MilkVFX_600x400_Logo

Milk 使用 AWS Thinkbox Deadline 在 6 周内渲染了 170 个流体模拟镜头

在 STXfilms 电影《惊涛飓浪》(根据被困于 5 级飓风中的两个水手的真实故事改编)的开场中,发生了一件极其可怕的事情。各种残骸和一具尸体漂浮在浑浊的水中。一位流着血的女人在进水的帆船上恢复了意识。随着船在翻滚上甲板的巨浪中不断颠簸,这个女人拼命搜寻她失踪的伴侣。从结束该场景的高角度航拍镜头中,我们可以清楚地看到她所面临的麻烦有多大。在无边无际巨大的空旷海洋上,残破的船只就是一个渺小的点。

从各方面来看,此场景都像是外景拍摄,在一艘真实的帆船上,甲板下有三英尺深的水在晃动,但这是一种错觉。而实际上,这是在摄影棚中的绿幕前拍摄的,船在平衡环上摇晃来模拟海浪的涌动,现场的水只是为了浸湿演员的头发。

Milk 添加了海洋。

  • 关于 Milk VFX
  • AWS 的优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Milk VFX
  • VFX 工作室 Milk 荣获了一次奥斯卡奖和三次 BAFTA 奖,享有声誉的作品包括《湮灭》《碳变》《神奇动物在哪里》。该公司在伦敦和威尔士的卡迪夫设有工作室。 

  • AWS 的优势
    • 在 6 周内渲染了 170 个海洋模拟镜头
    • 渲染场的规模最高时达到了 132000 个 CPU 内核
    • 艺术家不需要学习工具或流程
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

只需基本船员即可启航

Milk 是一家总部位于伦敦的视觉效果 (VFX) 公司,享有广泛的电视和电影声誉,曾凭借《机械姬》荣获了一次奥斯卡最佳视觉效果奖,凭借《神秘博士》和其他作品荣获了多次 BAFTA 奖。许多 VFX 公司都以单独打造这个 7000 帧的开场而感到自豪,但是作为《惊涛飓浪》的主要 VFX 供应商,Milk 生成了 170 个流体模拟海洋和暴风雨镜头。其中包括一组 62TB、3000 帧的镜头,在这些镜头中,帆船在海面上颠簸,然后被一个 100 英尺高的巨浪打翻。渲染这部电影的所有模拟和 VFX 花费了 6 周的时间,每日资源需求平均为 80000 个 CPU 内核,最多时高达 132000 个。

为了完成所有这些工作,Milk 通过为 SideFX Houdini 和 AWS Thinkbox Deadline(适用于云和本地渲染场的施行和计算管理解决方案)构建自定义脚本优化了其动画管道,以进行广泛的 FX 模拟。然后,艺术家可以使用数千个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Spot 实例在本地模拟并在云中使用 Mantra 进行渲染。

“对于《惊涛飓浪》而言,VFX 工作的范围很容易就达到我们之前处理的任何工作的 10 倍,而且它不是我们唯一在做的项目”,Milk 系统负责人 Dave Goodbourn 说。“通过在 AWS 上使用 Deadline,即使我们的中等规模的团队也能轻松完成大量工作。”

在 AWS 上做到事半功倍

Milk 成立于 2013 年,五年以来其艺术家人数在不断增加,现已达到 200 名左右,而且其伦敦总部还在不断发展壮大。此外,它还从事富有挑战性的电视和电影制作工作,包括即将上映的 Dan Films/Kindle Entertainment 故事片《四个孩子与神奇动物》和 Amazon Prime/BBC Studios 连续剧《好兆头》。

Milk 的战略是使用云计算达到对于如此规模的公司来说前所未有的容量和敏捷性,正是这个正确的战略所提供的 VFX 让《惊涛飓浪》的导演 Baltasar Kormákur 实现了雄心壮志。

“水模拟向来要求苛刻,因为观众对视觉效果有直观的感受,而这非常难以实现,而且会产生海量数据”,Milk 的 FX 负责人兼 CG 主管 James Reid 说。“可靠且高度可扩展的渲染能力是该项目的主要考虑因素,因此我们开始考虑 AWS。”

