Why do I still see my Amazon S3 bucket even though I deleted it?
Last updated: 2019-12-17
I deleted my Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) bucket. However, I can still see the bucket in the Amazon S3 console or in responses to API requests. Why is this happening?
Because of the distributed nature of Amazon S3 and its eventual consistency model, it can take some time for changes to propagate across all AWS Regions. This is why you might temporarily see your bucket in the console, or in a response to a ListBuckets API request, even after you delete the bucket.
Until the bucket is completely removed by Amazon S3, you might still see the bucket, but you can't perform any other actions on the bucket.