2009 年,ionatec 公司开始为巴西的初创公司开发创新的 Web 和软件解决方案。从那以后,ionatec 公司开始扩大规模,并设立了“云单位”,专门设计和集成云技术系统,并将现有的基础设施迁移到基于云的环境中。

因为 ionatec 是与新设立的公司合作的,它本身也属于初创公司,所以,必须巧妙地兼顾它自己有限的资源和资金以及客户的资源和资金。另外,ionatec 还必须维护具有多功能的基础设施,为各种各样的技术需求提供支持。

ionatec 决定从本地服务器的费用和限制中走出来,转而使用云的灵活性。Guillermo Nudelman Hess 主管说:“当我们开始考虑云计算时,最后发现 Amazon Web Services 最符合我们的需要。正是该服务的完整性和可靠性,让我们轻松地做出了使用 AWS 的决定。”

“我们目前的项目中使用了 AWS 提供的多种服务。我们没有自己的服务器,模拟环境和生产环境都在使用 Linux Ubuntu Amazon Machine Images (AMI) 的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 和 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 实例上运行。我们在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储段中存储静态文件,如图像、音频和视频文件。我们应用程序的数据库位于 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 实例中。最后,我们使用弹性 IP 获取应用程序的 IP,并使用 Amazon Route 53 管理我们的域名系统 (DNS)。”Hess 解释说。

下图重点列出了 ionatec 使用 Ruby on Rails 开发的架构和 AWS 管理控制台:

ionatec architecture diagram

图 1AWS 上的 ionatec 结构

AWS 可让 ionatec 控制它的服务使用情况,因此也就可以控制它的营运成本。该公司的生产环境包括两个 Amazon EC2 实例,通过连续运行为客户的项目提供支持。该公司还拥有运行 Wowza Media System AMI 的单独 Amazon EC2 实例。不过,ionatec 的过渡环境是由两个另外的 Amazon EC2 实例托管的,仅在上午 8 点到下午 8 点之间运行,因此避免了十二个小时不必要的资源消耗。

目前,ionatec 正凭借它在最新 AWS 功能堆栈上的成功,扩展基础设施服务。Hess 说:“我们开始使用 Amazon CloudWatchAuto ScalingElastic Load Balancing,希望实现真正的自动处理弹性。我们还在使用 Amazon CloudFront 进行管理内容分配的一些实验。”

随着 ionatec 开发新的系统,它计划集成 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)、Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 和 Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES)。该公司还将评估 AWS CloudFormation,以便创建和管理完整的 AWS 环境。

“总的来说,我相信云计算对初创公司非常有用。只需对使用的资源和时间付费,这太好了,还让我们省下了可以分配给开发团队的资金。Hess 说:“AWS(尤其是它的可靠性、可扩展性和可用资源)简化了云计算的使用,还可让开发人员同时开发复杂的系统和简单的系统。”

有关 ionatec 可以如何帮助您的公司在 AWS 云上运行的更多信息,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 ionatec 清单

In 2009, the IT company ionatec began developing innovative web and software solutions for Brazilian startups. Since then, ionatec has grown to include a “Cloud Unit” that specializes in designing and integrating cloud technology systems, as well as migrating existing infrastructures into cloud-based environments.

Since ionatec works with newly established companies and is a startup itself, it must juggle its own resource and capital limitations with that of its clients. In addition, ionatec has to maintain a multi-functional infrastructure capable of supporting a wide range of technology demands.

ionatec chose to forego the expense and limitations of local servers in favor of the cloud’s flexibility. Guillermo Nudelman Hess, director, says, “When we started looking at cloud computing, Amazon Web Services emerged as the best choice for our needs. The completeness and robustness of the services made AWS an easy decision.”

“Currently, in our projects, we are using several services from AWS. We do not have our own servers; both staging and production environments run on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) and Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) instances running Linux Ubuntu Amazon Machine Images (AMIs). We store static files, such as images, audio, and video files, in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets. Our application’s database is in an Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) instance. Finally, we use Elastic IP to obtain the application’s IP and Amazon Route 53 to manage our Domain Name System (DNS),” explains Hess.

The diagram below highlights ionatec’s architecture, which was developed using Ruby on Rails, as well as the AWS Management Console:

ionatec-arch-diagram

Figure 1. ionatec Architecture on AWS

AWS allows ionatec to control its service usage and therefore its operational costs. The company’s production environment, which includes two Amazon EC2 instances, works continuously to support clients’ projects. The company also has a separate Amazon EC2 instance running Wowza Media System AMIs. However, ionatec’s staging environment, hosted by two additional Amazon EC2 instances, is only engaged from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., thereby avoiding twelve hours of unnecessary resource consumption.

Based upon the success of its current AWS feature stack, ionatec is now expanding its infrastructure services. Hess notes, “We are starting to use Amazon CloudWatch, Auto Scaling, and Elastic Load Balancing to actually implement automated elasticity. We are also performing some experiments using Amazon CloudFront to manage content distribution.”

As ionatec develops new systems, it plans to integrate Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), and Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES). The company will also be evaluating AWS CloudFormation for creating and managing complete AWS environments.

“I believe cloud computing is very useful for startups in general. Paying only for the amount of resources we use, and for the amount of time we use, is great and lets us save money that can be allocated into the development team. With AWS, specifically, the reliability, scalability, and available resources make the use of cloud computing simple, while at the same time enabling the development of both complex and simple systems,” says Hess.

For more information about how ionatec can help your company run on the AWS Cloud, see ionatec's listing in the AWS Partner Directory.