Autodesk EC2 Spot 实例帮助 Autodesk 实现支出更少,规模更大

autodesk

Autodesk 自豪地将自己描述为“为创造新事物的人们制作软件”。 架构师、制造商、媒体公司,任何基于设计的行业都熟悉 Autodesk 软件。事实上,全球有 1 亿人都在使用 Autodesk 产品。

这些设计师中的许多人必须将他们的 Autodesk 设计文件渲染成 3 维照片般逼真的数字图像。作为当今设计领域的重要组成部分,渲染也是计算密集型的。对于 Autodesk,其渲染即服务 (RaaS) 工作负载是按总支出衡量时 2017 年支出最大的一个 Web 服务。此外,Autodesk 鼓励学生和教育工作者免费使用 RaaS。为了控制成本和支持教育社区,Autodesk RaaS 团队需要一种新的方法来处理该工作负载。

 

“任何提供计算密集型服务的公司都应该尝试使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,以实现高性能和低成本的最佳组合。”

Xiaoqing Zhuang,Autodesk 云渲染软件开发经理

  • 关于 Autodesk
  • 优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Autodesk
  • 总部设在加利福尼亚圣拉斐尔的 Autodesk 创建了 3D 设计、工程和娱乐软件,用于建筑、工程、施工、制造、媒体和娱乐行业。

  • 优势
    • 即使每月作业计数增加一倍,也会将渲染成本削减一半
    • 计算密集型工作负载在需求较少且成本较低时运行
    • 成本和时间效率推动新产品的开发
    • 批处理工作负载允许以折扣价购买云实例
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

云之旅

仅仅十年前,大多数 Autodesk 软件都需要配备台式计算机。用户会创建一个文件,然后在本地进行渲染。渲染过程很慢,通常需要数天时间才能完成,锁定计算机,直到渲染完成。作为对软件即服务 (SaaS) 的首次涉足之一,Autodesk 使用本地数据中心进行渲染。这种加速渲染,虽然过程是资源和时间密集型的,但需要设备维护、空间和资本支出来跟上需求的步伐。作为云计算为客户提供产品/服务的早期课程,RaaS 还帮助 Autodesk 看见了将计算密集型流程卸载给合作伙伴的价值。这次机会吸引了 Autodesk 加入 AWS,并开始长期合作。现在,Autodesk 是 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 的高级技术合作伙伴。“作为 APN 的一部分,Autodesk 一直以极大的优势来充分利用创新型云服务。它为我们自己的云之旅奠定了坚实的基础,并帮助我们扩展了我们可以为客户提供的产品/服务,”Autodesk 工程总监 Susanna Holt 说道。

 

早在 2010 年,Autodesk 就开始研究为其用户提供云服务,从 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 开始,以便在云中提供安全、可调整大小的计算容量。这些实例始终开启并可按需提供。随着用户需求的增多,Autodesk 仅需添加更多实例即可。在 2014 年,Autodesk 成为 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例的早期采用者,以便管理 EC2 成本。Amazon EC2 Spot 实例帮助用户以折扣价购买未使用的 EC2 实例。自此直到 2016 年,Autodesk 和 AWS 密切合作以优化 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例的使用,从而将 Autodesk 的实例成本降低 50%。

利用更新的 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例和 Spot 队列实现成本控制

即使进行了成本优化,Autodesk 也在 2017 年意识到其 RaaS 工作负载远远超过其他工作负载成本,并再次转向 AWS。“我们的主要目标在于解决我们的云渲染挑战,”Holt 说。“在整个过程中,我们感受到来自 AWS 团队的真正支持。”

正如 Autodesk 专注于成本控制,AWS 专注于通过从出价驱动转向市场驱动的定价以及在 EC2 容量不再可用时为用户提供休眠实例的选项来增强 Spot 功能。当用户选择休眠时,一旦容量再次可用,实例将从其先前状态恢复。此功能意味着实例恢复变得更快,工作负载将经历更少中断。

Autodesk 还使用 Spot 实例集合 Amazon EC2 Spot 队列。Spot 队列会首先创建一个请求,其中包括基于应用程序需求的目标容量,实例的启动规范以及组织将支付的最高价格。Spot 队列然后尝试启动满足目标容量所需的实例。最后,在当前 Spot 实例价格低于指定的最高价格且容量可用时,Spot 队列会满足请求。有了这些改变和增加的服务,即使每月作业计数增加一倍,Autodesk RaaS 团队也将渲染成本削减了一半。

RaaS_Architecture

谁从 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例中获益

“任何提供计算密集型服务的公司都应该尝试使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,以实现高性能和低成本的最佳组合,”Autodesk 云渲染软件开发经理 Xiaoqing Zhuang 说。

Autodesk 属于 Spot 实例的经典用例。该公司拥有可控的工作流程,此流程可在可用的 EC2 容量下降时对作业进行批处理并适应中断。其他企业运营也可以利用 Spot 实例的成本节约,尤其是如果它们支持容错工作负载。大数据工作负载、持续改进/持续部署 (CI/CD) 功能和模拟与 Spot 实例提供的优势十分匹配。

Zhuang 总结得很好,“对于那些可以在需求较少时运行服务或流程的公司,Spot 实例是降低成本的绝佳方式。当 Spot 实例市场价格最具吸引力时,可以缓存并运行这些工作负载请求”。

为未来创新铺平道路

“我们在 RaaS 方面取得的成功引起了 Autodesk 其他部门的兴趣。我们正在构建 SaaS 体验并规划如何进一步发展,”Holt 说。

RaaS 团队现在专注于更具战略性的问题,而不是专注于成本。“AWS 提供的服务范围使我们能够专注于业务逻辑而非运营。AWS 帮助我们提供性能和可靠性,”Zhuang.说。

Spot 实例也在对产品开发产生积极影响。我们使用 Spot 的良好体验现在意味着 Autodesk 正在考虑的每项新服务都通过该筛选器运行。我们一直在问:“Spot 可以如何帮助我们提高成本和缩短时间?”Holt 说。


了解更多

了解更多有关 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例的信息。

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances Help Autodesk Spend Less, Scale More

autodesk

Autodesk proudly describes itself as a company that “makes software for the people who make things.” Architects, manufacturers, media companies—any design-based industry is familiar with Autodesk software. In fact, 100 million people worldwide use Autodesk products.

