VPAT / Section 508


In 1998, The Congress of the United States of America amended the Rehabilitation Act to require Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities. Inaccessible technology interferes with an individual's ability to obtain and use information quickly and easily. Section 508 was enacted to eliminate barriers in information technology, to make available new opportunities for people with disabilities, and to encourage development of technologies that will help achieve these goals.

The law applies to all Federal agencies when they develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology. Under Section 508 (29 U.S.C. ' 794d), agencies must give disabled employees and members of the public access to information that is comparable to the access available to others.

Section 508 is a federal and state requirement so any and all of AWS government customers will have Section 508 compliance needs. Section 508 requires that when Federal agencies develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology, they must ensure that it is accessible to people with disabilities, unless it would pose an undue burden to do so. Federal employees and members of the public who have disabilities must have access to and use of information and services that is comparable to the access and use available to non-disabled Federal employees and members of the public.

AWS is committed to complying with all relevant government standards and compliance controls. This commitment is reflected in the importance we place on understanding, implementing and maintaining ongoing compliance with these standards for ALL individuals that access and consume our services.

The Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) is available to customers using AWS Artifact, a self-service portal for on-demand access to AWS’ compliance reports. Get started with AWS Artifact today.

AWS provides API-based cloud computing services with multiple interfaces to those services, including SDKs, IDE Toolkits, and Command Line Tools or developing and managing AWS resources. AWS provides two graphical user interfaces, the AWS Management Console and the AWS ElasticWolf Client Console. The AWS ElasticWolf Client Console has incorporated Section 508 requirements and AWS has prepared a Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) for the Console, which outlines the Console’s accessibility features.

Have Questions? Connect with an AWS Business Representative
Exploring compliance roles?
Apply today »
Want AWS Compliance updates?
Follow us on Twitter »