在执行 Relay_Master_Log_File: mysql-bin-changelog.066530。这意味着 SQL_THREAD 滞后 12 个二进制日志。

通常,IO_THREAD 不会导致较高的复制延迟,因为 IO_THREAD 仅从主数据库实例读取二进制日志。但是,网络连接和网络延迟会影响服务器之间的读取速度。副本 IO_THREAD 可能会由于高带宽的使用而变慢。

如果副本 SQL_THREAD 是复制延迟的产生原因,那么这些延迟可能是由于以下原因导致的:

  • 主数据库实例上长时间运行的查询
  • 数据库实例类大小或存储空间不足
  • 在主数据库实例上执行的并行查询
  • 同步到副本数据库实例上的磁盘的二进制日志
  • 副本上的 Binlog_format 设置为 ROW
  • 副本创建滞后

主实例上长时间运行的查询

在主数据库实例上长时间运行的查询需要花费相同的时间在副本数据库实例上运行,这会增加 seconds_behind_master。例如,如果在主数据库实例上执行的更改耗用了一个小时的执行时间,那么在副本开始运行更改时,会滞后一小时。由于更改可能还需要一个小时才能在副本上完成,因此在更改完成时,总滞后大约为两小时。这种延迟在预料之中,但您可以通过监控主实例上的缓慢查询日志来尽可能减少这种滞后。您还可以通过识别长时间运行的语句来减少滞后。然后,将长时间运行的语句分解为多个较小的语句或事务。有关更多信息,请参阅访问 MySQL 慢速查询日志和常规日志

数据库实例类大小或存储空间不足

如果副本数据库实例类或存储配置小于主实例,则副本将受到限制,无法与主实例上的更改保持同步。确保副本的数据库实例类型与主数据库实例相同或级别更高。为保证复制有效运行,每个只读副本需要与源数据库实例相同数量的计算和存储资源。有关更多信息,请参阅数据库实例类

在主数据库实例上执行的并行查询

如果您在主实例上执行并行查询,则它们将以序列顺序在副本上提交。这是因为默认情况下,MySQL 复制是单线程 (SQL_THREAD)。如果并行执行对源数据库实例的大量写入,则应使用单个 SQL_THREAD 序列化对只读副本的写入。这可能会导致源数据库实例和只读副本之间的滞后。

多线程(并行)复制适用于 MySQL 5.6、MySQL 5.7 及更高版本。有关多线程复制的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的二进制日志记录选项和变量

多线程复制会导致复制中出现差距。例如,在跳过复制错误时,因为很难识别跳过了哪些事务,所以多线程复制并非最佳实践。这可能会导致主数据库实例和副本数据库实例之间的数据一致性存在差距。

同步到副本数据库实例上的磁盘的二进制日志

如果在副本上启用自动备份,则可能需要执行额外操作才能将二进制日志同步到副本上的磁盘。sync_binlog 参数的默认值设置为 1。如果将此值更改为 0,则系统会禁用 MySQL 服务器将二进制日志同步到磁盘的功能。操作系统 (OS) 偶尔会将二进制日志刷入磁盘,而非直接将日志记录到磁盘。

如果禁用二进制日志同步,这可以减少在每次提交时将二进制日志同步到磁盘所需的性能开销。然而,如果出现电源故障或操作系统崩溃,则某些提交可能无法同步到二进制日志。这可能会影响时间点恢复 (PITR) 功能。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 sync_binlog

副本上的 Binlog_format 设置为 ROW

如果将副本上的 binlog_format 设置为 ROW,并且执行更新的表缺少主键,则默认情况下,slave-rows-search-algorithms = TABLE_SCAN,INDEX_SCAN 将在主实例上修改的每一行上执行。此参数还会在副本上执行全表扫描。在这种情况下,短期解决方案是将搜索算法更改为 INDEX_SCAN,HASH_SCAN,以减少全表扫描的开销。对于永久解决方案,请向每个表添加显式主键。

有关 slave-rows-search-algorithms 参数的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 slave-rows-search-algorithms

副本创建滞后

Amazon RDS 通过生成主实例的数据库快照来创建 MySQL 主实例的只读副本。然后,Amazon RDS 会恢复快照以创建新的数据库实例(副本)并在两者之间建立复制关系。

