一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS Ground Station?
AWS Ground Station 是一项完全托管的服务,让客户可以轻松命令、控制和向下传输卫星数据。您可以计划按分钟访问 AWS Ground Station 天线,然后仅为所使用的时间付费。通过使用 AWS Ground Station,您可以摄取卫星数据,监控卫星运行状况和状况,并传输命令以更改卫星运行。传入数据将流传输到 Amazon EC2 实例,然后使用其他 AWS 服务在此进行存储或处理。

问:AWS Ground Station 的主要优势是什么?
AWS Ground Station 是行业首例卫星地面站即服务,位于 AWS 全球基础设施内,可按需提供对地面站卫星天线的弹性访问,而无需长期合同。传统上,您需要进行重大资金投入来构建这些通信地面站,包括处理传入数据的服务器和存储成本。这就限制了您快速响应新商机或重大事件(例如主要天气事件)的能力,并需要您操作和维护全球性地面天线网络。借助 AWS Ground Station,AWS 可以管理地面站基础设施,使您可以专注于创新和快速试验处理、分析和分布卫星数据的新应用程序。此外,您可以使用 Amazon 国际高容量主干网络将此数据与同一区域或其他 AWS 区域中的其他 AWS 服务轻松集成。

问:如何开始使用 AWS Ground Station?
首先,请导航到 AWS 管理控制台中的 AWS Ground Station 控制台。您可以在此识别需要与之通信的卫星,并与该卫星计划“联络”。每个联络包含选定卫星、开始和结束时间以及地面位置。您可以在控制台中查看已确认的联络时间,并可在计划联系时间之前 15 分钟之内取消或重新计划联络。计划联络之后,请使用 AWS Ground Station EC2 AMI 发布该联络的 EC2 实例:Command 实例可接收卫星操作遥测并将变更传输到卫星计划的未来活动,Downlink 实例可接收卫星批量任务数据。这些实例将使用联络期间 EC2 实例与卫星天线之间存在的 ENI 连接与 AWS Ground Station 天线网关进行通信。

问:如果我在一个地点(如悉尼)工作,可以在另一个地点(如俄勒冈)计划天线时间吗?
可以,AWS Ground Station 是一个面向全球用户的天线系统全球网络。事实上,对许多用户来说,在全球网络中的每个地点计划天线时间是很常见的。 

问:Ground Station 天线已覆盖哪些地点?
AWS Ground Station 继续将服务扩展到世界各地的 AWS 区域和地点。要查看支持区域的列表,请参阅全球基础设施 区域表

功能

问:什么是联络?
联络是通过预留方式以特定时间间隔从确定地面位置与特定卫星进行通信。

问:到达我的计划联络时间时会怎么样?
在计划联络时间之前,请使用 Amazon EC2 AMI 来启动所需的实例与卫星进行通信。在计划联络之前,这些实例将能够通过 ENI 连接与 AWS Ground Station 天线网关建立连接。联络开始后,这些实例将开始向卫星发送数据和从卫星接收数据。

问:如果我请求的联络无法预留怎么办?
如果您的首选联络无法获得批准(例如,由于选定位置已存在天线时间预留),AWS Ground Station 管理控制台将提供其他替代方案供您了解使用。

问:AWS Ground Station 如何确保其他人无法命令我的卫星?
AWS Ground Station 使用多种措施来防止卫星接收未经授权的联络。首次批准与卫星联络之前,AWS 会注册并确定卫星拥有者,使用指定客户账户将卫星与卫星拥有者相关联。然后客户将能够使用该 AWS Ground Station 账户计划卫星联络或授权其他 AWS 账户计划联络。在每次联络之前,AWS 会验证联络不会造成任何无线电干扰。在联络期间,系统限制授权 EC2 实例访问 AWS Ground Station 天线网关。客户可完全控制用于授权和加密卫星数据的加密密钥。

问:AWS Ground Station 能够与哪些类型的卫星通信?
低地球轨道 (LEO)、非静止地球轨道 (NGSO) 和中地球轨道 (MEO)。

问:AWS Ground Station 与卫星通信时可使用哪些无线电频率/频段?
AWS Ground Station 天线能够使用常见频段与卫星通信,包括:S- 和 X-。

