利用AWS云服务,我们不仅实现了业务的弹性扩展,同时还在AWS 专业服务团队的帮助下,成功地为核心业务系统建立起双活灾备中心,极大地提升了整个游戏运营系统的可靠性。
伍建平 IGG公司系统高级经理

IGG成立于2005年,是全球领先的手机游戏开发商及运营商,为全球游戏玩家提供游戏和相关服务。IGG总部位于新加坡,在美国、中国、加拿大、日本、韩国、泰国、白俄罗斯及菲律宾设有分支机构,客户遍及全世界200 多个国家和地区。截止到2016年底,IGG拥有逾3.4亿个全球玩家账户,其中月活跃用户约1,860万。在App Annie发布的“2016年度全球手游52强发行商”榜单中,IGG位列第27名。IGG于2013年10月在港交所上市,并在2015年完成了从香港创业板到主板的跳跃。2016年3月,IGG被纳入恒生互联网科技业指数、恒生环球综合指数、恒生综合指数系列的成份股。

IGG的游戏玩家遍及全球,为了给玩家提供最佳的用户体验,IGG需要在全球多个区域部署服务器。在使用AWS云服务之前,IGG拥有自建的机房,同时也采用多家公司的主机租用服务。

随着业务的快速发展,原有的服务部署模式开始面临多方面的挑战,主要体现在三个方面:其一是服务器资源管理不方便、扩展性和灵活性受限制,当访问峰值来临时,部署新服务器的周期较长,而当某款游戏的访问量暂时降低时,又会造成已有服务器资源的浪费;其二是开发和运营新游戏时难以控制成本,因为对游戏运营公司来说,一款游戏是否成功受很多因素的影响,但在运营每一款新游戏时都需要投入大量的IT资源,万一不成功,则会浪费已购置的服务器资源;其三是如何建立双活的灾备系统以确保在任何情况下都能为全球玩家提供持续可靠的服务。

为了应对这些挑战,IGG开始考虑采用公有云服务作为自有数据中心(下面简称:自有IDC)的补充。经过考察、分析和对比,IGG决定采用AWS云服务,并从几年前开始尝试使用AWS在新加坡、法兰克福、日本、美国等可用区的云服务部署海外游戏节点。2016年8月,为了提升整个游戏运营系统的稳定性和可靠性,IGG决定为其位于北加州的核心业务系统建立双活灾备系统,在AWS 专业服务团队的帮助下,IGG利用AWS在美国俄勒冈州可用区的云服务,成功地搭建起双冗余的灾备中心,确保IGG的核心业务不会因突发意外而中断。

IGG最初使用AWS云服务源自于几年前的一个新项目,该项目是一个即时通信产品,需要大量的IT资源,必须部署数百台高配置的服务器以应对高并发的需求,依靠原有的自有IDC是无法快速提供服务的。更关键的是项目属于探索性质,万一项目不成功,数百台新增服务器就会浪费掉,而采用AWS云服务,IGG只需要按月付费,一旦项目发生变化或不成功,可以直接关掉云服务器,不会导致更大的损失。“事实证明这是一个非常明智的决定。” 伍建平说。尽管市场上也有其他一些云服务商,但AWS云服务所具有的全球化覆盖、丰富的功能、成熟可靠的技术及专业服务能力是促使IGG选择AWS 的主要原因。

全球化的覆盖

AWS云服务包含全球 16 个地理区域内的 44 个可用区,遍及美东、美西、圣保罗、爱尔兰、法兰克福、伦敦、新加坡、北京、东京、悉尼、首尔、孟买等地,服务范围涵盖全球。此外,与其他云服务商不同的是,AWS的每个服务区都包括多个可用区,通过跨可用区的应用部署,用户可以轻松地获得容错能力并降低延迟。这些特性使得IGG可以轻松地完成全球化的服务器部署,为遍及世界各地的玩家提供快速、稳定、可靠的服务。

