Astera Labs 使用 AWS 促进芯片开发

QuadX

赶上交付的最后期限

在半导体开发期间,设计集成芯片的流程会以交付阶段告终,此时芯片设计将投入晶圆制造。对像 Astera Labs 这样的半导体公司来说,进入设计交付阶段需要大规模计算容量,来快速开展复杂的模拟,并布设与路由数百万件晶体管以物理方式代表芯片。2017 年,Astera 在加利福尼亚州的硅谷成立,它是一家无晶圆厂半导体公司,致力于为以数据为中心的系统开发专用的连接解决方案。“我们必须能够在开发期间扩展我们的工作负载,并行运行众多模拟,以便于验证我们的芯片将如预期运转,并且提供我们的客户所期待的高质量”,Astera Labs 的首席业务官 Sanjay Gajendra 说道。

如果 Astera 不能在芯片设计和验证流程当中运行足够模拟,该公司将面临无法找出可能的设计缺陷的风险。“我们只有一次机会,如果我们犯错,就意味着需要六到九个月时间来发现错误并解决问题”,Gajendra 补充道,“这个过程的成本非常高,而且费时,对于我们这样的初创公司来说是不可承担之重。”

“与使用本地 HPC 环境所需的时间相比,我们在 AWS 上完成芯片设计的时间不到一年。”

Sanjay Gajendra,Astera Labs 首席业务官

  • 关于 Astera Labs
  • 关于英特尔
  • 优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Astera Labs
  • Astera Labs, Inc. 是一家总部设在加州硅谷的无晶圆厂半导体公司,致力于为以数据为中心的系统开发专用的连接解决方案。该公司的产品组合包括,系统感知半导体集成电路、电路板,以及实现稳健 PCIe 连接所需的服务。

  • 关于英特尔
  • 英特尔是全球领先的服务器、个人计算机、IoT 设备和移动设备的高性能处理器设计及制造商。AWS 和英特尔工程师拥有 10 多年合作关系,构建定制硬件以确保 AWS 服务能够在针对客户工作负载进行了优化的平台上运行,从而实现最佳价值。英特尔至强可扩展处理器为 Amazon EC2 实例提供支持,以帮助企业为其计算密集型工作负载提高性能。

  • 优势
    • 在 AWS 上快速运行超过 1,000 个芯片设计模拟
    • 在几个月内完成芯片设计,而不需要数年
    • 赶上设计交付流程的最后期限
    • 避免使用几个月时间和数百万美元来修复芯片设计错误
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

在 AWS 上运行 HPC 工作负载

为了克服要赶上设计交付最后期限的可能挑战,Astera 从公司成立开始便在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云中运行其 HPC 工作负载。“我们认为,与购买及维护服务器农场相比,公有云会为我们提供更多可扩展性,而且成本较低”,Gajendra 说道,“我们之所以选择 AWS 是因为,我们将其视作云行业的领导者,对 AWS 服务能够帮助我们将风险最小化抱有信心。”

Astera 与 Six NinesAWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 的核心级咨询合作伙伴之一)合作建立了 HPC 环境,以支持芯片设计和验证模拟。该平台在数千个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) R5C5z1d 实例上运行,并由英特尔至强可扩展处理器提供支持。公司使用 R5 和 C5 实例来运行物理设计和模拟作业,并将 z1d 实例用于需要尽可能最快速虚拟机的长期运行模拟。Astera 还使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶来存储超过 100 TB 数据。

Six Nines 和 AWS 专业服务帮助 Astera 仅用了两周时间在 AWS 上实施 HPC 平台,Astera 原本需要花三个月在数据中心设置平台,并由 AWS 专业服务对环境进行设计和配置。

并行运行数百个芯片设计模拟

Astera 现在可以利用 AWS 并行运行数百个芯片设计模拟,并缩短设计验证的时间。“我们可以在 AWS 上实施非常复杂的芯片设计”,Gajendra 说道,“AWS 优化了我们的芯片设计和验证环境,因此我们有快速运行超过 1,000 个模拟所需的计算资源。考虑到资本要求,要在本地数据中心做到这一点非常之难。” 借助于它的新功能,Astera 有能力完成可实施 PCIe 5.0 规格的新芯片设计交付,从而在 x16 接口上实现 2 TB/秒的带宽。这些芯片符合行业的高带宽和低延迟互连要求。

凭借 AWS,Astera 还可以在发送交付芯片设计前发现并修复虚拟环境当中的错误。其结果是,尽管时间紧张,该公司还是为其新的芯片完成了芯片设计和验证流程。“与使用本地 HPC 环境所需的时间相比,我们在 AWS 上完成芯片设计的时间不到一年”,Gajendra 表示,“利用 AWS 来实现云的可扩展性并提供最新的实例类型,从而消除了我们的设计师所面临的瓶颈;我们将设计验证运行和物理实现的周期时间缩短了一半,甚至更多。” 此外,由于 AWS 实现的计算可扩展性,Astera 可以比其竞争对手制作出更多芯片设计,以及更优质的产品。

避免数百万美元成本

通过利用其更有效率的芯片开发流程,Astera 可以避免花数个月时间纠正错误,或在设计交付后投入数百万美元对新的芯片设计进行整改。“我们不希望看到我们的芯片在生产或客户的系统中发生故障,然后用几个月时间来修复问题”,Gajendra 说道,“我们可以通过使用 AWS 来确保高质量的交付,从而避免发生这个问题。”

