如何解决 Amazon OpenSearch Service 中的搜索或写入被拒绝问题?

上次更新时间: 2021 年 10 月 19 日

当我向 Amazon OpenSearch Service 集群提交搜索或写入请求时,请求已被拒绝。为什么会发生这种情况?

简短描述

当您在 OpenSearch Service 集群中写入或搜索数据时,您可能会收到以下 HTTP 429 错误或 es_rejected_execution_exception

error":"elastic: Error 429 (Too Many Requests): rejected execution of org.elasticsearch.transport.TransportService$7@b25fff4 on 
EsThreadPoolExecutor[bulk, queue capacity = 200, org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsThreadPoolExecutor@768d4a66[Running, 
pool size = 2, active threads = 2, queued tasks = 200, completed tasks = 820898]] [type=es_rejected_execution_exception]"

Reason={"type":"es_rejected_execution_exception","reason":"rejected execution of org.elasticsearch.transport.TcpTransport$RequestHandler@3ad6b683 on EsThreadPoolExecutor[search, queue capacity = 1000, org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsThreadPoolExecutor@bef81a5[Running, pool size = 25, active threads = 23, queued tasks = 1000, completed tasks = 440066695]]"

以下变量可能会造成 HTTP 429 错误或 es_rejected_execution_exception 异常:

  • 数据节点实例类型和搜索或写入限制
  • 实例指标的高值
  • 活动线程和队列线程

发生 HTTP 429 错误的原因可能是在于对向集群发出的搜索写入请求。拒绝也可能来自集群的单个节点或多个节点。

注意:不同版本的 Elasticsearch 使用不同的线程池来处理对 _index API 的调用。Elasticsearch 1.5 和 2.3 版使用索引线程池。Elasticsearch 5.x、6.0 和 6.2 版使用批量线程池。Elasticsearch 6.3 版及更高版本使用写线程池。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的线程池

解决方法

数据节点实例类型和搜索或写入限制

数据节点实例类型具有固定的虚拟 CPU (vCPUs)。将 vCPU 计数代入公式中,以检索节点在进入队列之前可以执行的并发搜索写入操作。如果活动线程已满,则该线程会溢出到队列并最终被拒绝。有关 vCPU 和节点类型之间关系的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon OpenSearch Service 定价

此外,您可以执行的每个节点搜索或每个节点写入次数有限制。此限制基于线程池定义和 Elasticsearch 版本号。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的线程池

例如,如果您为 Elasticsearch 集群(版本 7.4)中的五个节点选择了 R5.2xlarge 节点类型,则节点将有 8 个 vCPU。

使用以下公式计算搜索请求的最大活动线程数:

int ((# of available_processors * 3) / 2) + 1

使用以下公式计算写入请求的最大活动线程数:

int (# of available_processors)

因此,对于一个 R5.2xlarge 节点,您最多可以执行 13 个搜索操作:

(8 VCPUs * 3) / 2 + 1 = 13 operations

对于一个 R5.2xlarge 节点,您最多可以执行 8 个写入操作:

8 VCPUs = 8 operations

对于具有五个节点的 OpenSearch Service 集群,您最多可以执行 65 个搜索操作:

5 nodes * 13 = 65 operations

对于具有五个节点的 OpenSearch Service 集群,您最多可以执行 40 个写入操作:

5 nodes * 8 = 40 operations

实例指标的高值

要对 429 异常情况进行问题排除,请检查集群的以下 Amazon CloudWatch 指标:

  • IndexingRate:每分钟的索引操作次数。对 _bulk API 的单次调用将添加两个文档并将两个计数更新为四个操作,这些操作可能分布在一个或多个节点上。如果该索引有一个或多个副本,则集群中的其他节点也会共计记录四个索引操作。文档删除不计入 IndexingRate 指标中。
  • SearchRate:数据节点上所有分区每分钟的搜索请求总数。对 _search API 进行一次调用可能会返回来自很多不同分区的结果。如果一个节点上有五个不同的分区,则该节点将此指标报告为 "5",即使客户端只发出了一个请求。
  • CoordinatingWriteRejected:协调节点上发生的拒绝总数。这些拒绝是由 OpenSearch Service 启动以来累积的索引压力造成的。
  • PrimaryWriteRejected:主分区上发生的拒绝总数。这些拒绝是由于自上次 OpenSearch Service 启动以来累积的索引压力造成的。
  • ReplicaWriteRejected:由于索引压力而在副本分区上发生的拒绝总数。这些拒绝是由于自上次 OpenSearch Service 启动以来累积的索引压力造成的。
  • ThreadpoolWriteQueue:写线程池中列队的任务数。此指标将通知您请求是否因高 CPU 使用量或高索引并发性被拒绝。
  • ThreadpoolWriteRejected:写入线程池中被拒绝的任务数量。
    注意:在 OpenSearch 服务 7.9 版本中,原定设置写入队列大小从 200 增加到 10,000。因此,该指标不再是 OpenSearch 服务拒绝的唯一指标。使用 CoordinatingWriteRejectedPrimaryWriteRejectedReplicaWriteRejected 指标来监控版本 7.9 及更高版本中的拒绝情况。有关更多信息,请参阅 UltraWarm 指标
  • ThreadpoolSearchQueue:搜索线程池中队列的任务数。如果队列大小始终很高,请考虑扩展集群。搜索队列的最大大小为 1000。
  • ThreadpoolSearchRejected:搜索线程池中被拒绝的任务数。如果此数字持续增长,请考虑扩展集群。

注意:列出的线程池指标有助于向您提供有关 IndexingRateSearchRate 的信息。

有关使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控 OpenSearch Service 集群的更多信息,请参阅实例指标

活动线程和队列线程

如果缺少 CPU 或请求并发性高,队列可能会很快填满,从而导致 HTTP 429 错误。要监控队列线程,请检查 Amazon CloudWatch 中的 ThreadpoolSearchQueueThreadpoolWriteQueue 指标。

要检查活动线程和队列线程是否存在任何搜索被拒绝情况,请使用以下命令:

GET /_cat/thread_pool/search?v&h=id,name,active,queue,rejected,completed

要检查活动线程和队列线程是否存在写入被拒绝情况,请将“search”替代为“write”。输出中的 rejectedcompleted 值是累积节点计数器,它们可以在启动新节点时重置。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上 cat thread pool API 中的带有显式列的示例部分。

注意:每个节点上的批量队列可以容纳 50 到 200 个请求,具体取决于您使用的 Elasticsearch 版本。队列已满时,将拒绝新请求。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的线程池

搜索和写入被拒绝的示例错误

搜索已被拒绝

搜索被拒绝错误表示活动线程繁忙,并且队列达到最大任务数。因此,您的搜索请求可能会被拒绝。您可以配置 OpenSearch Service 日志,以便在搜索慢速日志中显示这些错误消息。

注意:为避免额外的开销,请将慢速日志阈值设置为很大的值。例如,如果您的大多数查询需要花费 11 秒,而阈值为“10”,则 OpenSearch Service 将需要额外的时间来写入日志。您可以通过将慢速日志阈值设置为 20 秒来避免这种开销。然后,只记录一小部分较慢的查询(花费时间超过 11 秒)。

将集群配置为将搜索慢速日志推送到 Amazon CloudWatch 后,为慢速日志生成设置特定阈值。您可以使用以下 HTTP POST 调用为慢速日志生成设置特定阈值:

curl -XPUT http://<your domain’s endpoint>/index/_settings -d '{"index.search.slowlog.threshold.query.<level>":"10s"}'

写入被拒绝

写入被拒绝 429 错误消息表示存在批量队列错误。es_rejected_execution_exception[bulk] 异常表示您的队列已满,任何新请求都将被拒绝。当对集群的请求数超过批量队列大小 (threadpool.bulk.queue_size) 时,会发生此批量队列错误。每个节点上的批量队列可以容纳 50 到 200 个请求,具体取决于您使用的 Elasticsearch 版本。

