如何在同一 Amazon VPC 中的 Amazon EC2 Linux 实例之间进行网络吞吐量基准测试?

上次更新时间:2020 年 9 月 22 日

我想测量位于同一 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 中的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Linux 实例之间的网络带宽。该如何操作?

简短描述

以下是当实例位于同一 Amazon VPC 中时,可能会影响 Amazon EC2 网络性能的一些因素:

  • EC2 实例的物理邻近度。 位于同一可用区的实例,在地理上相互最为接近。位于同一区域但在不同可用区的实例、位于同一大洲上不同区域的实例、以及位于不同大洲上不同区域的实例,相互之间的距离越来越远。
  • EC2 实例最大传输单位 (MTU)。网络连接的 MTU 是您的连接可以通过的最大允许数据包大小(以字节为单位)。所有的 EC2 实例类型均支持 1500 MTU。当前一代的所有 Amazon EC2 实例都支持巨型帧。此外,上一代实例、C3、G2、I2、M3 和 R3 也使用巨型帧。巨型帧允许 1500 MTU 以上的大小。但是,有些情况下,即使使用巨型帧,您的实例也仅限于 1500 MTU。有关更多信息,请参阅巨型帧 (9001 MTU)
  • EC2 实例的大小。对于同一个实例类型,通常情况下,实例越大,提供的网络性能越高。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 实例类型
  • Amazon EC2 增强了对 Linux 的联网支持,T2 和 M3 实例类型除外。有关更多信息,请参阅 Linux 上的增强联网。有关在您的实例上启用增强联网的信息,请参阅如何在我的 EC2 实例上启用并配置增强联网?
  • 使用置放群组的 Amazon EC2 高性能计算 (HPC) 支持。 HPC 提供完全等分的带宽和低延迟,最多支持 100Gb 网络速度,具体取决于实例类型。如要了解每个实例类型的网络性能,请参阅 Amazon Linux AMI 实例类型矩阵。有关更多信息,请参阅在置放群组中启动实例
  • 该实例是突发性能实例(T3、T3a 和 T2 实例)。 当突发实例性能低于其网络吞吐量性能基线时,将产生 CPU 积分。这些积分可使突发性能实例临时爆增到其网络吞吐量基线之上。有关更多信息,请参阅可突增性能实例

由于前述因素,不同云环境之间的网络性能可能有显著的差异。一项最佳实践是定期评估环境的网络性能并确立基线,从而提高应用程序的性能。测试网络性能可提供宝贵意见,从而确定最适合您的需求的 EC2 实例类型、大小和配置。您可以在您选择的任意实例组合上运行网络性能测试。

如果需要更多信息,请建立支持案例,并询问您感兴趣的特定实例类型的其他网络性能指标。

解决方法

在开始基准测试之前,先启动并配置您的 EC2 Linux 实例:

1.    启动两个 Linux 实例,以便用来运行网络性能测试。

2.    验证这些实例支持 Linux 增强联网,并且位于同一 Amazon VPC 中。

3.    (可选)如果要在不支持巨型帧的实例之间执行网络测试,请按照 EC2 实例的网络最大传输单位 (MTU) 中所述步骤操作,在您的实例上检查并设置 MTU。

4.    连接到实例以验证您是否可以访问这些实例。

在两个实例上安装 iperf 网络基准测试工具

在一些发行版本(如 Amazon Linux)中,iperf 是 Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux (EPEL) 存储库的一部分。如要启用 EPEL 存储库,请参阅如何为运行 CentOS、RHEL 或 Amazon Linux 的 Amazon EC2 实例启用 EPEL 存储库?

