如何排查 Amazon RDS 或 Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL 的高 CPU 利用率?

上次更新时间:2020 年 6 月 18 日

如何确定和解决 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 或 Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL 中高 CPU 利用率的原因?

简短描述

如果您发现负载的 CPU 利用率很高,则可以使用以下工具的组合来确定原因:

本文讨论了如何使用每个工具来确定导致高 CPU 利用率的原因。

解决方法

Amazon CloudWatch 指标

您可以使用 CloudWatch 指标来确定长期的 CPU 模式。将图表 WriteIOPsReadIOPsReadThroughputWriteThroughput 与 CPU 利用率进行比较,以找出工作负载导致高 CPU 利用率的时间。

确定时间范围后,您可以查看与数据库实例关联的增强监控数据。您可以将增强监控设置为每隔 1、5、10、15、30 或 60 秒收集一次数据。这使您可以在比 CloudWatch 更精细的级别收集数据。有关更多信息,请参阅 CloudWatch 指标与增强监控指标的区别

增强监控

增强监控提供操作系统 (OS) 级别的视图,可帮助在粒度级别确定高 CPU 负载的原因。例如,您可以查看负载平均值、CPU 分配(system%nice%)和操作系统进程列表。

通过使用增强监控,以 1 分钟、5 分钟和 15 分钟的间隔检查 loadAverageMinute 数据。如果负载平均值大于 vCPU 数量,这表示该实例负载很重。此外,如果负载平均值小于数据库实例类的 vCPU 数量,则应用程序延迟可能并非由 CPU 限制引起。检查负载平均值,以避免在诊断 CPU 使用原因时出现误报。

例如,如果您的数据库实例使用 db.m4.2xlarge 实例类且具有 3000 个预置 IOPS(达到 CPU 限制),则可查看以下示例指标来确定高 CPU 使用的根本原因。在以下示例中,实例类具有与之关联的八个 vCPU。对于相同的负载平均值,超过 170 表示在测量的时间范围内计算机处于重负载:

负载平均分钟
 
15 170.25
5 391.31
1 596.74
CPU 利用率  
用户 (%) 0.71
系统 (%) 4.9
Nice 值 (%) 93.92
总计 (%) 99.97

注意:与数据库实例上运行的其他任务相比,Amazon RDS 为您的工作负载赋予了更高优先级。为了优先处理这些任务,为工作负载任务指定较高的 Nice 值。因此,在增强监控中,Nice% 表示工作负载对数据库使用的 CPU 量。

启用增强监控后,还可检查与数据库实例关联的操作系统进程列表。增强监控仅显示 CPU 和内存的前 50 个进程。这可帮助您根据 CPU 和内存使用情况确定哪些进程对性能的影响最大。

您可以将增强监控结果与 pg_stat_activity 结果相结合,以帮助确定查询的资源使用情况

性能详情

检查对应特定时间范围的 SQL 选项卡后,您可以使用 Amazon RDS 性能详情来确定负责数据库负载的查询。

本机 PostgreSQL 视图和目录

在数据库引擎级别,如果问题实时发生,您可以使用 pg_stat_activitypg_stat_statements。这些可帮助您对发送最多流量的计算机、客户端和 IP 地址进行分组。您还可以使用此数据来查看是否存在随时间增加、应用程序服务器增加或者应用程序服务器是否卡住会话或锁定问题的情况。有关更多信息,请参阅有关 pg_stat_activitypg_stat_statements 的 PostgreSQL 文档。要启用 pg_stat_statements,请修改现有的自定义参数组并设置以下值:

  • shared_preload_libraries = pg_stat_statements
  • track_activity_query_size = 2048
  • pg_stat_statements.track = ALL
  • pg_stat_statements.max = 10000

选择立即应用,然后重启数据库实例。然后,在要监控的数据库上运行与以下内容类似的命令:

注意:以下示例在“demo”数据库中安装扩展。

demo=> select current_database();
current_database
------------------
demo
(1 row)
     
demo=> CREATE EXTENSION pg_stat_statements;

设置 pg_stat_statements 后,您可以使用以下方法之一监控输出:

  • total_time 列出查询,并查看哪个查询在数据库中花费的时间最多:
SELECT round(total_time*1000)/1000 AS total_time,query
FROM pg_stat_statements
ORDER BY total_time DESC limit 2;
  • 列出查询及调用总数、总行数和返回的行数:
SELECT query, calls, total_time, rows, 100.0 * shared_blks_hit /
nullif(shared_blks_hit + shared_blks_read, 0) AS hit_percent
FROM pg_stat_statements ORDER BY total_time DESC LIMIT 5;
  • 基于每次执行列出查询,以便随时间对查询进行抽样:
SELECT query, calls, total_time/calls as avg_time_ms, rows/calls as avg_rows,
temp_blks_read/calls as avg_tmp_read, temp_blks_written/calls as avg_temp_written
FROM pg_stat_statements
WHERE calls != 0
ORDER BY total_time DESC LIMIT 5;

PostgreSQL 日志记录参数

使用 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 启用查询日志记录。然后,检查 PostgreSQL 错误日志,确认您的 log_min_duration_statementlog_statement 参数已设置为适当的值。有关更多信息,请参阅有关错误报告和日志记录的 PostgreSQL 文档。

降低 CPU 使用率

确定导致高 CPU 使用率的查询后,可以使用以下方法进一步降低 CPU 使用率:

  1. 如果有机会进行调整,请使用 EXPLAINEXPLAIN ANALYZE 来识别警告。有关更多信息,请参阅有关 EXPLAIN 的 PostgreSQL 文档。
  2. 如果有重复运行的查询,请使用准备的语句来降低 CPU 的压力。

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How can I troubleshoot high CPU utilization for Amazon RDS or Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL?