新的只读副本需要一定时间才能完成创建。建立复制关系后,会出现相当于创建主实例备份所需时长的滞后。要尽可能减少此滞后,请在调用副本创建之前创建手动备份。然后,副本创建过程生成的快照属于增量备份,速度更快。

从快照恢复只读副本时,副本将不会等待将所有数据从 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 传输到与副本数据库实例关联的 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷。副本数据库实例可用于执行数据库操作,并且通过现有 Amazon EBS 快照创建的新卷会在后台加载(延迟加载)。

对于 Amazon RDS for MySQL 副本(基于 EBS 的卷),最初副本滞后可能会增加,因为加载效应可能会影响复制性能。有关更多信息,请参阅初始化 Amazon EBS 卷

考虑启用 InnoDB 缓存预热功能,该功能可通过保存主数据库实例缓存池的当前状态,然后在还原的只读副本上重新加载缓存池来提高性能。有关 InnoDB 缓存预热的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 上的 MySQL


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How do I find the cause of replica lag when using Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL?

Because Amazon RDS for MySQL uses asynchronous replication, sometimes the replica isn't able to keep up with the primary instance.

For Amazon RDS for MySQL read replicas, you can monitor replication lag in Amazon CloudWatch by viewing the Amazon RDS ReplicaLag metric. The ReplicaLag metric reports the value of the Seconds_Behind_Master field of the SHOW SLAVE STATUS command.

The Seconds_Behind_Master shows the difference between the current timestamp on the replica instance and the original timestamp that was logged on the primary instance for the event that's being processed on the replica instance.

MySQL replication works with three threads: the Binlog Dump thread, the IO_THREAD, and the SQL_THREAD. For more information about how these threads function, see the MySQL Documentation for Replication Implementation Details. If there is a delay in replication, first identify whether the lag is caused by the replica IO_THREAD or the replica SQL_THREAD. Then, you can identify the root cause of the lag.

To identify which replication thread is lagging, see the following examples:

1.    First, run the MASTER STATUS command on the primary instance, and review the output:

mysql> SHOW MASTER STATUS;
+----------------------------+----------+--------------+------------------+-------------------+
| File                       | Position | Binlog_Do_DB | Binlog_Ignore_DB | Executed_Gtid_Set |
+----------------------------+----------+--------------+------------------+-------------------+
| mysql-bin-changelog.066552|      521 |              |                  |                   |
+----------------------------+----------+--------------+------------------+-------------------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

Note: In the example output, the master DB instance is writing the binary logs to the file mysql-bin.066552.

2.    Run the SHOW SLAVE STATUS command on the replica instance and review the output:

Example output A:

mysql> SHOW SLAVE STATUS\G;
*************************** 1. row ***************************
Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066548
Read_Master_Log_Pos: 10050480
Relay_Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066548
Exec_Master_Log_Pos: 10050300
Slave_IO_Running: Yes
Slave_SQL_Running: Yes

In example output A, the Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066548 indicates that the replica IO_THREAD is reading from the binary log file mysql-bin.066548. This is because the primary DB instance is writing the binary logs to the file mysql-bin.066552. This output shows that the replica IO_THREAD is behind by 4 binlogs. However, the Relay_Master_Log_File is mysql-bin.066548, which indicates that the replica SQL_THREAD is reading from same file as the IO_THREAD. This means that the replica SQL_THREAD is keeping up, but the replica IO_THREAD is lagging behind.

Example output B:

mysql> SHOW SLAVE STATUS\G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066552
Read_Master_Log_Pos: 430
Relay_Master_Log_File: mysql-bin.066530
Exec_Master_Log_Pos: 50360
Slave_IO_Running: Yes
Slave_SQL_Running: Yes

In example output B, the IO_THREAD is keeping up with the primary instance. The output shows that the Master log File is mysql-bin-changelog.066552 (the file parameter from the master status). And the replica IO_THREAD is Master_Log_File: mysql-bin-changelog.066552. In the replica output, the SQL thread is performing Relay_Master_Log_File: mysql-bin-changelog.066530. This means that SQL_THREAD is lagging behind by 12 binary logs.