注意:iperf 命令指的是版本 2.x。iperf3 命令指的是版本 3.x。在对具有高吞吐量的 EC2 实例进行基准测试时,请使用版本 2.x,因为版本 2.x 提供了多线程支持。尽管 3.x 版本也支持使用 -P 标志的并行流,但 3.x 版本是单线程的,并受单个 CPU 的限制。因此,3.x 版本需要并行运行多个进程,以便在较大的 EC2 实例上驱动必要的吞吐量。 有关更多信息,请参阅 ESnet 网站上的 IPerf2/IPerf3

连接到您的 Linux 实例,然后运行以下命令以安装 iperf。

要在 RHEL 6 Linux 主机上安装 iperf,请运行以下命令:

# yum -y install  https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/epel-release-latest-6.noarch.rpm  && yum -y install iperf

要在 RHEL 7 Linux 主机上安装 iperf,请运行以下命令:

# yum -y install  https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/epel-release-latest-7.noarch.rpm  && yum -y install iperf

要在 Debian/Ubuntu 主机上安装 iperf,请运行以下命令:

# apt-get install -y iperf

要在 CentOS 6/7 主机上安装 iperf,请运行以下命令:

# yum -y install epel-release && yum -y install iperf

测试两个实例的 TCP 网络性能

默认情况下,iperf 在测试 TCP 性能时通过端口 5001 进行通信。不过,可以使用 -p 开关配置该端口。请确保将安全组配置为允许通过 iperf 使用的端口进行通信。

1.    将一个实例配置为服务器以侦听默认端口,或使用 -p 开关指定备用侦听器端口。将 5001 替换为您的端口(如果不同)。

$ sudo iperf -s [-p 5001]

2.    将第二个实例配置为客户端,使用所需参数,对服务器运行测试。例如,下面的命令会使用两个并行连接对指定服务器实例启动 TCP 测试:

#iperf -c 172.31.1.152 --parallel 2 -i 1 -t 2

注意:要使用 iperf(版本 2)进行双向测试,请在客户端侧上使用 -r 选项。

使用这些指定的 iperf 参数,输出将显示每个客户端流的间隔、每个客户端流传输的数据以及每个客户端流使用的带宽。以下 iperf 输出显示了两个 c5n.18xlarge EC2 Linux 实例的测试结果。在所有连接之间传输的总带宽为 9.6Gb/秒:

------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 172.31.1.152, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 4.00 MByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[ 3] local 172.31.8.116 port 43582 connected with 172.31.1.152 port 5001
[ 4] local 172.31.8.116 port 43584 connected with 172.31.1.152 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 4] 0.0- 1.0 sec 597 MBytes 5.01 Gbits/sec
[ 3] 0.0- 1.0 sec 598 MBytes 5.02 Gbits/sec
[SUM] 0.0- 1.0 sec 1.17 GBytes 10.0 Gbits/sec
[ 3] 1.0- 2.0 sec 597 MBytes 5.01 Gbits/sec
[ 3] 0.0- 2.0 sec 1.17 GBytes 5.01 Gbits/sec
[ 4] 1.0- 2.0 sec 596 MBytes 5.00 Gbits/sec
[SUM] 1.0- 2.0 sec 1.16 GBytes 10.0 Gbits/sec
[ 4] 0.0- 2.0 sec 1.17 GBytes 5.00 Gbits/sec
[SUM] 0.0- 2.0 sec 2.33 GBytes 10.0 Gbits/sec

测试两个实例之间的 UDP 网络性能

默认情况下,iperf 在测试 UDP 性能时通过端口 5001 进行通信。不过,您使用的端口可使用 -p 开关进行配置。请确保将安全组配置为允许通过 iperf 使用的端口进行通信。

注意:除非您指定了不同的带宽,否则 UDP 的默认值为 1Mbps。

1.    将一个实例配置为服务器以侦听默认 UDP 端口,或使用 -p 开关指定备用侦听器端口。将 5001 替换为您的端口(如果不同)。

$ sudo iperf -s -u [-p 5001]

2.    将第二个实例配置为客户端,然后使用所需参数对服务器运行测试。例如,以下命令启动对指定服务器实例的 UDP 测试,其中 -b 的参数设置为 5g,这是 c5n18xlarge 实例可以提供的最高网络性能。