问:AWS Ground Station 的速度是多少?
AWS Ground Station 最高支持 54MHz 的窄带上行传输速度和 500MHz 的下行传输速度。

问:我可以提前多久计划联络?
预留分钟联络最早可提前 21 天预留,并可在计划联络前 1 天重新计划。按需联络最早可提前 7 天、最晚提前 15 分钟计划,不能进行重新计划。

问:AWS Ground Station 如何与其他 AWS 产品关联/配合?
无论是在每个 AWS Ground Station 天线当地区域还是其他 AWS 区域(使用 Amazon 国际主干网络),AWS Ground Station 都可轻松与其他 AWS 服务配合使用来处理和存储来自卫星的数据。 可在共享文件系统中使用 Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 或在 Amazon S3 中使用 Amazon Elastic File System (EFS),将数据存储在 EC2 实例本地。在 S3 中,您可以通过配置生命周期策略,将较早的、不经常访问的数据迁移到价格较低的存储类中,包括 S3 Infrequent Access 和 Amazon Glacier。

您可以使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 来完全管理数据摄取并提供一致的 API 将数据分析集成于您的应用之中。它可以提供与 Amazon Rekognition 的无缝集成,从而自动识别对象(例如车辆或飞机)。您还可以使用 Amazon SageMaker 构建适用于您的数据的自定义机器学习应用程序。

问:Ground Station 支持哪些发射和接收工作频率?
现有的 Ground Station 天线系统可以支持以下频率:
  • 2025 - 2120 MHz 的 S 频段发射频率 
  • 2200 - 2300 MHz 的 S 频段接收频率
  • 7750 - 8400 MHz 的 X 频段接收频率

定价

问:如果我计划了一个联络,但后来需要取消该联络,该怎么办?
预留分钟客户可在联络开始前 24 小时取消联络,且没有任何费用或罚款。  如果预留分钟客户需要在联络开始时间前 24 小时内取消联络,则将按联络价格收取联络费用。按需客户可以在联络开始前 15 分钟取消联络,并按该联络的价格收取取消费用。

问:何时收取 Ground Station 使用费?
每次联络完成后将向客户收取费用。客户将在每月的月度 AWS 账单上看到预留分钟承诺用量费用,以及当月所用按需分钟的费用。

了解有关 AWS Ground Station 的更多信息

访问功能页面
准备好开始构建了吗?
开始使用 AWS Ground Station
还有其他问题?
联系我们

General

Q. What is AWS Ground Station?
AWS Ground Station is a fully managed service that will enable customers to easily command, control, and downlink data from satellites. You can schedule access to AWS Ground Station antennas on a per-minute basis and pay only for your time used. When using AWS Ground Station, you can ingest data from the satellite, monitor the satellite health and status, and transmit commands to change the satellite’s operations. Incoming data is streamed to an Amazon EC2 instance where it can then be stored or processed using other AWS services.


Q. What are the key benefits of AWS Ground Station?
AWS Ground Station is the industry’s first satellite Ground Station as a Service located within the AWS Global Infrastructure footprint to offer on-demand, elastic access to ground station satellite antennas without long-term contracts. Traditionally, you have needed to make significant capital investments to build ground stations for these communications, including the costs for servers and storage to process incoming data. This limits your ability to respond quickly to new business opportunities or significant events (such as major weather events) and requires you to operate and maintain a global network of ground antennas. With AWS Ground Station, AWS manages the ground station infrastructure, so you can focus on innovating and rapidly experimenting with new applications that ingest satellite data and dynamically scale their server and storage use. And, you can easily integrate this data with other AWS services, either in the same region or in another AWS Region using Amazon’s international, high-capacity backbone network.


Q. How do I get started using AWS Ground Station?
To get started, navigate to the AWS Ground Station console in the AWS Management Console. Here, you identify the satellites you need to communicate with and schedule “Contacts” with the satellite. Each Contact consists of a selected satellite, start and end time, and the ground location. You can review confirmed Contact times in your console and cancel or reschedule up to 15 minutes prior to the scheduled contact time. After scheduling a Contact, use the AWS Ground Station EC2 AMI to launch EC2 instances for the Contact: a Command instance to receive operational telemetry from the satellite and transmit changes to the satellite’s planned future activities, and a Downlink instance to receive bulk mission data from the satellite. These instances will communicate with the AWS Ground Station antenna gateway using an ENI connection that exists between the EC2 instances and the satellite antenna for the duration of the contact.

