I closed my AWS account, but I want to reopen it and continue using AWS services. How do I do that?

After your account is closed, you can still sign in, view your past billing information, or contact AWS Support for up to 90 days.

After 90 days, the account will be permanently deleted and inaccessible, and can't be reopened. Also, the email address associated with the account at the time that it was closed can't be used to create new AWS accounts.

To reopen a closed AWS account, if the account was closed less than 90 days ago, sign in to the account and open a support case. If your need is urgent, choose the Phone contact method, and you'll be contacted by an AWS support agent who can help you reopen your account.

Note: You can sign in to your account and file a support case even if your account is closed, unless it was closed more than 90 days ago.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2016-03-10

Updated: 2018-06-06