如何防止 Hadoop 或 Spark 作业用户缓存在 Amazon EMR 中使用太多磁盘空间?

上次更新时间:2020 年 2 月 11 日

我的 Apache Hadoop 或 Apache Spark 作业的用户缓存占用了分区上所有的磁盘空间。Amazon EMR 作业失败或 HDFS NameNode 服务处于安全模式。如何解决此问题?

简短描述

在 Amazon EMR 集群上,YARN 被配置为允许作业将缓存数据写入 /mnt/yarn/usercache 中。当您处理大量数据或运行多个并行作业时,/mnt 文件系统可能会满载。这会导致某些节点上的节点管理器发生故障,然后导致作业挂起或失败。

使用以下任意一种方法来解决此问题:

  • 调整 YARN NodeManager 的用户缓存保留设置。如果您没有长期运行的作业或流作业,请选择此选项。
  • 向上扩展 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷。如果您有长期运行的作业或流作业,请选择此选项。

解决方法

选项 1:调整 NodeManager 的用户缓存保留设置

以下属性定义缓存清理设置:

  • yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms:这是缓存清理间隔时间。默认值为 600000 毫秒。此间隔时间后,如果缓存大小超出 yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb 中设置的值,则将删除未被运行容器使用的文件。
  • yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb:这是缓存允许的最大磁盘空间。默认值为 10240 MB。当缓存磁盘大小超出此值时,将按照 yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms 中设置的时间间隔删除未被运行容器使用的文件。

要在正在运行的集群上设置清理间隔时间和最大磁盘空间大小:

1.    打开每个核心和任务节点上的 /etc/hadoop/conf/yarn-site.xml,然后减小 yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.intervalyarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb 的值。示例:

sudo vim /etc/hadoop/conf/yarn-site.xml

yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms 400000
yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb 5120

2.    要重启 NodeManager 服务,在每个核心和任务节点上运行以下命令:

sudo stop hadoop-yarn-nodemanager
sudo start hadoop-yarn-nodemanager

注意:在 Amazon EMR 发行版本 5.21.0 和更高版本中,您还可以使用类似以下内容配置项目来覆盖集群配置或为正在运行的集群指定其他配置分类。有关更多信息,请参阅为正在运行的集群中的实例组提供配置

要在新集群上设置清理间隔时间和最大磁盘空间大小,请在启动集群时添加类似以下内容的配置对象

[
    {
      "Classification": "yarn-site",
     "Properties": {
       "yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms": "400000",
       "yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb": "5120"
      }
    }
]

请记住,删除服务不会在正在运行的容器上执行。这意味着即使您调整用户缓存保留设置,数据仍然可能会溢出到以下路径并载满文件系统:

{'yarn.nodemanager.local-dirs'}/usercache/user/appcache/application_id ,

选项 2:向上扩展 EMR 集群节点上的 EBS 卷

要向上扩展正在运行的 EMR 集群上的存储空间,请参阅动态扩展 Amazon EMR 集群上的存储空间

要向上扩展新 EMR 集群上的存储空间,请在创建 EMR 集群时指定一个较大的卷大小。您也可以在将节点添加到现有集群时执行此操作:

  • Amazon EMR 发行版本 5.22.0 及更高版本:默认的 EBS 存储量基于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例的大小增加。有关每种实例类型的默认分配卷的存储量和数量的更多信息,请参阅实例的默认 EBS 存储
  • Amazon EMR 发行版本 5.21 及更低版本:默认的 EBS 卷大小为 32GB。为 /mnt 分区预留 27GB。HDFS、YARN、用户缓存和所有应用程序都使用 /mnt 分区。根据需要增加您的 EBS 卷大小(例如 100-500 GB 或以上)。您还可以指定多个 EBS 卷。多个 EBS 卷将被挂载为 /mnt1/mnt2 等。

对于 Spark 流作业,您还可以在处理完成且不再需要数据时执行 unpersist (RDD.unpersist())。或者,在 Scala(Python 中的 sc._jvm.System.gc())中显式调用 System.gc() 以启动 JVM 垃圾收集并删除中间随机文件。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How can I prevent a Hadoop or Spark job's user cache from consuming too much disk space in Amazon EMR?