丰富的功能

AWS云服务为用户提供了丰富的功能,涵盖了计算、存储、联网、分析、管理、安全及身份管理、移动服务等方方面面。“我们可以根据业务的实际需求,将AWS云服务用于不同的领域。”伍建平说。例如,IGG的全球化游戏运营平台对扩展性、安全性和可靠性都有很高的要求,当某款游戏的玩家激增时,需要在极短的时间内部署并启用新的服务器,IGG就利用Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)Auto ScalingAmazon CloudWatch等服务,通过设定规则、编写脚本,自动完成服务器的增加与减少,既能快速响应峰值需求,为玩家提供最佳的游戏体验,又能节省成本。此外,为了改善域名系统(DNS)的稳定性和可靠性,IGG采用了Amazon Route 53,它具有速度快、使用方便且经济高效的特点,可以非常方便地通过AWS管理控制台创建和管理DNS。AWS云服务丰富的功能使IGG能够不断地利用新服务来改善原有系统的不足,增强系统的稳定性和可靠性。

专业服务能力

IGG的游戏运营是全球化的,不仅要为玩家提供游戏,同时还要提供大量的公共服务,这些核心业务都部署在IGG 位于美国北加州的IDC中,并没有灾备系统。但考虑到北加州处于地震带,发生地震的概率比较大,一旦出现极端情况,IGG的整个核心业务都会受到影响。因此IGG希望借助AWS云服务建立双活的灾备系统。为此IGG选择了AWS 专业服务,在AWS专业技术团队的帮助下,梳理业务逻辑和需求,进行场景模拟、搭建、测试实验架构,最终成功地完成了双活灾备系统的建立。“在与AWS Professional Service接触之前,我们评估认为建立传统意义的灾备系统投入产出比很差,而如何充分发挥AWS的功能,建立云端的灾备系统对我们是个挑战。得益于AWS Professional Service的帮助,我们才完成了在过去难以完成的任务。”伍建平说。

目前IGG已经将AWS云服务用于业务的各个方面。依据区域的不同,AWS云服务在IGG的应用也不一样:在北加州,AWS云服务主要用于IGG的即时通信产品;在俄罗冈州,AWS云服务是IGG的灾备中心,用于IGG全球的数据备份和恢复;在法兰克福、新加坡,AWS云服务分别为欧洲玩家和亚洲玩家服务。IGG已经使用的AWS云服务包括Amazon EC2、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)Elastic Load Balancing、Auto Scaling、Amazon CloudWatch、Amazon Route 53、Amazon DynamoDBAmazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)等。图1是基于AWS云服务的IGG双活灾备中心示意图。

igg-arch-diag

图1 基于AWS云服务的IGG双活灾备中心

使用AWS云服务给IGG带来的最大好处是用较低的成本建立起远程的双活灾备中心,实现了核心业务异地实时同步备份,在主机房出现故障时能快速切换到云端,保证服务的连续性。整个灾备系统完全满足IGG的业务需求:RTO不超过30分钟、RPO为0,增强了IGG游戏运营系统的稳定性和可靠性。除此之外,使用AWS云服务也节省了灾备系统的成本,因为利用AWS云服务建立双活灾备系统时并不需要1:1的资源配置,这点相比传统的本地灾备具有极大的性价比优势。

使用AWS云服务的第二个好处是大幅度提升了IGG游戏运营系统的弹性和灵活性,无论是某款游戏突然热销或是某个地区的玩家突然激增,IGG都可以根据事先设定的规则,自动部署新增服务器,并且将部署时间从过去的4小时缩短为数秒,确保玩家始终拥有优异的游戏体验。一旦需求下降,多余的云服务器即可自动释放,实现节省成本的目标。

