I deleted an Amazon Glacier archive and was charged a fee. Why?

Amazon Glacier is designed to store data that you need to access infrequently, but need to retain over a long period of time. If data uploaded to an archive is deleted within 90 days of its creation, you are charged a prorated early deletion fee.

For information on how early deletion fees are calculated, see the Billing section of the Amazon Glacier FAQs.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2016-03-31

Updated: 2017-05-18