Q. Can I schedule time on an antenna in one location (e.g. Oregon) while I am working from another location (e.g. Sydney)?
Yes, AWS Ground Station is a global network of antenna systems that are available to users around the world. In fact, it will be common for many users to schedule time on antennas at every location in the global network. 

Features

Q. What is a Contact?
A Contact is a reservation to communicate with a specific satellite from an identified ground location between certain times.


Q. What happens when my scheduled Contact time arrives?
Prior to the scheduled contact time, use the Amazon EC2 AMI to launch the required instances to communicate with the satellite. Just prior to the scheduled contact, these instances will be able to establish connections to the AWS Ground Station antenna gateway over an ENI connection. Once the contact begins, the instances will begin sending and receiving data from the satellite.


Q. What happens if my requested Contact cannot be reserved?
In the event your preferred Contact cannot be granted (for example, due to existing reservations for antenna time at the chosen location), the AWS Ground Station Management Console will provide available alternatives for your review.


Q. How does AWS Ground Station make sure nobody else commands my satellite?
AWS Ground Station uses multiple measures to protect satellites from unauthorized contact. Prior to allowing contact with a satellite for the first time, AWS onboards and identifies the satellite owner and associates the satellite and satellite owner with a designated customer account. The customer is then able to use that account with AWS Ground Station to schedule satellite contacts or authorize other AWS accounts to schedule contacts. Prior to each contact, AWS validates that the contact will cause no radio interference. Access to the AWS Ground Station antenna gateway is limited to the authorized EC2 instances for the period of the contact. Customers are in complete control of the encryption keys used to authorize and encrypt data to the satellite.


Q. What types of satellites can AWS Ground Station communicate with?
Low Earth Orbit (LEO), Non-Geostationary Earth Orbit (NGSO), and Medium Earth Orbit (MEO).


Q. What radio frequencies/bands can AWS Ground Station use to communicate with satellites?
AWS Ground Station antennas are capable of using common frequency bands to communicate with satellites, including: S- and X-.


Q. How fast is AWS Ground Station?
AWS Ground Station supports narrowband uplink speeds up to 54 MHz and downlink speeds up to 500MHz.


Q. How far in advance can I schedule Contacts?
Reserved Minute Contacts may be reserved up to 21 days in advance and rescheduled up to 1 day prior to a scheduled contact. On demand contacts can be scheduled as much as 7 days and as little as 15 minutes in advance and cannot be rescheduled.


Q. How does AWS Ground Station relate to/work with other AWS products?
It’s easy to use AWS Ground Station with other AWS services to process and store satellite-originated data, either in the region local to each AWS Ground Station antenna or in another AWS region (using Amazon’s international backbone network.) Data can be stored locally on EC2 instances using Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS), in a shared filesystem using Amazon Elastic File System (EFS), or in Amazon S3. In S3, you can configure lifecycle policies to automatically migrate older, less-frequently-accessed data to less expensive storage classes, including S3 Infrequent Access and Amazon Glacier.
You can use Amazon Kinesis Data Streams to fully manage data ingestion and provide consistent APIs for integrating data analysis into your applications. It provides seamless integration with Amazon Rekognition, enabling automatic recognition of objects (such as cars or airplanes). You can also use Amazon SageMaker to build custom machine learning applications that apply to your data.

Pricing

Q: What if I schedule a contact but then need to cancel the contact?
Reserved Minutes customers may cancel contacts up to 24 hours before contact start with no fee or penalty.  If Reserved Minutes customers need to cancel contacts less than 24 hours before contact start time, there is a cancellation fee equal to the price of the contact. On Demand customers may cancel contacts up to 15 minutes before contact start with a cancellation fee equal to the price of that contact.

Q: When will I be charged for my Ground Station usage?
Customers will be charged after each contact completes. Customers will see the charge on their monthly AWS bill each month for their Reserved Minutes commitment plus any On Demand minutes used that month.

Learn more about AWS Ground Station

Visit the Features page
Ready to build?
Get Started with AWS Ground Station
Have more questions?
Contact us