当用户访问我的网站时,Amazon Route 53 基于延迟的路由返回距离很远的区域中的服务器 IP 地址。例如,如果美国用户尝试访问我的网站,Route 53 会使用来自欧洲服务器的记录做出响应。如何解决用户被路由到次优区域的问题?

当您将多个 AWS 区域中的终端节点与相同的资源记录关联并使用基于延迟的路由策略时,Route 53 会根据 DNS 查询的位置解析为延迟最低的区域。

Route 53 根据以下因素计算延迟:

  • 将查询发送到 Route 53 权威名称服务器的递归 DNS 解析器的源 IP。
  • 发出递归查询的客户端的源 IP(仅当 DNS 解析器支持扩展 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 时)。
    注意: Route 53 名称服务器默认情况下支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet。当支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 的递归 DNS 解析器向 Route 53 发送客户端 IP 地址的截断版本时,Route 53 会使用客户端 IP 地址来确定最低延迟区域。

警告: 延迟最低的区域可能不是物理位置上最接近发出请求的 DNS 解析器的区域。当客户端与 DNS 解析器不在同一个位置或解析器 IP 具有不同的位置信息时,您可能会遇到意外的路由行为。

查找 DNS 解析器 IP 和选播支持

检查特定区域中解析器使用的 IP 地址范围。运行以下命令 5 或 6 次,持续 11 秒。然后,每次记下输出内容。

在 Linux 或 macOS 上,使用 dig

for i in {1..10}; do dig +short resolver-identity.cloudfront.net; sleep 11; done;

在 Windows 上,使用 nslookup

nslookup resolver-identity.cloudfront.net

注意: 如果输出始终包含相同的单个 IP 地址,则 DNS 解析器不支持选播。如果多次运行该命令时 IP 地址发生变化,则 DNS 解析器支持选播。如果 DNS 解析器支持选播,则 DNS 解析器有多个边缘站点,并且基于最佳延迟来选择用户的边缘站点,这可能会导致出现解析器 IP 地址的意外位置。

查找客户端 IP 地址

在客户端计算机上,在浏览器中访问以下 URL 以查看客户端 IP 地址:http://checkip.amazonaws.com/

或者,在 AWS 命令行界面 (AWS CLI) 中使用 curl

curl http://checkip.amazonaws.com/

检查 DNS 解析器是否支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet

在继续之前,请务必确认 DNS 解析器是否支持选播,如上文所述。然后,使用以下命令检查 DNS 解析器是否支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet,并记下输出内容。

在 Linux 或 macOS 上,使用 dig

dig +nocl TXT o-o.myaddr.l.google.com @<DNS Resolver>

在 Windows 上,使用 nslookup:

nslookup -type=txt o-o.myaddr.l.google.com <DNS Resolver>

在查询输出中,应答部分中返回的第一条 TXT 记录是最近的公告选播的 DNS 服务器:

  • 如果没有第二条 TXT 记录,则 DNS 解析器不支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet。
  • 如果有第二条 TXT 记录,则 DNS 解析器还支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet。解析器提供并接着将截断的客户端子网(/24 或 /32)发送到 Route 53 权威名称服务器。

注意: 确保响应的 TTL 值为 60 秒。如果 TTL 不是 60 秒,则响应是缓存的响应。重复运行该命令,直到响应 TTL 值为 60 秒。

从 DNS 解析器或客户端 IP 地址模拟查询

使用 Route 53 DNS 检查工具模拟来自特定 DNS 解析器或客户端 IP 地址的查询,以查找 Route 53 返回的延迟资源记录集。

  • 如果 DNS 解析器不支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet,请指定解析器 IP 地址作为工具中的值。
  • 如果 DNS 解析器支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet,请指定 EDNS0 客户端子网 IP 作为工具中的值。选择更多选项,然后同时指定子网掩码。不要指定解析器 IP 地址

注意: 此工具直接查询 Route 53 延迟测量数据库,以确定 AWS 区域与 Internet 网络之间的预先计算的延迟。该工具实际上并不通过 Internet 或任何 DNS 解析器发送 DNS 查询。模拟工具不检查 DNS 解析器是否支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet。来自模拟器和实际 DNS 查询的结果可能会不同。