您可以配置 OpenSearch Service 日志,以便在索引慢速日志中显示这些错误消息。

注意:为避免额外的开销,请将慢速日志阈值设置为很大的值。例如,如果您的大多数查询需要花费 11 秒,而阈值为“10”,则 OpenSearch Service 将需要额外的时间来写入日志。您可以通过将慢速日志阈值设置为 20 秒来避免这种开销。然后,只记录一小部分较慢的查询(花费时间超过 11 秒)。

将集群配置为将搜索慢速日志推送到 Amazon CloudWatch 后,为慢速日志生成设置特定阈值。要为慢速日志生成设置特定阈值,请使用以下 HTTP POST 调用:

curl -XPUT http://<your domain’s endpoint>/index/_settings -d '{"index.indexing.slowlog.threshold.query.<level>":"10s"}'

写入拒绝最佳实践

以下是减少写入拒绝的一些最佳实践:

  • 当文档生成索引速度更快时,写队列的容量不太可能用尽。
  • 根据您的工作负载和期望的性能调整批量大小。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的调整索引速度
  • 在应用程序逻辑中添加指数重试逻辑。指数重试逻辑可确保自动重试失败的请求。
    注意:如果您的集群持续遇到较高的并发请求,则指数重试逻辑将无法帮助解决 429 错误。在流量突然或偶尔出现峰值时,采用此最佳实践。
  • 如果您正在从 Logstash 中提取数据,请调整工作线程计数和批量大小。最佳实践是将批量大小设置为 3 – 5MB 之间。

有关索引性能优化的更多信息,请参阅如何提高我的 Amazon OpenSearch Service 集群上的索引性能?

搜索拒绝最佳实践

下面是减少搜索拒绝的一些最佳实践:

  • 切换到更大的实例类型。OpenSearch Service 在很大程度上依赖文件系统缓存来获得更快的搜索结果。对于搜索请求,每个节点上线程池中的线程数等于以下值:int((# of available_processors * 3) / 2) + 1。切换到具有更多 vCPU 的实例,以获取更多线程来处理搜索请求。
  • 为某个给定的索引或具有合理阈值的所有索引启用搜索慢速日志。检查哪些查询需要更长的时间才能执行并为查询执行搜索性能策略。有关更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的适合初学者的 Elasticsearch 搜索问题排查高级优化: 查找和修复慢速 Elasticsearch 查询

Amazon OpenSearch Service 是 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 的后继者。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I resolve search or write rejections in Amazon OpenSearch Service?

Last updated: 2021-10-19

When I submit a search or write request to my Amazon OpenSearch Service (successor to Amazon Elasticsearch Service) cluster, the requests are rejected. Why is this happening?

Short description

When you write or search for data in your OpenSearch Service cluster, you might receive the following HTTP 429 error or es_rejected_execution_exception:

error":"elastic: Error 429 (Too Many Requests): rejected execution of org.elasticsearch.transport.TransportService$7@b25fff4 on 
EsThreadPoolExecutor[bulk, queue capacity = 200, org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsThreadPoolExecutor@768d4a66[Running, 
pool size = 2, active threads = 2, queued tasks = 200, completed tasks = 820898]] [type=es_rejected_execution_exception]"

Reason={"type":"es_rejected_execution_exception","reason":"rejected execution of org.elasticsearch.transport.TcpTransport$RequestHandler@3ad6b683 on EsThreadPoolExecutor[search, queue capacity = 1000, org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsThreadPoolExecutor@bef81a5[Running, pool size = 25, active threads = 23, queued tasks = 1000, completed tasks = 440066695]]"

The following variables can contribute to an HTTP 429 error or es_rejected_execution_exception:

  • Data node instance types and search or write limits
  • High values for instance metrics
  • Active and Queue threads

HTTP 429 errors can occur because of search and write requests to your cluster. Rejections can also come from a single node or multiple nodes of your cluster.

Note: Different versions of Elasticsearch use different thread pools to process calls to the _index API. Elasticsearch versions 1.5 and 2.3 use the index thread pool. Elasticsearch versions 5.x, 6.0, and 6.2 use the bulk thread pool. Elasticsearch versions 6.3 and later use the write thread pool. For more information, see Thread pool on the Elasticsearch website.