#iperf -c 172.31.1.152 -u -b 5g

输出显示了间隔(时间)、传输的数据量、实现的带宽、抖动(数据报周期性到达的时间偏差)以及丢失/总 UDP 数据报数:

Output:
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 172.31.1.152, UDP port 5001
Sending 1470 byte datagrams, IPG target: 2.35 us (kalman adjust)
UDP buffer size: 208 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[ 3] local 172.31.8.116 port 38942 connected with 172.31.1.152 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 5.70 GBytes 4.90 Gbits/sec
[ 3] Sent 4163756 datagrams
[ 3] Server Report:
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 5.68 GBytes 4.88 Gbits/sec 0.002 ms 14124/4163756 (0.34%)

How do I benchmark network throughput between Amazon EC2 Linux instances in the same Amazon VPC?

Last updated: 2020-06-24

I want to measure the network bandwidth between Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Linux instances in the same Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). How can I do that?

Short description

Here are some factors that can affect Amazon EC2 network performance when the instances are in the same Amazon VPC:

  • The physical proximity of the EC2 instances. Instances in the same Availability Zone are geographically closest to each other. Instances in different Availability Zones in the same Region, instances in different Regions on the same continent, and instances in different Regions on different continents are progressively farther away from one another.
  • The EC2 instance maximum transmission unit (MTU). The MTU of a network connection is the largest permissible packet size (in bytes) that your connection can pass. All EC2 instances types support 1500 MTU. All current generation Amazon EC2 instances support jumbo frames. In addition, the previous generation instances, C3, G2, I2, M3, and R3 also use jumbo frames. Jumbo frames allow more than 1500 MTU. However, there are scenarios where your instance is limited to 1500 MTU even with jumbo frames. For more information, see Jumbo frames (9001 MTU).
  • The size of your EC2 instance. Larger instance sizes for an instance type typically provide better network performance than smaller instance sizes of the same type. For more information, see Amazon EC2 instance types.
  • Amazon EC2 enhanced networking support for Linux, except for T2 and M3 instance types. For more information, see Enhanced networking on Linux. For information on enabling enhanced networking on your instance, see How do I enable and configure enhanced networking on my EC2 instances?
  • Amazon EC2 high performance computing (HPC) support that uses placement groups. HPC provides full-bisection bandwidth and low latency, with support for up to 100-gigabit network speeds, depending on the instance type. To review network performance for each instance type, see Amazon Linux AMI instance type matrix. For more information, see Launching instances in a placement group.
  • The instance is a burstable performance instance (T3, T3a, and T2 instances). When a burstable instance performs below its network throughput performance baseline, CPU credits accrue. These credits allow burstable performance instances to temporarily burst above their network throughput baseline. For more information, see Burstable performance instances.

Because of the preceding factors, there might be significant network performance difference between different cloud environments. It's a best practice to periodically evaluate and baseline the network performance of your environment to improve application performance. Testing network performance provides valuable insight for determining the EC2 instance types, sizes, and configurations that best suit your needs. You can run network performance tests on any combination of instances you choose.

For more information, open a support case and ask for additional network performance specifications for the specific instance types that you're interested in.

Resolution

Before beginning benchmark tests, launch and configure your EC2 Linux instances:

1.    Launch two Linux instances that you can run network performance testing from.

2.    Verify that the instances support enhanced networking for Linux, and that they are in the same Amazon VPC.

3.    (Optional) If you're performing network testing between instances that don't support jumbo frames, then follow the steps in Network maximum transmission unit (MTU) for your EC2 instance to check and set the MTU on your instance.

4.    Connect to the instances to verify that you can access the instances.

Install the iperf network benchmark tool on both instances

In some distros, such as Amazon Linux, iperf is part of the Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux (EPEL) repository. To enable the EPEL repository, see How do I enable the EPEL repository for my Amazon EC2 instance running CentOS, RHEL, or Amazon Linux?

Connect to your Linux instances, and then run the following commands to install iperf.

