将大量数据从一个 Amazon S3 存储桶传输到另一个存储桶的最佳方法是什么?

上次更新时间:2019 年 12 月 16 日

我想要将大量数据(1 TB 或以上)从一个 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶传输到另一个存储桶。该如何操作? 

简短描述

根据您的使用案例,您可以通过以下选项之一在存储桶之间执行数据传输:

  • 使用 AWS 命令行界面 (AWS CLI) 并行上传
  • 使用 AWS 开发工具包
  • 使用跨区域复制或同一区域复制
  • 使用 Amazon S3 批处理操作
  • 结合使用 S3DistCp 与 Amazon EMR

解决方法

使用 AWS CLI 并行上传

注意:作为一项最佳实践,请确保您使用的是最新版本的 AWS CLI。有关更多信息,请参阅安装 AWS CLI

您可以将传输过程拆分为多个互相独立的操作,以通过多线程缩短传输时间。例如,您可以使用 AWS CLI 并行运行 aws s3 cpaws s3 mvaws s3 sync 的多个实例。您可以在将 --exclude 和 --include 参数用于 AWS CLI 的每个实例时创建更多上传线程。这些参数按文件名称筛选操作。

注意:--exclude--include 参数会在客户端处理。因此,本地计算机的资源可能会影响操作性能。

例如,要将大量数据从一个存储桶复制到另一个存储桶,并且其中的所有文件名均以数字开头,您可以在 AWS CLI 的两个实例上运行以下命令。首先,运行此命令来复制名称以数字 0 到 4 开头的文件:

aws s3 cp s3://source-awsexamplebucket/ s3://destination-awsexamplebucket/ --recursive --exclude "*" --include "0*" --include "1*" --include "2*" --include "3*" --include "4*"

然后,运行此命令来复制名称以数字 5 到 9 开头的文件:

aws s3 cp s3://source-awsexamplebucket/ s3://destination-awsexamplebucket/ --recursive --exclude "*" --include "5*" --include "6*" --include "7*" --include "8*" --include "9*"

此外,您可以自定义以下 AWS CLI 配置 来加快数据传输:

  • multipart_chunksize:此值设置 AWS CLI 在单个文件的分段上传中上传的每个部分的大小。通过此设置,您可以将较大的文件(例如 300 MB)分解为较小的部分,以加快上传速度。
    注意:分段上传要求单个文件上传时所分的不同部分不超过 10000 个。您必须确保您所设置的区块大小平衡了各部分文件大小和部分数量。
  • max_concurrent_requests:此值设置一次可以发送至 Amazon S3 的请求数量。默认值为 10。您可以将该值增大到更高的值,如 50。
    注意:运行的线程越多,消耗的计算机资源也越多。您必须确保您的计算机拥有足够的资源来支持您想要的最大并发请求数。

使用 AWS 开发工具包

考虑使用 AWS 开发工具包构建自定义应用程序,以对大量对象执行数据传输。虽然 AWS CLI 可以执行复制操作,但自定义应用程序在执行数亿对象的传输时更为高效。

使用跨区域复制或同一区域复制

当您在源存储桶上设置跨区域复制 (CRR) 或同一区域复制 (SRR) 后,Amazon S3 会将新对象从源存储桶同步和异步复制到目标存储桶中。您可以使用前缀或标签筛选复制哪些对象。有关配置复制和指定筛选条件的更多信息,请参阅复制配置概述

配置好复制后,只有新对象才会复制到目标存储桶中。现有对象不会复制到目标存储桶中。要复制现有对象,您可以在源存储桶上设置复制后运行以下 cp 命令

aws s3 cp s3://source-awsexamplebucket s3://source-awsexamplebucket --recursive --storage-class STANDARD

此命令会将源存储桶中的对象复制回源存储桶中,从而触发至目标存储桶的复制。

注意:最佳做法是在非生产环境中测试 cp 命令。这样做可让您为您的确切使用案例配置参数。

使用 Amazon S3 批处理操作

您可以使用 Amazon S3 批处理操作来通过单一请求复制多个对象。当您创建批处理操作作业时,您可以使用 Amazon S3 库存报告或 CSV 文件指定在哪些对象上执行此操作。然后,Amazon S3 批处理操作将调用 API 执行操作。

当批处理操作作业完成后,您将收到通知,且您可以选择接收作业的完成报告

结合使用 S3DistCp 与 Amazon EMR

Amazon EMR 上的 S3DistCp 操作可以在 Amazon S3 存储桶间执行大量对象的并行复制。S3DistCp 首先会将文件从源存储桶复制到 Amazon EMR 集群的工作线程节点中。然后,该操作会将文件从工作线程节点写入目标存储桶中。有关使用 S3DistCp 的更多指导,请参阅在 Amazon EMR 上使用 S3DistCp 以在 HDFS 与 Amazon S3 之间高效移动数据的七个提示

重要提示:由于此选项要求您使用 Amazon EMR,因此请务必查看 Amazon EMR 定价


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

What's the best way to transfer large amounts of data from one Amazon S3 bucket to another?