Resolution

Data node instance types and search or write limits

A data node instance type has fixed virtual CPUs (vCPUs). Plug the vCPU count into your formula to retrieve the concurrent search or write operations that your node can perform before the node enters a queue. If an active thread becomes full, the thread spills over to a queue and is eventually rejected. For more information about the relationship between vCPUs and node types, see Amazon OpenSearch Service pricing.

Additionally, there is a limit to how many searches per node or writes per node that you can perform. This limit is based on the thread pool definition and Elasticsearch version number. For more information, see Thread pool on the Elasticsearch website.

For example, if you choose the R5.2xlarge node type for five nodes in your Elasticsearch cluster (version 7.4), the node will have 8 vCPUs.

Use the following formula to calculate maximum active threads for search requests:

int ((# of available_processors * 3) / 2) + 1

Use the following formula to calculate maximum active threads for write requests:

int (# of available_processors)

Therefore, for an R5.2xlarge node, you can perform a maximum of 13 search operations:

(8 VCPUs * 3) / 2 + 1 = 13 operations

For an R5.2xlarge node, you can perform a maximum of 8 write operations:

8 VCPUs = 8 operations

For an OpenSearch Service cluster with five nodes, you can then perform a maximum of 65 search operations:

5 nodes * 13 = 65 operations

For an OpenSearch Service cluster with five nodes, you can then perform a maximum of 40 write operations:

5 nodes * 8 = 40 operations

High values for instance metrics

To troubleshoot your 429 exception, check the following Amazon CloudWatch metrics for your cluster:

  • IndexingRate: The number of indexing operations per minute. A single call to the _bulk API that adds two documents and updates two counts as four operations that might be spread across one or more nodes. If that index has one or more replicas, other nodes in the cluster also record a total of four indexing operations. Document deletions don't count towards the IndexingRate metric.
  • SearchRate: The total number of search requests per minute for all shards on a data node. A single call to the _search API might return results from many different shards. If five different shards are on one node, then the node reports "5" for this metric, even if the client only made one request.
  • CoordinatingWriteRejected: The total number of rejections that occurred on the coordinating node. These rejections are caused by the indexing pressure that accumulated since the OpenSearch Service startup.
  • PrimaryWriteRejected: The total number of rejections that occurred on the primary shards. These rejections are caused by indexing pressure that accumulated since the last OpenSearch Service startup.
  • ReplicaWriteRejected: The total number of rejections that occurred on the replica shards because of indexing pressure. These rejections are caused by indexing pressure that accumulated since the last OpenSearch Service startup.
  • ThreadpoolWriteQueue: The number of queued tasks in the write thread pool. This metric informs you whether a request is being rejected because of high CPU usage or high indexing concurrency.
  • ThreadpoolWriteRejected: The number of rejected tasks in the write thread pool.
    Note: The default write queue size was increased from 200 to 10,000 in OpenSearch Service version 7.9. As a result, this metric is no longer the only indicator of rejections from OpenSearch Service. Use the CoordinatingWriteRejected, PrimaryWriteRejected, and ReplicaWriteRejected metrics to monitor rejections in versions 7.9 and later. For more information, see UltraWarm metrics.
  • ThreadpoolSearchQueue: The number of queued tasks in the search thread pool. If the queue size is consistently high, consider scaling your cluster. The maximum search queue size is 1,000.
  • ThreadpoolSearchRejected: The number of rejected tasks in the search thread pool. If this number continually grows, consider scaling your cluster.

Note: The thread pool metrics that are listed help inform you about the IndexingRate and SearchRate.

For more information about monitoring your OpenSearch Service cluster with Amazon CloudWatch, see Instance metrics.

Active and Queue threads

If there is a lack of CPUs or high request concurrency, a queue can fill up quickly, resulting in an HTTP 429 error. To monitor your queue threads, check the ThreadpoolSearchQueue and ThreadpoolWriteQueue metrics metrics in Amazon CloudWatch.

