How do I delete a Route 53 hosted zone?

Last updated: 2022-03-01

I want to delete an Amazon Route 53 hosted zone. How do I do that?

Resolution

Important: You can't undo the deletion of a hosted zone.

To delete a Route 53 hosted zone:

  1. Delete any records associated with the hosted zone, except for the default start of authority (SOA) and name server (NS) records.
  2. Delete your public hosted zone or delete your private hosted zone.

If you receive an error trying to delete your hosted zone through the Route 53 console, you might need to delete the zone using AWS Cloud Map. For more information, see How do I delete a Route 53 hosted zone created by service discovery?

Note: After you delete a hosted zone, it no longer routes traffic. If you create a new hosted zone for your domain later, you can update the NS record to route traffic to the new zone.