Last updated: 2019-12-16

I want to transfer a large amount of data (1 TB or more) from one Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) bucket to another bucket. How can I do that? 

Short Description

Depending on your use case, you can perform the data transfer between buckets using one of the following options:

  • Run parallel uploads using the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI)
  • Use an AWS SDK
  • Use cross-Region replication or same-Region replication
  • Use Amazon S3 batch operations
  • Use S3DistCp with Amazon EMR

Resolution

Run parallel uploads using the AWS CLI

Note: As a best practice, be sure that you're using the most recent version of the AWS CLI. For more information, see Installing the AWS CLI.

You can split the transfer into multiple mutually exclusive operations to improve the transfer time by multi-threading. For example, you can run multiple, parallel instances of aws s3 cp, aws s3 mv, or aws s3 sync using the AWS CLI. You can create more upload threads while using the --exclude and --include parameters for each instance of the AWS CLI. These parameters filter operations by file name.

Note: The --exclude and --include parameters are processed on the client side. Because of this, the resources of your local machine might affect the performance of the operation.

For example, to copy a large amount of data from one bucket to another where all the file names begin with a number, you can run the following commands on two instances of the AWS CLI. First, run this command to copy the files with names that begin with the numbers 0 through 4:

aws s3 cp s3://source-awsexamplebucket/ s3://destination-awsexamplebucket/ --recursive --exclude "*" --include "0*" --include "1*" --include "2*" --include "3*" --include "4*"

Then, run this command to copy the files with names that begin with the numbers 5 through 9:

aws s3 cp s3://source-awsexamplebucket/ s3://destination-awsexamplebucket/ --recursive --exclude "*" --include "5*" --include "6*" --include "7*" --include "8*" --include "9*"

Additionally, you can customize the following AWS CLI configurations to speed up the data transfer:

  • multipart_chunksize: This value sets the size of each part that the AWS CLI uploads in a multipart upload for an individual file. This setting allows you to break down a larger file (for example, 300 MB) into smaller parts for quicker upload speeds.
    Note: A multipart upload requires that a single file is uploaded in not more than 10,000 distinct parts. You must be sure that the chunksize that you set balances the part file size and the number of parts.
  • max_concurrent_requests: This value sets the number of requests that can be sent to Amazon S3 at a time. The default value is 10. You can increase it to a higher value like 50.
    Note: Running more threads consumes more resources on your machine. You must be sure that your machine has enough resources to support the maximum amount of concurrent requests that you want.

Use an AWS SDK

Consider building a custom application using an AWS SDK to perform the data transfer for a very large number of objects. While the AWS CLI can perform the copy operation, a custom application might be more efficient at performing a transfer at the scale of hundreds of millions of objects.

Use cross-Region replication or same-Region replication

After you set up cross-Region replication (CRR) or same-Region replication (SRR) on the source bucket, Amazon S3 automatically and asynchronously replicates new objects from the source bucket to the destination bucket. You can choose to filter which objects are replicated using a prefix or tag. For more information on configuring replication and specifying a filter, see Replication Configuration Overview.

After replication is configured, only new objects are replicated to the destination bucket. Existing objects are not replicated to the destination bucket. To replicate existing objects, you can run the following cp command after setting up replication on the source bucket:

aws s3 cp s3://source-awsexamplebucket s3://source-awsexamplebucket --recursive --storage-class STANDARD

This command copies objects in the source bucket back into the source bucket, which triggers replication to the destination bucket.

Note: It's a best practice to test the cp command in a non-production environment. Doing so allows you to configure the parameters for your exact use case.

Use Amazon S3 batch operations

You can use Amazon S3 batch operations to copy multiple objects with a single request. When you create a batch operation job, you specify which objects to perform the operation on using an Amazon S3 inventory report or a CSV file. Then, Amazon S3 batch operations call the API to perform the operation.

After the batch operation job is complete, you get a notification and you can choose to receive a completion report about the job.

Use S3DistCp with Amazon EMR

The S3DistCp operation on Amazon EMR can perform parallel copying of large volumes of objects across Amazon S3 buckets. S3DistCp first copies the files from the source bucket to the worker nodes in an Amazon EMR cluster. Then, the operation writes the files from the worker nodes to the destination bucket. For more guidance on using S3DistCp, see Seven Tips for Using S3DistCp on Amazon EMR to Move Data Efficiently Between HDFS and Amazon S3.

Important: Because this option requires you use Amazon EMR, be sure to review Amazon EMR pricing.


Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?