Amazon Translate now adds support for sixteen more languages and variants

Posted on: Nov 24, 2020

Amazon Translate is a fully managed neural machine translation service that delivers real-time, high-quality, and affordable language translation. Today, we are announcing that Amazon Translate now adds support to the following more languages and variants - Armenian, Catalan, Gujarati, Haitian, Icelandic, Kannada, Kazakh, Lithuanian, Malayalam, Macedonian, Maltese, Mongolian, Sinhala, Telugu, Uzbek, and Welsh. 

Now with a total of 71 languages and variants, the service now supports 4970 translation combinations. With Amazon Translate, you can reach a wider set of users who are increasingly expecting to consume media and interact with people and organizations in the language of their choice. Machine translation can be used across a diverse set of use cases such as content localization, communication and text analytics of content in multiple languages. For the full list of languages supported by Amazon Translate please visit our documentation page.

Amazon Translate is available in 17 AWS regions: Asia Pacific (Hong Kong), Asia Pacific (Mumbai), Asia Pacific (Seoul), Asia Pacific (Singapore), Asia Pacific (Sydney), Asia Pacific (Tokyo), AWS GovCloud (US-West), Canada (Central), Europe (Frankfurt), Europe (Ireland), Europe (London), Europe (Paris), Europe (Stockholm), US East (Northern Virginia), US East (Ohio), US West (Northern California), US West (Oregon). For an up to date list of regions Amazon Translate supports, refer to Global Infrastructure page.

Try all the 71 languages in the Amazon Translate console, or see the Amazon Translate documentation for more information on Command Line Interface (CLI) and AWS SDKs.