如果您无法访问 Route 53 DNS 检查工具,请使用 dig 通过EDNS0-Client-Subnet 查询您的托管区域的 Route 53 权威名称服务器,以从您的源 IP 确定最低延迟 AWS 区域:

dig lbr.example.com +subnet=<Client IP>/24 @ns-xx.awsdns-xxx.com +short

注意: 由于网络连接和路由的变化,Internet 上主机之间的延迟不会一成不变。

支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 的客户端

如果解析器支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet,则客户端 DNS 查询可能会从与客户端不同的位置退出,从而导致意外的路由行为。

将客户端 DNS 查询退出位置更改为在地理位置上更靠近客户端的位置。

不支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 的客户端

如果解析器不支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet,则客户端 DNS 查询可能会使用与客户端位于不同地理位置的 DNS 解析器,从而导致意外的路由行为。

将客户端使用的 DNS 解析器更改为地理位置上更靠近客户端的其他递归 DNS 解析器。

可选: 如果 DNS 解析器不支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet,从而导致 Route 53 将用户路由到次优区域,请切换到支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 的公有递归 DNS 解析器。然后,将 Route 53 的旧延迟路由响应结果与新结果进行比较。目前支持 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 的一些公有 DNS 解析器包括 GoogleDNS(8.8.8.8 和 8.8.4.4)和 OpenDNS(208.67.222.222 和 208.67.220.220)。

故障排除示例

一家公司在弗吉尼亚州 (us-east-1) 和爱尔兰 (eu-west-1) 的两个 Elastic Load Balancer 使用基于延迟的路由记录。美国用户使用位于欧洲的公司 DNS 解析器,或通过 VPN 连接到欧洲的公司办公室。

如果公司 DNS 解析器无法将 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 数据(截断的客户端 IP 地址信息)发送到权威名称服务器,则 Route 53 会将欧洲的 DNS 解析器 IP 地址视为查询的来源。然后,Route 53 在其延迟数据库中执行查找,并错误地确定爱尔兰的负载均衡器具有最低延迟。

不过,如果公司 DNS 解析器能够发送 EDNS0-Client-Subnet 数据,则 Route 53 会将美国的截断的客户端 IP 地址视为 DNS 查询的来源。然后,Route 53 在其延迟数据库中执行查找,并正确地确定弗吉尼亚的负载均衡器具有最低延迟。


此页面对您有帮助吗? |

返回 AWS Support 知识中心

需要帮助? 请访问 AWS 支持中心

发布时间: 2017-09-06

更新时间: 2018-08-15

When users access my website, Amazon Route 53 latency-based routing returns the IP address of a server in a Region that is far away. For example, if a user in the USA tries to access my website, Route 53 responds with a record from a server in Europe. How can I troubleshoot issues with users being routed to suboptimal Regions?

When you associate endpoints in multiple AWS Regions with the same resource record and use a latency-based routing policy, Route 53 resolves to the Region with the lowest latency based on the location of the DNS query.

Route 53 calculates latency based on:

  • The source IP of the recursive DNS resolver sending the query to the Route 53 authoritative name server.
  • The source IP of the client making the recursive query, only if the DNS resolver supports the extension EDNS0-Client-Subnet.
    Note: Route 53 name servers support EDNS0-Client-Subnet by default. When a recursive DNS resolver that supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet sends Route 53 a truncated version of the client IP address, Route 53 uses the client IP address to determine the lowest latency Region.

Warning: The Region with the lowest latency might not be the Region physically closest to the requesting DNS resolver. You might experience unwanted routing behavior when the client isn't in the same location as the DNS resolver or the resolver IP has different location information.

Find DNS resolver IP and Anycast support

Check the IP address range used by the resolver in a particular Region. Run the following commands 5 or 6 times for a period of 11 seconds. Then, note the output each time.

On Linux or macOS, use dig:

for i in {1..10}; do dig +short resolver-identity.cloudfront.net; sleep 11; done;

On Windows use, nslookup:

nslookup resolver-identity.cloudfront.net

Note: If the output always contains the same single IP address, the DNS resolver doesn't support Anycast. If the IP address changes when you run the command multiple times, the DNS resolver supports Anycast. When the DNS resolver supports Anycast, there are multiple edge locations for DNS resolvers, and a user's edge location is chosen based on optimal latency, which might result in an unexpected location for the resolver IP address.