使用AWS 云服务给IGG带来的第三个好处是简化了运维管理,节省了运维成本,同时由于运维自动化程度的提升,使得整个系统的安全性和可靠性得到极大地增强。

若要了解如何使用AWS云快速创造精彩的游戏,并吸引全球受众,请访问:https://aws.amazon.com/cn/gaming/

With Amazon Web Services, we have not only had the flexibility to expand our services, but also the ability to establish live data and service replication for our core operations with the help of the AWS Professional Services. This has improved the reliability of our entire gaming operations system.
Jianping Wu IGG Senior IT Manager

Founded in 2005, IGG is a world leading mobile game developer and operator, providing games and game-related services worldwide. IGG is headquartered in Singapore and has offices in the United States, China, Canada, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Belarus and the Philippines, with customers in more than 200 countries and regions. As of the end of 2016, IGG boasts more than 340 million player accounts worldwide and 18.6 million monthly active users. In App Annie’s “Top 52 Publishers of 2016,” IGG ranked 27th. IGG was listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in October 2013 and, in 2015, made the leap from the Growth Enterprise Market to the Main Board. In March 2016, IGG became a constituent stock in the Hang Seng Internet & Information Technology Index, the Hang Seng Global Composite Index, and the Hang Seng Composite Index. 

IGG gamers are all over the world, requiring IGG to deploy servers in multiple regions to give gamers the best user experience. Before using Amazon Web Services (AWS), IGG had its colocation data center, complemented by facilities leased from a number of companies.

However, with rapid business growth, the original server deployment model began to face many challenges, three of which were the most noticeable. The first was the difficulty in managing server resources. Limited scalability and flexibility meant that when user traffic picked up the deployment of new servers would often lag behind, and when user traffic temporarily declined, existing server resources became wasted. The second challenge was controlling cost when developing and operating new games. While every game requires considerable IT resources to operate, its success is much harder to predict as it’s influenced by many factors. If a game is not as successful as it was once hoped, the server resources purchased for that game would be wasted. The third challenge was setting up an active-active disaster recovery system to ensure consistent and reliable service for gamers around the world under all circumstances.

In response to these challenges, IGG thought about using public cloud services to supplement its own colocation data center (“Company IDC”), ultimately choosing AWS cloud services after research, analysis and comparison. The decision was put into action a few years ago, when IGG began to adopt AWS services offered from Singapore, Frankfurt, Japan, the United States and other Availability Zones to create overseas gaming regions. In August 2016, IGG decided to establish an active-active disaster recovery system for its core operation systems in Northern California to improve the stability and reliability of the entire gaming operations platform. With the help of AWS Professional Services Team, IGG was able to build the redundant disaster recovery center using AWS services based on the Oregon Availability Zone, ensuring that its core operations will not be disrupted by unforeseen events.

IGG’s first experiences with AWS came from one of its projects a few years ago. The project was about an instant messaging product that required hundreds of high-performance servers to deal with the high and concurrent demand, which the Company IDC was unable to meet. Another challenge came from the project’s exploratory nature: If unsuccessful, hundreds of new servers would be wasted. AWS was perfectly positioned to deal with these challenges, as IGG only needed to pay monthly and could cancel anytime to reduce losses from changing or flagging project. “The results proved that [switching to AWS] was a very wise decision,” says Jianping Wu. Although there are other cloud service providers on the market, AWS’ global coverage, multi-functionality, proven and reliable technology, and professional-grade services are the reasons that convinced IGG to choose AWS.

Global Coverage

The AWS Cloud operates 44 Availability Zones in 16 geographic Regions around the world, including U.S. East, U.S. West, Sao Paulo, Ireland, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Beijing, Tokyo, Sydney, Seoul, Mumbai, etc. In addition, unlike other cloud service providers, each AWS Region offers multiple Available Zones, so users can easily deploy their applications across multiple Availability Zones in the same region for fault tolerance and lower latency. These features made it easy for IGG to deploy servers globally, and allowing it to provide fast, stable, and reliable services for gamers around the world.