公司还使用多个 AWS 可用区在设计和开发期间维持其 HPC 环境的高可用性,并从中获益。Gajendra 总结道:“总体而言,我们可以使用 AWS 来满足严苛的行业最后期限要求,符合设备性能期望,并继续专注于制造我们能够构建的最佳芯片。”

了解更多

如需了解详情,请访问 aws.amazon.com/hpc

Astera Labs Uses AWS to Accelerate Chip Development

QuadX

Meeting Tape-Out Deadlines

In semiconductor development, the process of designing integrated chips culminates in the tape-out phase, at which point chip designs are released for wafer fabrication. For semiconductor companies like Astera Labs, getting to the tape-out phase requires a massive amount of compute capacity to quickly perform complex simulations and to place and route millions of transistors that physically represent the chip. Astera, founded in 2017 in California’s Silicon Valley, is a fabless semiconductor company that develops purpose-built connectivity solutions for data-centric systems. “We have to be able to scale our workloads during development to run many simulations in parallel, so we can verify that our chip will work as intended and deliver the high quality our customers expect,” says Sanjay Gajendra, chief business officer for Astera Labs.

If Astera is unable to run enough simulations during the chip design and verification process, the company risks missing potential design flaws. “We get one chance, and, if we make a mistake, it’s a six- to nine-month process to find the mistake and fix the problem,” says Gajendra. “That process is very costly and time-consuming, which we can’t afford as a startup.”

“We completed our chip design in less than a year on AWS, compared to the years it would have taken using an on-premises HPC environment.”

Sanjay Gajendra, Chief Business Officer, Astera Labs

  • About Astera Labs
  • About Intel
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Astera Labs
  • Astera Labs, Inc., a fabless semiconductor company headquartered in California’s Silicon Valley, develops purpose-built connectivity solutions for data-centric systems. The company’s product portfolio includes system-aware semiconductor integrated circuits, boards, and services to enable robust PCIe connectivity.

  • About Intel
  • Intel is the world’s leading designer and manufacturer of high-performance processors for servers, PCs, IoT devices, and mobile devices. AWS and Intel engineers have worked together for more than 10 years, building custom hardware to ensure AWS services run on a platform optimized for customer workloads for the best value. Intel Xeon Scalable processors power Amazon EC2 instances to help enterprises drive performance for their compute-intensive workloads.

  • Benefits
    • Runs more than 1,000 chip design simulations overnight on AWS
    • Completes chip design in months instead of years
    • Meets deadlines for tape-out process
    • Avoids spending many months and millions of dollars fixing chip design errors
  • AWS Services Used

Running HPC Workloads on AWS

To address potential challenges in meeting tape-out deadlines, Astera has run its HPC workloads in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud since the company’s founding. “We thought the public cloud would give us more scalability and be less costly than buying and maintaining a server farm,” says Gajendra. “We selected AWS because we considered it the leader in the cloud industry and had confidence AWS services would help us minimize our risk.”

Astera worked with Six Nines, an AWS Partner Network (APN) Premier Consulting Partner, to create an HPC environment to support chip design and verification simulations. The platform runs on thousands of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) R5, C5, and z1d instances, powered by Intel Xeon Scalable processors. The company uses the R5 and C5 instances for running physical design and simulation jobs and the z1d instances for long-running simulations that require the fastest-possible virtual machines. Astera also uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets to store more than 100 TB of data.

Six Nines and AWS Professional Services helped Astera implement the HPC platform on AWS in just two weeks, instead of the three months it would have taken Astera to set up the platform in a data center, with AWS Professional Services designing and configuring the environment.

Running Hundreds of Chip Design Simulations in Parallel

Astera can now run hundreds of chip design simulations in parallel and speed design verification time by using AWS. “We can implement a very complex chip design on AWS,” says Gajendra. “AWS improved our chip design and verification environment, so we have the compute resources we need to run more than 1,000 simulations overnight. That would be very difficult to do in an on-premises data center, given the capital requirement.” With its new capabilities, Astera was able to complete the tape-out of a new chip that implements PCIe 5.0 specification, which achieves 2Tbits/sec of bandwidth over an x16 interface. The chip meets industry requirements for high bandwidth and low-latency interconnects.

Relying on AWS, Astera can also quickly identify and fix bugs in a virtual environment before a chip design is sent for tape-out. As a result, the company finished the chip design and verification process for its new chip despite an aggressive timeline. “We completed our chip design in less than a year on AWS, compared to the years it would have taken using an on-premises HPC environment,” says Gajendra. “Using AWS to enable cloud scalability and provide the latest instance types to eliminate bottlenecks for our designers, we have reduced our cycle time for design verification runs and physical implementation by a factor of two or more.” Additionally, Astera can produce more chip designs, and higher-quality products, than its competitors as a result of the compute scalability enabled by AWS.

Avoiding Millions of Dollars in Costs

Taking advantage of its more efficient chip development process, Astera avoids spending several months correcting mistakes and investing millions of dollars to overhaul a new chip design following a tape-out. “We don’t want to have our chip fail in production or in our customers’ systems and spend months fixing the problem,” says Gajendra. “We can avoid this issue by ensuring a high-quality tape-out using AWS.”

The company also benefits from using multiple AWS Availability Zones to maintain high availability for its HPC environment during design and development. Gajendra says, “Overall, using AWS, we can meet strict industry deadlines, fulfill device performance expectations, and continue focusing on creating the best chips we can build.”

Learn More

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/hpc.