如何将点到点 VPN 连接配置为更喜欢隧道 A 而不是隧道 B?

上次更新时间:2021 年 2 月 2 日

我的 AWS 点到点 VPN 连接由两个虚拟私有网络 (VPN) 隧道组成。这些隧道存在于客户网关设备与虚拟私有网关或中转网关之间。在将流量从 AWS 发送到本地网络时,如何确保隧道 A 优先于隧道 B?

解决方法

在客户网关和虚拟私有网关或中转网关之间创建的静态 VPN

在这种情况下,虚拟私有网关或中转网关通过单个 VPN 隧道将流量从 AWS 发送到本地网络。此隧道由 AWS 随机选择,被称为首选隧道

如果 AWS VPN 连接(静态路由类型)具有主动/主动配置(两条隧道都启动),则您无法将 AWS 配置为首选特定隧道来发送流量。例如,AWS 随机选择隧道 A 作为将流量从 AWS 发送到本地网络的首选 VPN 隧道。如果隧道 A 出现故障,来自 AWS 的流量会自动故障转移到隧道 B。
注意:对于主动/主动配置,客户网关必须在虚拟隧道接口上启用非对称路由。

如果 AWS VPN 连接(静态路由类型)具有主动/被动配置(隧道 A 处于 UP 状态,但隧道 B 处于 DOWN 状态),则从 AWS 到本地网络的流量将遍历隧道 A,因为它处于 UP 状态。

在客户网关和虚拟私有网关或中转网关之间创建的动态 VPN

适用于禁用 ECMP 的虚拟私有网关或中转网关配置

在 AWS VPN 连接时,从 AWS 到本地网络的流量将通过首选隧道(由 AWS 随机选择)发送:

  • 具有主动/主动配置(两条隧道都启动),以及
  • 是否将相同的前缀广告给具有相同边界网关协议 (BGP) 属性的虚拟私有网关或中转网关。
    注意:对于主动/主动配置,客户网关必须在虚拟隧道接口上启用非对称路由。

如果 AWS VPN 连接(动态路由类型)具有主动/被动配置(隧道 A 已处于 UP 状态,但隧道 B 处于 DOWN 状态),则从 AWS 到本地网络的流量将遍历隧道 A,因为它处于 UP 状态。

适用于启用 ECMP 的中转网关配置

中转网关在 VPN 隧道之间对从 AWS 到本地网络的流量进行负载平衡:

  • 如果客户网关设备通过隧道公布相同的前缀,以及
  • 从客户网关设备公布的前缀的 BGP 属性在 VPN 隧道上必须相同。这些 BGP 属性包括 AS_SEQUES MED 中的 AS-Path 前置和第一个 AS。

对于动态 AWS VPN 连接

通过利用首选项标准的顺序,将客户网关设备设置为首选一个 VPN 隧道而不是另一条 VPN 隧道:

  1. 向客户希望从 AWS 接收流量的隧道上的虚拟私有网关或中转网关公布更具体的前缀。
  2. 要匹配每个 VPN 连接使用 BGP 的前缀,请比较 AS PATH,并首选带有最短 AS PATH 的前缀。
  3. 如果 AS 路径长度相同,并且 AS_SEQUES 中的第一个 AS 在多条路径中相同时,将比较多出口鉴别器 (MED)。最好使用 MED 值最低的路径。

注意:最佳做法是避免使用 AS Path 前置,以便两条隧道具有相等的 AS PATH 值。如果 AS PATH 值相等,AWS 在 VPN 隧道终端节点更新期间在隧道上设置的 MED 值将决定隧道优先级。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I configure my Site-to-Site VPN connection to prefer tunnel A over tunnel B?

Last updated: 2021-02-02

My AWS Site-to-Site VPN connection consists of two virtual private network (VPN) tunnels. These tunnels exist between a customer gateway device and either a virtual private gateway or a transit gateway. How can I be sure that tunnel A is preferred over tunnel B when sending traffic from AWS to an on-premises network?

Resolution

Static VPNs created between a customer gateway and either a virtual private gateway or a transit gateway

In this scenario, the virtual private gateway or transit gateway sends traffic from AWS to the on-premises network on a single VPN tunnel. This tunnel is randomly chosen by AWS and is referred to as the preferred tunnel.

If the AWS VPN connection (static routing type) has an Active/Active configuration (both tunnels are UP), then you can't configure AWS to prefer a specific tunnel to send traffic. For example, tunnel A was randomly chosen by AWS as the preferred VPN tunnel for sending traffic from AWS to the on-premises network. If tunnel A goes down, traffic from AWS automatically fails over to tunnel B.
Note: With an Active/Active configuration, the customer gateway must have Asymmetric routing enabled on the virtual tunnel interfaces.

If the AWS VPN connection (static routing type) has an Active/Passive configuration (Tunnel A is UP, but tunnel B is DOWN), then traffic from AWS to the on-premises network traverses tunnel A because it's in the UP state.

Dynamic VPNs created between a customer gateway and either a virtual private gateway or a transit gateway

For virtual private gateway or transit gateway configurations with ECMP disabled

Traffic from AWS to the on-premises network is sent over the preferred tunnel (randomly chosen by AWS) when the AWS VPN connection:

  • Has an Active/Active configuration (both tunnels are UP), and
  • Is advertising the same prefixes to the virtual private gateway or transit gateway with the same Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) attributes.
    Note: With an Active/Active configuration, the customer gateway must have Asymmetric routing enabled on the virtual tunnel interfaces.

If the AWS VPN connection (dynamic routing type) has an Active/Passive configuration (tunnel A is UP, but tunnel B is DOWN), traffic from AWS to the on-premises network traverses tunnel A because it's in the UP state.

For transit gateway configurations with ECMP enabled

The transit gateway load balances traffic from AWS to the on-premises network between the VPN tunnels:

  • If the same prefixes are advertised from the customer gateway device over the tunnels, and
  • BGP attributes for the prefixes advertised from the customer gateway device must be identical on the VPN tunnels. These BGP attributes include the AS-Path prepend and the first AS in the AS_SEQUENCE, MED.

For dynamic AWS VPN connections

Set the customer gateway device to prefer one VPN tunnel over the other by leveraging the order of preference criteria:

  1. Advertise a more specific prefix to the virtual private gateway or transit gateway on the tunnel that the customer prefers to receive traffic from AWS.
  2. For matching prefixes where each VPN connection uses BGP, the AS PATH is compared and the prefix with the shortest AS PATH is preferred.
  3. When the AS PATHs are the same length, and the first AS in the AS_SEQUENCE is the same across multiple paths, multi-exit discriminators (MEDs) are compared. The path with the lowest MED value is preferred.

Note: It's a best practice to avoid using AS Path prepending so that both tunnels have an equal AS PATH value. With an equal AS PATH value, the MED value that AWS sets on the tunnel during VPN tunnel endpoint updates determines tunnel priority.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?