如何优化 Amazon EBS 预置 IOPS 卷的性能?

上次更新时间:2020 年 3 月 31 日

我想让我的 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 预置 IOPS 卷持续提供最优的输入/输出性能。如何进行设置?

解决方法

要提高预置 IOPS (SSD) (io1) 卷的性能,请检查以下各项:

初始化还原的 EBS 卷

虽然新的 EBS 卷不需要初始化(预热),但从快照还原的卷上的存储块必须首先进行初始化,然后才能对其进行访问。有关更多信息,请参阅初始化 Amazon EBS 卷

确认工作负载需求、平均队列长度和 IOPS 速率

卷上的工作负载需求与预置的 IOPS 必须匹配。如果 I/O 延迟高,请检查平均队列长度,以确保应用程序尝试驱动的 IOPS 不会超过您预置的水平。如果 IOPS 超过您预置的水平,同时应用程序对延迟十分敏感,请考虑使用具有更高预置 IOPS 的预置 IOPS (SSD) 卷。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EBS 优化实例

有关最佳卷队列长度的信息,请参阅 I/O 特征和监控中的卷队列长度和延迟部分。

确保 I/O 操作的大小没有限制预置 IOPS

I/O 操作的大小会影响 IOPS。例如,如果 I/O 区块非常大,由于存在每卷 500MiB/s 的吞吐量限制,您的实际 IOPS 可能会少于预置的水平。有关更多信息,请参阅 I/O 特征和监控以及预置 IOPS SSD (io1) 卷。如果您的 I/O 大小一直较大,请考虑在一个 RAID 0 配置中组合多个预置 IOPS (SSD) 卷,从而提高可用的吞吐量。有关更多信息,请参阅 Linux 上的 RAID 配置

检查对 EBS 快照的使用情况以避免产生不必要的费用

EBS 快照提供增强的数据持久性,最佳实践是考虑您的快照拍摄频率和保留设置,以避免产生不必要的 EBS 快照费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Ops Automator

使用 Amazon CloudWatch 来分析和查看 EBS 性能指标

CloudWatch 控制台将会显示状态检查结果,以帮助监控卷的运行状况。卷的平均队列长度应保持为每 1000 个预置 IOPS 每分钟一个队列(向上取整至最近的整数)。使用 CloudWatch 指标 volumequeuelength 来确定平均队列长度。
有关使用 CloudWatch 的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EBS 的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标

遵循 AWS Trusted Advisor 性能最佳实践

运行 Amazon EBS 预置 IOPS (SSD) 卷挂载配置检查,以确定已经挂载到 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例但尚未进行 EBS 优化的预置 IOPS (SSD) 卷。预置 IOPS 卷仅在挂载到 EBS 优化的实例时才能提供预期的性能。有关此项检查的更多信息,请参阅 AWS Trusted Advisor 最佳实践检查 – 性能。请确保对于所有挂载的 EBS 卷,EBS 优化实例类型提供足够的 IOPS 和吞吐量支持。

注意:Amazon EBS 预置 IOPS (SSD) 卷挂载配置最佳实践检查适用于购买了“商业级”或“企业级”支持计划的客户。

测试预置 IOPS (SSD) 卷的性能

模拟与您的应用程序类似的工作负载。有关更多信息,请参阅对 EBS 卷进行基准测试

How do I optimize the performance of my Amazon EBS Provisioned IOPS volumes?

Last updated: 2020-03-31

I want my Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) Provisioned IOPS volumes to deliver optimal levels of input/output performance on a consistent basis. How can I set this up?

Resolution

To improve the performance for your provisioned IOPS (SSD) (io1) volumes, check the following:

Initialize your restored EBS volumes

While new EBS volumes do not require initialization (pre-warming), storage blocks on volumes restored from snapshots must be initialized before you can access them. For more information, see Initializing Amazon EBS Volumes.

Confirm the workload demand, average queue length, and IOPS rate

Match the workload demand on the volume to the IOPS that you provisioned. If I/O latency is high, check the average queue length to be sure that your application is not trying to drive more IOPS than you provisioned. If the IOPS is higher than what you provisioned and the application is latency sensitive, consider using a Provisioned IOPS (SSD) volume with more provisioned IOPS. For more information, see Amazon EBS-Optimized Instances.

For information on optimal volume queue length, see the Volume Queue Length and Latency section in I/O Characteristics and Monitoring.

Make sure the size of your I/O operations aren't limiting provisioned IOPS

The size of I/O operations affects IOPS. For example, if the I/O chunks are very large, you might get fewer IOPS than you provisioned because of the 500 MiB/s per volume throughput limit. For more information, see I/O Characteristics and Monitoring and Provisioned IOPS SSD (io1) Volumes. If your I/O size is consistently large, consider joining multiple Provisioned IOPS (SSD) volumes together in a RAID 0 configuration to increase available throughput. For more information, see RAID Configuration on Linux.

Avoid unnecessary charges by reviewing your use of EBS snapshots

EBS snapshots provide enhanced data durability, and it's a best practice to consider your snapshot frequency and retention settings to avoid incurring unnecessary EBS snapshot charges. For more information, see AWS Ops Automator.

Use Amazon CloudWatch to analyze and view EBS performance metrics

The CloudWatch console shows status checks to help monitor the health of your volumes. Volumes should maintain an average queue length of one per minute (rounded up to the nearest whole number) for every 1,000 provisioned IOPS. Use the CloudWatch metric volumequeuelength to determine average queue length.
For more information about using CloudWatch, see Amazon CloudWatch Metrics for Amazon EBS.

Follow AWS Trusted Advisor performance best practices

Run the Amazon EBS Provisioned IOPS (SSD) Volume Attachment Configuration check to find Provisioned IOPS (SSD) volumes that are attached to an Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance which is not EBS-optimized. Provisioned IOPS volumes deliver expected performance only when they are attached to an EBS-optimized instance. For more information about this check, see AWS Trusted Advisor Best Practice Checks - Performance. Be sure that the EBS-optimized instance type supports enough IOPS and throughput for all the attached EBS volumes.

Note: The Amazon EBS Provisioned IOPS (SSD) Volume Attachment Configuration best practice check is available to customers enrolled in Business or Enterprise support plans.

Test the performance of your Provisioned IOPS (SSD) volume

Simulate workloads that are similar to your application. For more information, see Benchmark EBS Volumes.