Last updated: 2020-02-11

The user cache for my Apache Hadoop or Apache Spark job is taking up all the disk space on the partition. The Amazon EMR job is failing or the HDFS NameNode service is in safe mode. How can I resolve this?

Short Description

On an Amazon EMR cluster, YARN is configured to allow jobs to write cache data to /mnt/yarn/usercache. When you process a large amount of data or run multiple concurrent jobs, the /mnt file system can fill up. This causes node manager failures on some nodes, which then causes the job to hang or fail.

Use one of the following methods to resolve this problem:

  • Adjust the user cache retention settings for YARN NodeManager. Choose this option if you don't have long-running jobs or streaming jobs.
  • Scale up the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes. Choose this option if you have long-running jobs or streaming jobs.

Resolution

Option 1: Adjust the user cache retention settings for NodeManager

The following attributes define the cache cleanup settings:

  • yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms: This is the cache cleanup interval. The default value is 600,000 milliseconds. After this interval—and if the cache size exceeds the value set in yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb—files that aren't in use by running containers are deleted.
  • yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb: This is the maximum disk space allowed for the cache. The default value is 10,240 MB. When the cache disk size exceeds this value, files that aren't in use by running containers are deleted on the interval set in yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms.

To set the cleanup interval and maximum disk space size on a running cluster:

1.    Open /etc/hadoop/conf/yarn-site.xml on each core and task node, and then reduce the values for yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval and yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb. Example:

sudo vim /etc/hadoop/conf/yarn-site.xml

yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms 400000
yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb 5120

2.    To restart the NodeManager service, run the following commands on each core and task node:

sudo stop hadoop-yarn-nodemanager
sudo start hadoop-yarn-nodemanager

Note: In Amazon EMR release versions 5.21.0 and later, you can also use a configuration object, similar to the following, to override the cluster configuration or specify additional configuration classifications for a running cluster. For more information, see Supplying a Configuration for an Instance Group in a Running Cluster.

To set the cleanup interval and maximum disk space size on a new cluster, add a configuration object similar to the following when you launch the cluster:

[
    {
      "Classification": "yarn-site",
     "Properties": {
       "yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.cleanup.interval-ms": "400000",
       "yarn.nodemanager.localizer.cache.target-size-mb": "5120"
      }
    }
]

Remember that the deletion service doesn't execute on running containers. This means that even after you adjust the user cache retention settings, data might still be spilling to the following path and filling up the file system:

{'yarn.nodemanager.local-dirs'}/usercache/user/appcache/application_id ,

Option 2: Scale up the EBS volumes on the EMR cluster nodes

To scale up storage on a running EMR cluster, see Dynamically scale up storage on Amazon EMR clusters.

To scale up storage on a new EMR cluster, specify a larger volume size when you create the EMR cluster. You can also do this when you add nodes to an existing cluster:

  • Amazon EMR release version 5.22.0 and later: The default amount of EBS storage increases based on the size of the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance. For more information about the amount of storage and number of volumes allocated by default for each instance type, see Default EBS Storage for Instances.
  • Amazon EMR release versions 5.21 and earlier: The default EBS volume size is 32 GB. 27 GB is reserved for the /mnt partition. HDFS, YARN, the user cache, and all applications use the /mnt partition. Increase the size of your EBS volume as needed (for example, 100-500 GB or more). You can also specify multiple EBS volumes. Multiple EBS volumes will be mounted as /mnt1, /mnt2, and so on.

For Spark streaming jobs, you can also perform an unpersist (RDD.unpersist()) when processing is done and the data is no longer needed. Or, explicitly call System.gc() in Scala ( sc._jvm.System.gc() in Python) to start JVM garbage collection and remove the intermediate shuffle files.


Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?