Multi-functionality

AWS cloud services provide users with a wealth of features, encompassing computing, storage, networking, analysis, management, security and identity management, mobile services, and much more. “We can use AWS cloud services to fulfill the needs of every area of our business,” says Jianping Wu. For example, IGG’s global gaming operations platform requires a high level of scalability, security, and reliability. When a game’s player traffic surges, new servers need to be deployed and brought online immediately. IGG can use services like Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Auto Scaling, and Amazon CloudWatch to set up schedules and scripts to automate server scaling, achieving quick responses to demand peaks and the best gaming experience at a low cost. In addition, to improve the stability and reliability of the Domain Name System (DNS), IGG called upon Amazon Route 53: a fast, easy-to-use, and cost-effective service that can help create and manage DNS through the AWS Management Console. The rich functionality of the AWS platform enables IGG to continually take advantage of new services to eliminate the weakest spots in existing systems and to enhance system stability and reliability.

Professional-Grade Service

IGG’s gaming operations are global. The company provides not only games, but also a large number of infrastructure services. The core operations deployed by IGG in the North California IDC used to be without a disaster recovery system. However, considering the probability of earthquakes in the region, and their potentially disruptive effects on all of IGG’s core operations, IGG hoped to use AWS cloud to establish an active-active disaster recovery system. To that end, IGG engaged the AWS Professional Services, who helped the company to review its business requirements, conduct proof of concept, and build and test various experimental configurations to finally complete disaster recovery system. “Before we got in touch with AWS Professional Services, we thought that a traditional disaster recovery system would make for a poor investment,” explains Jianping Wu, “Furthermore, how to make the most out of AWS’ functions and build a disaster recovery system on the cloud was a challenge for us. Thanks to the help of AWS Professional Services, we completed a goal that would have been nearly unattainable ourselves.”

IGG now uses AWS services for all aspects of its business, customizing them to fit the particular needs of each region: In Northern California, AWS is mainly used for instant messaging; in Oregon, AWS powers the disaster recovery center which provides data backup and recovery services for IGG operations worldwide; in Frankfurt and Singapore, AWS helps deliver top-notch gaming experiences to gamers in Europe and in Asia, respectively. The cloud services that made all these applications a reality include Amazon EC2, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Elastic Load Balancing, Auto Scaling, Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon Route 53, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), etc. Figure 1 shows the topology of IGG’s active-active disaster recovery center running on AWS. 

igg-arch-diag

Fig. 1: IGG’s Active-Active Disaster Recovery Center Built on AWS Technologies

Among the many benefits that IGG reaps from using AWS services, the biggest is the low cost of building its remote disaster recovery center. The center enables simultaneous real-time backup of core operations at remote locations, so that if the main server room was down, the cloud-based server would promptly pick up the operations and ensure continuous service availability. With an RTO of less than 30 minutes and RPO of 0, this system perfectly meets IGG’s business needs while also improving the stability and reliability of its gaming operations system. Moreover, choosing AWS also means significant cost savings when it comes to building a disaster recovery system – because unlike traditional, local systems, AWS-based solutions do not require a 1:1 resource allocation ratio to achieve live data and service replication.

The second benefit of using AWS is the substantial boost in flexibility and scalability to IGG’s gaming operations system. Whether it is a sudden uptick in sales or in the number of active gamers in a particular region, IGG can rest easy knowing that the pre-set configuration rules will automatically deploy new servers to address the surging demand. And thanks to AWS, this deployment time was shortened from four hours to a few seconds, ensuring an excellent gaming experience throughout. Conversely, once the demand drops, excess cloud servers will be automatically released to cut costs.

The third benefit relates to operations and maintenance. Simplified management process has reduced IGG’s O&M costs; and due to extensive automation, security and reliability of the whole system also see significant improvement.

To learn how to quickly bring amazing games to life and reach a global audience with the AWS Cloud, please visit our gaming details page.