How do I terminate all my resources before closing my AWS account?

Last updated: 2020-06-11

I want to terminate all my active resources before I close my AWS account.

Short Description

Before you close your AWS account, consider the following:

  • After your AWS account is closed, you're charged for any usage fees incurred before closure.
  • Closing your account might not automatically terminate all your active resources. You might continue to incur charges for some of your active resources even after you close your account.
  • If you reopen your closed AWS account within 90 days, you might be charged for any AWS services that aren't terminated before you closed the account.
  • It's a best practice to check if you have any active resources and terminate them before you close your AWS account.

Resolution

To check if you have any active resources in your account, do the following:

  1. Open the Billing and Cost Management console.
  2. Choose Bills in the navigation pane.
    You can see the charges incurred by different services in the Bill details by service section.
    You can see the charges incurred in different AWS Regions in the Bill details by account section.
    Note: It’s a best practice to check the Bill details by service section for the previous month to identify all services that are generating charges.
  3. For each service, identify the Regions where the services have incurred charges.

To terminate the identified active resources under different services, do the following:

  1. Open the AWS Management Console.
  2. For Find services, enter the service name.
  3. After opening the service console, terminate all your active resources. Be sure to check each Region where you have allocated resources.
    Tip: You can change the Region with the Region selector in the navigation bar.

To terminate your active resources for some commonly used AWS services, do the following:

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)

  • To delete Amazon S3 objects, see How do I delete objects from an S3 bucket?
    Note: Be sure that the Server access logging for your Amazon S3 bucket is disabled before deleting the objects in the bucket. Otherwise, logs might be immediately written to your bucket after you delete your bucket's objects. For more information, see How do I enable server access logging for an S3 bucket?
  • To delete an Amazon S3 bucket, see How do I delete an S3 bucket?
  • If you have an Amazon S3 bucket that was created by AWS Elastic Beanstalk, you must first delete the Bucket Policy from the Permissions section of the bucket properties in the Amazon S3 console. For more information, see Using Elastic Beanstalk with Amazon S3.
    Note: If you delete a bucket that Elastic Beanstalk created in your account, and you still have existing applications and running environments in the corresponding Region, then your applications might not function accurately.

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)

  • To delete Amazon RDS resources, see Deleting a DB Instance.
  • To delete Amazon RDS snapshots, see Deleting a Snapshot.
  • To delete retained automated backups of DB instances, see Working With Backups.
    Important: To delete a DB instance or DB snapshot that has deletion protection enabled, you must modify the instance and disable deletion protection.

Amazon Lightsail

Subscriptions

  • If you have Reserved Instances (RIs) with a monthly charge on your account, such as Amazon EC2 RIs, Amazon RDS RIs, Redshift RIs, or ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes, you're billed for these subscriptions until the plan term ends. AWS can't cancel a Reserved Instance before the subscription term ends, but you can list your EC2 RIs for sale on the Amazon EC2 Reserved Instance Marketplace. For more information, see Reserved Instance Marketplace.
  • If you signed up for a Savings Plan, then you are charged for the compute usage covered under the Savings Plan until the plan term ends.

Other services