“我们听取了客户对高可用性和全球规模的需求,并且正在采用一种新的 AWS 优先方法来使用 MindSphere。”
Steve Bashada 西门子云应用程序服务部门执行副总裁

西门子是欧洲最大的工业制造公司,专注于电气化、自动化和数字化。该公司为发电、铁路运输、医疗和水处理等行业提供技术以及相关的服务和软件。西门子于 1847 年在柏林成立,目前在全球拥有 37.7 万名员工,年收入 830 亿欧元(1020 亿美元)。

其位于墨西哥蒙特雷的工厂拥有约 1500 名员工,每年为美国国内和工业市场生产 2800 多万个断路器和开关。

2017 年,蒙特雷工厂启动了雄心勃勃的数字化战略。西门子成立了一个部门来推动这项工作,该部门与集团在德国的首席技术官合作,确定工厂可以利用数字技术提高效率的领域。按照数字化项目经理 Luis Rodríguez 的说法,他们的目标是成为工业 4.0 这种新一代制造业的典范,而工业 4.0 的动力来自自动化、物联网 (IoT) 和云计算。

该部分确定了几种数字化应用场景,其中最紧迫的是监控设备综合效率 (OEE)。西门子生产经理 Alejandro Prieto 解释了这一指标的重要性。“用人均产量和产品单价来衡量一个流程的效率,其作用非常有限。我们不知道生产流程的哪个地方可以改进。而新的 OEE 流程将输出与停机时间和质量指标相结合,让我们的流程完全透明”。

团队最初准备手动记录 OEE 指标并每周分析数据,但最终决定使用云技术。

西门子不仅生产实体元件,软件每年可以为其带来 40 亿欧元(49 亿美元)的收入。该公司在 2017 年年底宣布,其最新版本的物联网操作系统 MindSphere 将会托管在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 上。这样,像蒙特雷这样的工厂就可以立即获得构建工业物联网系统所需的计算资源,而花费的时间只占建立物理环境所需时间的一小部分。

西门子云应用程序服务部门执行副总裁 Steve Bashada 表示:“我们听取了客户对高可用性和全球规模的需求,并且正在采用一种新的 AWS 优先方法来使用 MindSphere。由于我们与 AWS 的合作,西门子的客户和合作伙伴以后能够使用一种最好的工业物联网应用程序编程接口,并直接利用 AWS 的服务来加快应用程序开发速度”。

这对蒙特雷工厂来说是一个再好不过的机会。由西门子在德国的高管建立联系后,一个来自波士顿的 MindSphere 团队于 2018 年 2 月底来到墨西哥讨论需求,并开始构建试点解决方案。工作内容涉及到将实体设备连接到 MindSphere 云环境,并构建应用程序将工厂管理人员需要监控的各种指标可视化。

工厂的 IT 安全团队还必须确保传输的数据和存储在 AWS 云中的数据都受到保护。此外,还必须能够在将生产线连接到云的本地服务器上安装 MindSphere 代理软件。Prieto 表示:“MindSphere 和 AWS 团队与我们合作,在很短的时间内就完成了试点。他们帮助我们快速轻松地在云中运行物联网解决方案”。 到 4 月中旬,试点项目投入生产。

据 Prieto 介绍,将工厂连接到云的主要优势在于能够查看生产线的实时 OEE 并立即进行改进。在构建控制面板应用程序时,团队使用了历史生产数据。这让他们发现了一台发生故障的测试设备,修复故障后,初检良品率(生产线生产的合格产品数量)提高了三个百分点。“如果我们之前能够实时修复故障,我们的质量和 OEE 就会得到极大提高”,Prieto 表示,“而今后,我们就有能力做出这种即时调整,从而提高效率”。

工厂在 AWS 上使用 MindSphere 构建物联网系统,因此不需要学习新技术,也不需要购买和部署物理硬件。这让项目在不到 8 周的时间内就从概念转化为完全投入生产。“MindSphere 在 AWS 上流畅运行,因此我们完全不需要管理基础设施,可以专注于更快地为业务创造价值”,Prieto 表示。

工厂的 OEE 目前在 40% 到 50% 之间,而项目明年在全厂推广之后,团队预计 OEE 可以达到 60%。最终的目标是 85%。“在 AWS 上使用西门子 MindSphere 物联网平台可以帮助我们达到世界级的生产效率水平”,Prieto 表示。在 MindSphere 上构建的自定义应用程序还让团队能够监控单个生产线的效率,从而掌握更详细的信息。

蒙特雷项目是西门子全球工厂的典范,也是当地物联网应用领域的先驱。“我们希望为墨西哥的其他制造企业提供支持,让他们形成自己的工业 4.0 能力”,Rodríguez 表示,“我们的工厂是西门子第一家在 AWS 上使用最新版本 MindSphere 的工厂,我们在不到两个月的时间里就把项目投入生产。这是一种经过生产环境验证的解决方案,可以快速推广到试点范围之外。到下个财年开始的时候,大部分工厂都会接入,并努力实现我们的 OEE 目标”。

了解 AWS IoT 服务如何帮助您在云中实施物联网项目。

"We listened to our customers’ demand for high availability and global scale, and we are embracing a new AWS-first approach to MindSphere. "
Steve Bashada Executive Vice President of Siemens Cloud Application Services

Siemens is Europe’s largest industrial manufacturing company, focusing on electrification, automation, and digitalization. The company produces technology for industries such as power generation, rail transportation, healthcare, and water treatment; it also offers related services and software. Founded in Berlin in 1847, it now employs 377,000 people worldwide and generates €83 billion (US$102 billion) in annual revenue.