Normally, IO_THREAD doesn't cause large replication delays, because the IO_THREAD reads the binary logs only from the master. However, network connectivity and network latency can affect the speed of the reads between the servers. The replica IO_THREAD could be slow due to high bandwidth usage.

If the replica SQL_THREAD is the source of replication delays, those delays could be due to the following reasons:

  • Long-running queries on the primary instance
  • Insufficient instance class size or storage
  • Parallel queries executed on the primary instance
  • Binary logs synced to the disk on the replica instance
  • Binlog_format on the replica is set to ROW
  • Replica creation lag

Long-running queries on the primary instance

Long-running queries on the primary instance that take an equal amount of time to run on the replica instance can increase the seconds_behind_master. For example, if a change executed on the primary instance takes one hour to execute, by the time that change starts running on the replica, the lag is one hour. Because the change might also take one hour to complete on the replica, by the time the change is complete, the total lag is approximately two hours. This delay is expected, but you can minimize this lag by monitoring the slow query log on the master. You can also identify long-running statements to reduce lag. Then, break long-running statements into smaller statements or transactions. For more information, see Accessing the MySQL Slow Query and General Logs.

Insufficient instance class size or storage

If the replica instance class or storage configuration is smaller than the primary, then the replica is throttled and unable to keep up with the changes made on the primary. Be sure that the instance type of the replica is the same or higher than the primary instance. For replication to operate effectively, each read replica requires the same amount of compute and storage resources as the source DB instance. For more information, see DB Instance Class.

Parallel queries executed on the primary instance

Queries that are executed in parallel on the primary are committed in a serial order on the replica, because the MySQL replication is single threaded (SQL_THREAD). If a high volume of writes to the source DB instance can occur in parallel, the writes to the read replica are serialized using a single SQL_THREAD. This can cause a lag between the source instance and read replica.

Multi-threaded (parallel) replication is available for MySQL 5.6, MySQL 5.7, and higher versions. For more information about multi-threaded replication, see the MySQL Documentation for Binary Logging Options and Variables.

Multi-threaded replication can cause gaps in replication. For example, multi-threaded replication isn't recommended when skipping the replication errors, because it's difficult to identify which transactions are skipped. This can lead to gaps in data consistency between the primary and replica instances.

Binary logs synced to the disk on the replica instance

If automatic backups are enabled on the replica, then additional effort might be required to sync the binary logs to the disk on the replica. The default value of the parameter sync_binlog is set to 1. If you change this value to 0, the synchronization of the binary log to the disk by the MySQL server is disabled. Instead of logging to the disk, the operating system (OS) occasionally flushes the binary logs to disk.

Disabling the binary log synchronization can reduce the performance overhead required to sync the binary logs to disk on every commit. But if there is a power failure or the OS crashes, some of the commits might not be synchronized to the binary logs. This can affect point in time restore (PITR) capabilities. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for sync_binlog.

Binlog_format on the replica is set to ROW

If the binlog_format on the replica is set to ROW and the table on which the updates are made is missing the primary key, then by default the slave-rows-search-algorithms=TABLE_SCAN,INDEX_SCAN is executed on every row modified on the primary. And this parameter also performs a full table scan on the replica. For more information about the slave-rows-search-algorithms parameter, see the MySQL Documentation for slave-rows-search-algorithms.

Replica creation lag

Amazon RDS creates a read replica of a MySQL master by taking a DB snapshot of the master. Then, Amazon RDS restores the snapshot to create a new DB instance (replica) and establishes replication between the two.

New read replicas take time to be created. When the replication is established, there is a lag for the duration of the time that it takes to create a backup of the primary. To minimize this lag, create a manual backup before calling for the replica creation. Then, the snapshot taken by the replica creation process is an incremental backup, which is faster.

When a read replica is restored from a snapshot, the replica won't wait for all the data to be transferred from Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volume that's associated with the replica instance. The replica instance is available to perform the DB operations, and the new volume created from existing EBS snapshot loads in the background (lazy loading). For Amazon RDS for MySQL replicas (EBS-based volumes), the replica lag might increase initially, because the loading effect might compromise the replication performance. For more information, see Initializing Amazon EBS Volumes.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2019-02-26