Milk 还看到了 AWS 最近收购的 Thinkbox 的价值。“自从我们公司成立以来,Thinkbox Deadline 一直是我们的管道和基础设施的重要组成部分”,Reid 说。“对于像《惊涛飓浪》这样的复杂作业,我们的舒适度更高,因为我们将与同一家公司合作,来获得渲染场管理软件和云计算资源。”

在 AWS 上,Milk 拥有所需的所有规模。“大量颠簸镜头的 62TB 数据是 FX 缓存的”,Milk 管道主管 Benoit Leveau 说。“如果没有 AWS Thinkbox Deadline 以及在我们需要时扩展到数千个 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例的能力,我们不可能渲染如此复杂的镜头。”

不需要进行耗时的培训讲座,Milk 团队就可以学会使用 AWS 工具。“因为我们的艺术家早已熟悉 Deadline,因此他们不需要学习新工具或流程,甚至不需要指定他们需要多少个节点”,Leveau 说。“他们只需将其作业发送到云端,并表明希望取回作业的时间,Deadline 会负责处理剩下的工作。”

Reid 解释说,AWS 上规模巨大的可用渲染节点对于如此快速地完成项目至关重要。“当您点击‘提交到场’时,您希望看到这些帧快速返回,不论有多少个帧。无限容量的 AWS Thinkbox Deadline 和 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例可让迭代更加流畅且结果更好。”

当然,对大量计算能力的需求并不是一直在增加,这是 Milk 在 AWS 中发现的另一个优势。“要使用本地资源完成像《惊涛飓浪》这样的项目,我们将需要 10-15 倍之多的渲染节点,但只是偶尔如此”,Leveau 说。“ 在 AWS 上,我们可以根据所需时长轻松使用不同的资源(如具有 256GB RAM 的 96 个内核),而且只需为实际使用的资源付费。我们使用物理机器是无法做到这一点的。此外,可靠的机器在 AWS 上随时可用,并且规格也在不断升级。”

Goodbourn 解释了为什么云现在是公司战略不可或缺的一部分。“如果无法访问我们使用 AWS Thinkbox Deadline 和 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例可以获得的无限资源,我们将无法承担像《惊涛飓浪》这样的项目。在 AWS 上运行使像 Milk 这样的公司能够与超出自己重量级的对手较量,如果没有云根本不可能做到这一点。”


了解更多

了解有关 AWS Thinkbox Deadline 的更多信息。

MilkVFX_600x400_Logo

Milk Renders 170 Fluid-Simulation Shots in 6 Weeks Using AWS Thinkbox Deadline

In the opening scene of the STXfilms movie Adrift, based on the true story of two sailors caught in a Category 5 hurricane, it's obvious something terrible has happened. Debris and a body float in murky water. A bleeding woman regains consciousness in a flooded sailboat. As the boat wallows in the waves rolling across its deck, the woman searches desperately for her missing partner. Just how much trouble she's in is clear from the high-angle aerial shot that ends the scene. The crippled vessel is a tiny dot, surrounded for miles and miles by vast, empty ocean.

To all appearances, this scene was filmed on location, on a real sailboat, with three feet of water sloshing below decks—but that's an illusion. It was actually shot in front of green screens in a studio, the boat rocking on gimbals to simulate the motion of the waves, with only enough water on set to keep the actors' hair wet.

Milk added the ocean.

  • About Milk VFX
  • Benefits of AWS
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Milk VFX
  • VFX studio Milk, winner of an Academy Award and three BAFTA awards, has credits that include Annihilation, Altered Carbon, and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. The company has studios in London and Cardiff, Wales. 