Last updated: 2020-06-18

How can I identify and resolve the cause of high CPU utilization in Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) or Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL?

Short description

If you see that your load has high CPU usage, you can use a combination of the following tools to identify the cause:

This article discusses how you can use each of these tools to identify the cause of high CPU usage.

Resolution

Amazon CloudWatch metrics

You can use CloudWatch metrics to identify CPU patterns over extended periods. Compare the graphs WriteIOPs, ReadIOPs, ReadThroughput, and WriteThroughput with the CPU utilization to find out the times at which the workload caused high CPU.

After you have identified the time frame, you can review the Enhanced Monitoring data associated with your DB instance. You can set Enhanced Monitoring to collect data at intervals of 1, 5, 10, 15, 30, or 60 seconds. This allows you to collect data at a more granular level than CloudWatch. For more information, see the Differences between CloudWatch and Enhanced Monitoring metrics.

Enhanced Monitoring

Enhanced Monitoring provides a view at the operating system (OS) level, which can help identify the cause of a high CPU load at a granular level. For example, you can review the load average, CPU distribution (system% or nice%), and OS process list.

By using Enhanced Monitoring, you can check the loadAverageMinute data in intervals of 1, 5, and 15 minutes. If the load average is greater than the number of vCPUs, this indicates that the instance is under a heavy load. Also, if the load average is less than the number of vCPUs for the DB instance class, CPU throttling might not be the cause of the application latency. Check the load average to avoid false positives when diagnosing the cause of CPU usage.

For example, if you have a DB instance that is using a db.m4.2xlarge instance class with 3000 provisioned IOPS that reaches the CPU limit, you can review the following example metrics to identify the root cause of the high CPU usage. In the following example, the instance class has eight vCPUs associated with it. For the same load average, exceeding 170 indicates that the machine is under heavy load during the time frame measured:

Load Average Minute
 
Fifteen 170.25
Five 391.31
One 596.74
CPU Utilization  
User (%) 0.71
System (%) 4.9
Nice (%) 93.92
Total (%) 99.97

Note: Amazon RDS gives your workload a higher priority over other tasks that are running on the DB instance. To prioritize these tasks, workload tasks have a higher Nice value. As a result, in Enhanced Monitoring, Nice% represents the amount of CPU being used by your workload against the database.

After enabling Enhanced Monitoring, you can also check the OS process list that is associated with the DB instance. Enhanced monitoring shows only the top 50 processes for both CPU and memory each. This can help you identify which processes have the largest impact on performance based on CPU and memory use.

You can club Enhanced Monitoring results with pg_stat_activity results to help identify the resource usage of queries.

Performance Insights

You can use Amazon RDS Performance Insights to identify the query responsible for the database load after checking the SQL tab that corresponds to a particular time frame.

Native PostgreSQL view and catalogs

At database-engine level, if the issue occurs in real time, you can use pg_stat_activity or pg_stat_statements. These can help you group the machines, clients, and IP addresses that send the most traffic. You can also use this data to see if there are increases over time, increases in application servers, or if an application server has stuck sessions or locking issues. For more information, see the PostgreSQL Documentation for pg_stat_activity and pg_stat_statements. To enable pg_stat_statements, modify the existing custom parameter group and set the following values:

  • shared_preload_libraries = pg_stat_statements
  • track_activity_query_size = 2048
  • pg_stat_statements.track = ALL
  • pg_stat_statements.max = 10000

Choose Apply Immediately, and reboot the DB instance. Then, run a command similar to the following on the database that you want to monitor:

Note: The following example installs the extension in the "demo" database.

demo=> select current_database();
current_database
------------------
demo
(1 row)
     
demo=> CREATE EXTENSION pg_stat_statements;

After pg_stat_statements is set up, you can monitor the output by using one of the following methods:

  • List queries by total_time and see which query spends most time in the database:
SELECT round(total_time*1000)/1000 AS total_time,query
FROM pg_stat_statements
ORDER BY total_time DESC limit 2;
  • List queries with the total number of calls, total rows, and rows returned:
SELECT query, calls, total_time, rows, 100.0 * shared_blks_hit /
nullif(shared_blks_hit + shared_blks_read, 0) AS hit_percent
FROM pg_stat_statements ORDER BY total_time DESC LIMIT 5;
  • List queries on a per-execution basis to sample queries over time:
SELECT query, calls, total_time/calls as avg_time_ms, rows/calls as avg_rows,
temp_blks_read/calls as avg_tmp_read, temp_blks_written/calls as avg_temp_written
FROM pg_stat_statements
WHERE calls != 0
ORDER BY total_time DESC LIMIT 5;

PostgreSQL logging parameters

Enable query logging using Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL. Then, check the PostgreSQL error logs to confirm that your log_min_duration_statement and log_statement parameters are set to appropriate values. For more information, see the PostgreSQL Documentation for Error Reporting and Logging.

Lower the CPU usage

After you identify the queries causing the high CPU, you can use the following methods to further lower the CPU usage:

  1. If there are opportunities for tuning, use EXPLAIN and EXPLAIN ANALYZE to identify caveats. For more information, see the PostgreSQL Documentation for EXPLAIN.
  2. If there is a query that is running repeatedly, use prepared statements to lower the pressure on your CPU.

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?