To check your Active and Queue threads for any search rejections, use the following command:

GET /_cat/thread_pool/search?v&h=id,name,active,queue,rejected,completed

To check Active and Queue threads for write rejections, replace "search" with "write". The rejected and completed values in the output are cumulative node counters, which are reset when new nodes are launched. For more information, see the Example with explicit columns section of cat thread pool API on the Elasticsearch website.

Note: The bulk queue on each node can hold between 50 and 200 requests, depending on which Elasticsearch version you are using. When the queue is full, new requests are rejected. For more information, see Thread pool on the Elasticsearch website.

Sample errors for search and write rejections

Search rejections

A search rejection error indicates that active threads are busy and that queues are filled up to the maximum number of tasks. As a result, your search request can be rejected. You can configure OpenSearch Service logs so that these error messages appear in your search slow logs.

Note: To avoid extra overhead, set your slow log threshold to a generous amount. For example, if most of your queries take 11 seconds and your threshold is "10", then OpenSearch Service takes more time to write a log. You can avoid this overhead by setting your slow log threshold to 20 seconds. Then, only a small percentage of the slower queries (that take longer than 11 seconds) is logged.

After your cluster is configured to push search slow logs to Amazon CloudWatch, set a specific threshold for slow log generation. You can set a specific threshold for slow log generation with the following HTTP POST call:

curl -XPUT http://<your domain’s endpoint>/index/_settings -d '{"index.search.slowlog.threshold.query.<level>":"10s"}'

Write rejections

A 429 error message as a write rejection indicates a bulk queue error. The es_rejected_execution_exception[bulk] indicates that your queue is full and that any new requests are rejected. This bulk queue error occurs when the number of requests to the cluster exceeds the bulk queue size (threadpool.bulk.queue_size). A bulk queue on each node can hold between 50 and 200 requests, depending on which Elasticsearch version you are using.

You can configure OpenSearch Service logs so that these error messages appear in your index slow logs.

Note: To avoid extra overhead, set your slow log threshold to a generous amount. For example, if most of your queries take 11 seconds and your threshold is "10", OpenSearch Service will take additional time to write a log. You can avoid this overhead by setting your slow log threshold to 20 seconds. Then, only a small percentage of the slower queries (that take longer than 11 seconds) is logged.

After your cluster is configured to push search slow logs to Amazon CloudWatch, set a specific threshold for slow log generation. To set a specific threshold for slow log generation, use the following HTTP POST call:

curl -XPUT http://<your domain’s endpoint>/index/_settings -d '{"index.indexing.slowlog.threshold.query.<level>":"10s"}'

Write rejection best practices

Here are some best practices that mitigate write rejections:

  • When documents are indexed faster, the write queue is less likely to reach capacity.
  • Tune bulk size according to your workload and desired performance. For more information, see Tune for indexing speed on the Elasticsearch website.
  • Add exponential retry logic in your application logic. The exponential retry logic ensures that failed requests are automatically retried.
    Note: If your cluster continuously experiences high concurrent requests, then the exponential retry logic won't help resolve the 429 error. Incorporate this best practice when there is a sudden or occasional spike of traffic.
  • If you are ingesting data from Logstash, tune the worker count and bulk size. It's a best practice to set your bulk size between 3-5 MB.

For more information about indexing performance tuning, see How can I improve indexing performance on my Amazon OpenSearch Service cluster?

Search rejection best practices

Here are some best practices that mitigate search rejections:

  • Switch to a larger instance type. OpenSearch Service relies heavily on the filesystem cache for faster search results. The number of threads in the thread pool on each node for search requests is equal to the following: int((# of available_processors * 3) / 2) + 1. Switch to an instance with more vCPUs to get more threads to process search requests.
  • Enable search slow logs for a given index or for all indices with a reasonable threshold value. Check to see which queries are taking longer to run and implement search performance strategies for your queries. For more information, see Troubleshooting Elasticsearch searches, for beginners or Advanced tuning: Finding and fixing slow Elasticsearch queries on the Elasticsearch website.

Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?