Many of these designers must render their Autodesk design files into 3-dimensional, photo-realistic digital images. A critical component of today’s design landscape, rendering is also extremely compute-intensive. For Autodesk, its Rendering-as-a-Service (RaaS) workload was its single largest web service in 2017 as measured by total spend. Additionally, Autodesk encourages students and educators to use RaaS for free. To control costs and support the education community, the Autodesk RaaS team required a new approach to that workload.

 

"Any company with compute-intensive services should try Amazon EC2 Spot Instances for the best combination of high performance and low cost."

Xiaoqing Zhuang, Software Development Manager for Cloud Rendering, Autodesk

  • About Autodesk
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Autodesk
  • Based in San Rafael, California, Autodesk creates 3D design, engineering, and entertainment software for use in the architecture, engineering, construction, manufacturing, media, and entertainment industries.

  • Benefits
    • Cut rendering costs in half even as monthly job count doubled
    • Compute-intensive workloads run during times of less demand and lower cost
    • Cost and time efficiencies drive new product development
    • Batching workloads allows buying cloud instances at a discount
  • AWS Services Used

Journey to the Cloud

As little as a decade ago, most Autodesk software required desktop computers. A user would create a file and render it locally. Renderings were slow, often taking days to finish and locking the computer until the rendering completed. As one of its first forays into software as a service (SaaS), Autodesk used on-premises data centers for rendering. This accelerated rendering, yet the process was resource- and time-intensive, requiring equipment maintenance, space, and capital expense to keep pace with demand. As an early lesson for what cloud computing could offer its customers, RaaS also helped Autodesk see the value in offloading compute-intensive processes to a partner. This opportunity drew Autodesk to AWS and began the long partnership. Today, Autodesk is an Advanced Technology Partner in the AWS Partner Network (APN). “As part of APN, Autodesk has been well positioned to take advantage of innovative cloud services. It created a solid foundation for our own cloud journey and helped us to expand what we could offer our customers,” says Susanna Holt, director of engineering for Autodesk.

 

As early as 2010, Autodesk explored providing cloud services to its users, beginning with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) to deliver secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Those instances were always on and available on demand. As user demand swelled, Autodesk simply added more instances. In 2014, Autodesk became an early adopter of Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to manage EC2 costs. Amazon EC2 Spot Instances help users purchase unused EC2 instances at a discount. From then until 2016, Autodesk and AWS worked closely to optimize the use of Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, reducing Autodesk’s instance costs by 50 percent.

Cost Containment with Updated Amazon EC2 Spot Instances and Spot Fleet

Even with cost optimization efforts, in 2017, Autodesk realized its RaaS workload far exceeded other workload costs and again turned to AWS. “Our main goal was to solve our cloud rendering challenges,” notes Holt. “We felt genuine support from the AWS teams during the entire process.”

As Autodesk focused on cost containment, AWS focused on enhancing Spot features by shifting from bid-driven to market-driven pricing and giving users the option to hibernate instances if EC2 capacity was no longer available. When users choose to hibernate, instances resume from their prior state once capacity is again available. This ability means instances resume faster, and workloads experience less disruption.

Autodesk also uses Amazon EC2 Spot Fleet, a collection of Spot Instances. A Spot Fleet starts by creating a request that includes the target capacity based on application needs, the launch specifications for the instances, and the maximum price an organization will pay. Spot Fleet then attempts to launch instances needed to meet the target capacity. Finally, Spot Fleet fulfills the request when the current Spot Instance price is lower than the maximum price specified, and capacity is available. With these changes and added services, the Autodesk RaaS team cut rendering costs in half even while doubling its monthly job count.

RaaS_Architecture

Who Benefits from Amazon EC2 Spot Instances

“Any company with compute-intensive services should try Amazon EC2 Spot Instances for the best combination of high performance and low cost,” says Xiaoqing Zhuang, software development manager for cloud rendering at Autodesk.

Autodesk falls into the classic use case for Spot Instances. The company has a controlled workflow that can batch jobs and adapt to interruptions when available EC2 capacity falls. Other enterprise operations can take advantage of cost savings from Spot Instances as well, particularly if they support fault-tolerant workloads. Big-data workloads, continuous improvement/continuous deployment (CI/CD) functions, and simulations match well with the benefits provided by Spot Instances.

Zhuang sums it up well, “For companies with services or processes that can run when there is less demand, Spot Instances serve as a terrific way to lower costs. Those workload requests can be cached and run when the Spot Instances market price is most attractive.”

Paving the Path to Future Innovation

“Our success with RaaS has generated interest from other parts of Autodesk. We’re building on our SaaS experience and planning how we can take that further,” says Holt.

Rather than focusing on costs, the RaaS team now concentrates on more strategic concerns. “The range of services available from AWS freed us to focus on our business logic rather than operations. AWS helps us to deliver both performance and reliability,” says Zhuang.

Spot Instances are having a positive impact on product development, too. “Our good experience with Spot now means that every new service being considered by Autodesk is run through that filter. We’re constantly asking: ‘How can Spot help us be more cost- and time-efficient?’” says Holt.


Learn More

Learn more about Amazon EC2 Spot Instances.