Its factory in Monterrey, Mexico, employs about 1,500 people, and manufactures more than 28 million circuit breakers and switches a year for the US domestic and industrial markets.

The Monterrey plant embarked on an ambitious digitalization strategy in 2017. The company formed a department to drive this venture, working with the group chief technology officer in Germany to identify areas where the plant could use digital technology to increase efficiency. According to Digitalization Project Manager Luis Rodríguez, the goal is to become a great example of the next phase of manufacturing—Industry 4.0—which is driven by automation, the Internet of Things (IoT), and cloud computing.

The department identified several use cases for digitalization, the most pressing of which was monitoring overall equipment efficiency (OEE). Alejandro Prieto, manufacturing manager at Siemens, explains the significance of this metric. “Measuring the efficiency of a process in units produced per head, versus the price we get per unit, could only get us so far. It doesn’t tell us where improvements can be made in the manufacturing process. The new OEE process combines output with measurements of downtime and quality to give full transparency into our processes.”

The team had initially planned to record OEE metrics manually and analyze the data each week, but decided to instead use the cloud.

Siemens doesn’t just produce physical components; software provides €4 billion (US$4.9 billion) of its annual income. In late 2017, the company announced that the latest version of its IoT operating system, MindSphere, would be hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS). This gives plants like the one in Monterrey immediate access to the compute resources needed to build an industrial IoT system in a fraction of the time it would take to set up a physical environment.

Steve Bashada, executive vice president of Siemens Cloud Application Services, says, “We listened to our customers’ demand for high availability and global scale, and we are embracing a new AWS-first approach to MindSphere. Thanks to our collaboration with AWS, Siemens customers and partners will have access to one of the best industrial IoT application programming interfaces, coupled with direct access to AWS services for faster application development.”

The timing couldn’t have been better for the Monterrey team. After senior Siemens executives in Germany made connections, a MindSphere team from Boston came to Mexico in late February 2018 to discuss requirements and begin building a pilot solution. This involved connecting physical machines to the MindSphere cloud environment and building the application that visualizes the various metrics that plant managers need to monitor.

The plant’s IT security team also had to ensure that the data was protected both in transit and when stored in the AWS Cloud. In addition, it had to approve the installation of the MindSphere agent software on the local server that connects the production lines to the cloud. Prieto says, “The MindSphere and AWS teams worked with us on short notice to deliver this pilot. They made it quick and easy for us to run our IoT solution in the cloud.” By mid-April, the pilot was in production.

According to Prieto, the main benefit of connecting the factory to the cloud is the ability to view the real-time OEE of production lines and make immediate improvements. While building the dashboard app, the team used historical production data. This uncovered a malfunctioning test machine, which was fixed, improving first-pass yield (the number of good units coming off the production line) by three percent. “If we had been able to correct this in real time, it would have had a significant impact on our quality, and therefore OEE,” says Prieto. “Moving forward, we’ll be able to make those instant adjustments that improve our efficiency.”

Because the factory built its IoT system using MindSphere on AWS, there was no need to learn new technologies or buy and deploy physical hardware. This helped the project go from conception to full production in less than 8 weeks. “The fact that MindSphere runs so seamlessly on AWS helped us avoid managing infrastructure altogether, so we could concentrate on creating value for the business quicker,” says Prieto.

Right now, the plant’s OEE is 40–50 percent, and next year, once the scheme is rolled out factory-wide, the team’s target is 60 percent. Eventually, the goal is to reach 85 percent. “Using the Siemens MindSphere IoT platform on AWS will help us achieve world-class levels of manufacturing efficiency,” says Prieto. The custom application built on MindSphere will also allow the team to monitor the efficiency of individual production lines for more detailed insight.

The Monterrey project is a model for Siemens plants worldwide, as well as a pioneering IoT use case for the local region. “We want to provide support for other manufacturers in Mexico so they can develop their Industry 4.0 capabilities,” says Rodríguez. “Ours is the first Siemens plant to use the latest version of MindSphere on AWS, and we got it into production in less than two months. It’s a proven solution in a production environment that can scale quickly beyond this pilot. By the start of the next fiscal year, most of the plant will be connected and working toward our OEE target.”

Learn how AWS IoT Services help you realize IoT projects in the cloud.