To install iperf on RHEL 6 Linux hosts, run the following command:

# yum -y install  https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/epel-release-latest-6.noarch.rpm  && yum -y install iperf

To install iperf on RHEL 7 Linux hosts, run the following command:

# yum -y install  https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/epel-release-latest-7.noarch.rpm  && yum -y install iperf

To install iperf on Debian/Ubuntu hosts, run the following command:

# apt-get install -y iperf

To install iperf on CentOS 6/7 hosts, run the following command:

# yum -y install epel-release && yum -y install iperf

Test TCP network performance between the instances

By default, iperf communicates over port 5001 when testing TCP performance. However, you can configure that port by using the -p switch. Be sure to configure your security groups to allow communication over the port that iperf uses.

1.    Configure one instance as a server to listen on the default port, or specify an alternate listener port with the -p switch. Replace 5001 with your port, if different.

$ sudo iperf -s [-p 5001]

2.    Configure a second instance as a client, and run a test against the server with the desired parameters. For example, the following command initiates a TCP test against the specified server instance with two parallel connections:

#iperf -c 172.31.1.152 --parallel 2 -i 1 -t 2

Note: For a bidirectional test with iperf (version 2), use the -r option on the client side.

Using these specified iperf parameters, the output displays the interval per client stream, the data transferred per client stream, and the bandwidth used by each client stream. The following iperf output shows test results for two c5n.18xlarge EC2 Linux instances. The total bandwidth transmitted across all connections was 9.6 Gbits/second:

------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 172.31.1.152, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 4.00 MByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[ 3] local 172.31.8.116 port 43582 connected with 172.31.1.152 port 5001
[ 4] local 172.31.8.116 port 43584 connected with 172.31.1.152 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 4] 0.0- 1.0 sec 597 MBytes 5.01 Gbits/sec
[ 3] 0.0- 1.0 sec 598 MBytes 5.02 Gbits/sec
[SUM] 0.0- 1.0 sec 1.17 GBytes 10.0 Gbits/sec
[ 3] 1.0- 2.0 sec 597 MBytes 5.01 Gbits/sec
[ 3] 0.0- 2.0 sec 1.17 GBytes 5.01 Gbits/sec
[ 4] 1.0- 2.0 sec 596 MBytes 5.00 Gbits/sec
[SUM] 1.0- 2.0 sec 1.16 GBytes 10.0 Gbits/sec
[ 4] 0.0- 2.0 sec 1.17 GBytes 5.00 Gbits/sec
[SUM] 0.0- 2.0 sec 2.33 GBytes 10.0 Gbits/sec

Test UDP network performance between the instances

By default, iperf communicates over port 5001 when testing UDP performance. However, the port that you use is configurable using the -p switch. Be sure to configure your security groups to allow communication over the port that iperf uses.

Note: The default for UDP is 1 Mbit per second unless you specify a different bandwidth.

1.    Configure one instance as a server to listen on the default UDP port, or specify an alternate listener port with the -p switch. Replace 5001 with your port, if different.

$ sudo iperf -s -u [-p 5001]

2.    Configure a second instance as a client, and then run a test against the server with the desired parameters. For example, the following command initiates a UDP test against the specified server instance with the -b parameter set to 5g, the maximum network performance a c5n18xlarge instance can provide.

#iperf -c 172.31.1.152 -u -b 5g

The output shows the interval (time), the amount of data transferred, the bandwidth achieved, the jitter (the deviation in time for the periodic arrival of data grams), and the loss/total of UDP datagrams:

Output:
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 172.31.1.152, UDP port 5001
Sending 1470 byte datagrams, IPG target: 2.35 us (kalman adjust)
UDP buffer size: 208 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[ 3] local 172.31.8.116 port 38942 connected with 172.31.1.152 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 5.70 GBytes 4.90 Gbits/sec
[ 3] Sent 4163756 datagrams
[ 3] Server Report:
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 5.68 GBytes 4.88 Gbits/sec 0.002 ms 14124/4163756 (0.34%)