Find the client IP address

From the client machine, visit the following URL in a browser to see the client IP address: http://checkip.amazonaws.com/

Or, use curl in the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI):

curl http://checkip.amazonaws.com/

Check if the DNS resolver supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet

Before proceeding, be sure to confirm that the DNS resolver supports Anycast, as previously described. Then, check if the DNS resolver supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet using the following commands and note the output.

On Linux or macOS, use dig:

dig +nocl TXT o-o.myaddr.l.google.com @<DNS Resolver>

On Windows, use nslookup:

nslookup -type=txt o-o.myaddr.l.google.com <DNS Resolver>

In the query output, the first TXT record returned in the Answer section is the nearest DNS server advertising Anycast:

  • If there's no second TXT record, the DNS resolver doesn't support EDNS0-Client-Subnet.
  • If there's a second TXT record, the DNS resolver also supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet. The resolver provides and then sends a truncated client subnet (/24 or /32) to the Route 53 authoritative name server.

Note: Be sure that the TTL value of the response is 60 seconds. If the TTL isn't 60 seconds, the response is a cached response. Repeat the command until the response TTL value is 60 seconds.

Simulate queries from the DNS resolver or client IP address

Use the Route 53 DNS Checking Tool to simulate queries from a specific DNS resolver or client IP address to find which latency resource record set returned by Route 53.

  • If the DNS resolver doesn't support EDNS0-Client-Subnet, specify the Resolver IP address as your value in the tool.
  • If the DNS resolver supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet, specify the EDNS0 client subnet IP as your value in the tool. Choose More Options, and then specify the Subne mask, too. Don't specify a Resolver IP address.

Note: This tool directly queries the Route 53 latency measurement database to determine the precalculated latency between AWS Regions and an internet network. The tool doesn't actually send DNS queries over the Internet or to any DNS resolvers. The simulation tool doesn't check if the DNS resolver supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet. Results from the simulator and an actual DNS query might differ.

If you don't have access to the Route 53 DNS Checking Tool, use dig to query the Route 53 authoritative name servers for your hosted zone with EDNS0-Client-Subnet to determine the lowest latency AWS Region from your source IP:

dig lbr.example.com +subnet=<Client IP>/24 @ns-xx.awsdns-xxx.com +short

Note: Latency between hosts on the internet can change over time due to changes in network connectivity and routing.

Clients with support for EDNS0-Client-Subnet

If the resolver supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet, the client DNS queries might exit from a different location than the client location and result in unexpected routing behavior.

Change where the client DNS queries exit to a location geographically closer to the client.

Clients without support for EDNS0-Client-Subnet

If the resolver doesn't support EDNS0-Client-Subnet, the client DNS queries might use a DNS resolver in a different geographic location from the client and result in unexpected routing behavior.

Change the DNS resolver that the client uses to a different recursive DNS resolver located geographically closer to the client.

Optional: If the DNS resolver doesn't support EDNS0-Client-Subnet and Route 53 routes users to suboptimal Regions as a result, switch to a public recursive DNS resolver that supports EDNS0-Client-Subnet. Then, compare your old latency routing response results from Route 53 with your new results. Some public DNS resolvers that currently support EDNS0-Client-Subnet are GoogleDNS (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and OpenDNS (208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220).

Troubleshooting example

A company has latency-based routing records for two Elastic Load Balancers located in Virginia (us-east-1) and Ireland (eu-west-1). Users in the USA use a corporate DNS resolver located in Europe, or connect to the corporate office in Europe over VPN.

If the corporate DNS resolver isn't capable of sending EDNS0-Client-Subnet data (truncated client IP address information) to the authoritative name servers, Route 53 considers the DNS resolver IP address in Europe to be the source of the query. Route 53 then performs a lookup in its latency database and incorrectly determines that the load balancer in Ireland has the lowest latency.

However, if the corporate DNS resolver is capable of sending EDNS0-Client-Subnet data, Route 53 considers the truncated client IP in the USA as the source of the DNS query. Route 53 then performs a lookup in its latency database and correctly determines that the load balancer in Virginia has the lowest latency.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2017-09-06

Updated: 2018-08-15