  • Benefits of AWS
    • Rendered 170 ocean simulation shots in 6 weeks
    • Scale of the render farm peaked at 132,000 CPU cores
    • Artists didn’t need to learn new tools or processes
  • AWS Services Used

Setting Sail with a Skeleton Crew

Milk, a London-based visual effects (VFX) company, has extensive television and film credits, and it has won an Academy Award for Best Visual Effects on Ex Machina as well as multiple BAFTA awards for Doctor Who and other projects. Many VFX companies would be proud to have created this 7,000-frame opening scene alone, but—as the principal VFX vendor for Adrift—Milk generated 170 fluid-simulation ocean and storm shots. Those included a 62 TB, 3,000-frame sequence in which the sailboat is pitchpoled—flipped end over end—by a 100-foot wave. Rendering all the simulations and VFX for the film took six weeks, with daily resource needs averaging 80,000 CPU cores and peaking at 132,000.

To accomplish all this, Milk optimized its animation pipeline for extensive FX simulation by building custom scripts for SideFX Houdini and AWS Thinkbox Deadline—an administration and compute-management solution for cloud and on-premises render farms. Its artists could then simulate locally and render with Mantra in the cloud using thousands of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Spot Instances.

"The scope of the VFX work for Adrift was easily 10 times bigger than anything we'd tackled previously, and it wasn’t the only project we were working on," says Dave Goodbourn, head of systems for Milk. “By using Deadline on AWS, even our modest-sized team was easily able to generate a ton of work.”

Achieving More with Less on AWS

Founded in 2013, Milk's fifth year saw it increasing its artist capacity to about 200 and expanding its London headquarters. In addition, it was taking on a raft of challenging television and film work, including the upcoming Dan Films/Kindle Entertainment feature film Four Kids and It and the Amazon Prime/BBC Studios series Good Omens.

Milk’s strategy is to use cloud computing to achieve what would otherwise be unheard-of capacity and agility for a company its size—just the right strategy to deliver the VFX for Adrift director Baltasar Kormákur's ambitious vision.

“Water simulation is unforgiving since audiences have an intuitive feeling of what it should look like, it’s highly complex to generate, and a ton of data is produced,” says James Reid, head of FX and CG supervisor for Milk. “Reliable, highly scalable render capacity was a primary consideration for the project, so we started looking at AWS."

Milk also saw value in the recent acquisition of Thinkbox by AWS. "Thinkbox Deadline has been an essential part of our pipeline and infrastructure since our founding," says Reid. "For a complex job like Adrift, our comfort level was higher knowing we would be working with the same company for both our render-farm management software and our cloud compute resources."

On AWS, Milk had all the scale it needed. "A lot of the pitchpole shot’s 62 TB of data was FX caching,” says Benoit Leveau, the head of pipeline for Milk. “Without AWS Thinkbox Deadline and the ability to scale up to thousands of Amazon EC2 Spot Instances whenever we needed, we simply couldn’t have rendered such complex shots.”

The AWS tools didn’t require time-consuming training sessions before the Milk team could get to work. “Because our artists were already familiar with Deadline, they had no new tools or processes to learn and didn't even need to specify how many nodes they needed,” says Leveau. “They just sent their jobs to the cloud, indicated when they wanted them back, and Deadline took care of the rest."

Reid explains that the vast scale of available render nodes on AWS was crucial to completing the project so quickly. "When you hit ‘submit to farm,’ you want see those frames return quickly, no matter how many there are. The unlimited capacity of AWS Thinkbox Deadline and Amazon EC2 Spot Instances makes for more fluid iteration and better results.”

The need for a massive amount of compute power doesn't arise all the time, of course—another advantage Milk sees in AWS. "To complete a project like Adrift using on-premises resources, we'd need 10–15 times more rendering nodes, but only some of the time," says Leveau. " On AWS, we can easily tap different resources—like 96 cores with 256 GB RAM, or even more cores or RAM—for as short or as long a time as we need and only pay for what we actually use. We wouldn’t have been able to do that with physical machines. In addition, reliable machines are readily available on AWS and the specs are constantly upgraded.”

Goodbourn explains why the cloud is now integral to the company’s strategy. "Without the access to unlimited resources we can get using AWS Thinkbox Deadline and Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, we wouldn’t be able to take on projects such as Adrift. Running on AWS allows a studio like Milk to punch massively above its weight—which just wouldn't be possible without the cloud."


Learn More

Learn more about AWS Thinkbox Deadline.