借助领导力原则引领和创新

借助领导力原则引领和创新

文章 | 阅读需时 7 分钟

Daniel Slater,AWS 全球创新文化负责人

作者:Daniel Slater
AWS 全球创新文化负责人

首席执行官通常会实施一套原则来定义公司的文化、价值观以及他们将如何实现企业的长期目标。首席执行官负责自上而下引导公司的发展方向,并确定业务的优先级和重点 — 一套指导原则通常有助于表达他们的战略目标并激励员工致力于共同的目标。

有多种形式可以表达这些原则:阐明公司长期目标及其追求的愿景宣言;定义业务及其重点的使命;帮助公司将路线图与其战略保持一致的目的陈述。

这些不同形式的原则为企业提供了一种透明和规范的表达方式,阐述其将注意力、资源和精力集中在哪些领域以及怎么做。公司理应花大量时间仔细考虑这些问题。原则传达了公司所信奉的核心价值观以及公司在服务客户和开展业务时将遵循的信念体系。

公司的原则应成为创新文化的基石,也是领导者及其团队可每天参照的检验标准,以帮助他们快速做出更好、更全面的决策。它们实现了一致性,使员工队伍遵循最高业务优先级和客户需求。

但是,为真正有效地促进创新,这些原则不能只停留在语言上 — 它们需要被践行。它们不能只是简单地存在,被发布在公司网站上或张贴在会议室中,员工偶尔在公司培训或全体员工会议中回顾一遍。它们应融入到员工所做的每一件事中,被新员工、团队及其管理者、首席执行官和领导团队践行。原则应用于指导从日常运营到整个企业战略规划的决策。

初创公司或小型企业更容易通过一套原则建立这种创新文化。他们的高管、管理层和公司创建者更容易接近,而且办公室通常更集中。利益相关者有更多机会出席同样的会议,在会上做出实时决策的同时,可以面对面地巩固公司的原则。

但随着公司规模的扩大,要强化原则变得更加困难。随着业务不断增长和变得更复杂,以及不同地点和时区的员工数量不断增加,企业很难做到始终如一地重视并投入精力来维护原则。随着业务及运营的扩展,决策过程(在初创企业或小型企业中通常依赖于公司创始人和高管)变得更加重要,而且需要花费更多时间。如果缺乏有目的的努力和正确的机制来帮助做出有效、自主的决策,决策流程可能会成为瓶颈,使公司的快速创新能力被消磨殆尽,陷入停滞状态。

Amazon 也不例外,随着公司在地域和多个业务领域的规模扩大,我们也经历了成长的痛苦。Amazon 之所以能够保持我们的创新文化,专注于客户并从客户的需求出发逆向工作,一个主要原因是我们每天都践行 Amazon 的领导力原则。

Amazon 的领导力原则

Amazon 的领导力原则

在 Amazon,我们对自己和彼此负责,力求在日常行动中践行 16 条领导力原则。我们的领导力原则有几句随附的语句,不仅描述了每一条原则的含义,还阐述了在实际工作中践行它们的方式。它们指导 Amazon 应如何处理业务决策,提倡什么样的领导方式,以及如何以客户为中心做出每个决策。

在这些领导力原则当中,有许多是 Amazon 从一开始就奉行的,尤其是客户至上。Jeff Bezos 在写给股东的第一封信 — 1997 年致股东信中就提到,要贴近客户,真正关注他们的需求并了解这些需求的背景,这也体现在 Amazon 的使命宣言中:成为世界上最以客户为中心的公司

这条领导力原则提出:“领导者从客户入手,再反向推动工作开展”。 确保贴近客户并专注于解决他们的问题,这有助于激发您不断创新 — 通常是您可能未涉足的领域。在 AWS,我们 90% 的工作依据的是客户告知的他们所重视的因素,其他 10% 来自可能无法直接表达的方面。对客户需求和痛点的深入了解使我们能够创造新的功能和服务,给他们带来惊喜和愉悦。

这一领导原则承认有必要关注竞争对手和趋势,但应优先关注客户的长期需求,并鼓励每天努力工作,赢得并维系客户的信任。

自 Amazon 成立第 1 天起就遵循“客户至上”的原则,随着时间的推移,逐渐增加了其他领导力原则,例如 2015 年添加的“学习并保持好奇心”。这条原则提出:“领导者从不停止学习,并不断寻找机会提升自己。领导者对各种可能性充满好奇并付于行动加以探索。” 首席执行官大胆的领导有助于定下基调,鼓励人才进行试验、学习和迭代,通过新的方法来满足甚至领先于客户的需求。

以开放的态度学习、适应和不断提高满足客户需求的能力也有助于公司在不断变化的环境中保持敏捷。它不仅使您可以更好地响应客户的需求,还能够为他们进行发明创造。

高质量、高速度决策

高质量、高速度决策

正如领导力原则“积极行动”所述,“速度对业务发展至关重要。” 在 2020 re:Invent 主题演讲中,AWS 首席执行官(截至本文撰写之时,他即将担任 Amazon 首席执行官)Andy Jassy 指出,对于想要创建发明和再创造文化的公司而言,速度是八个关键要素之一,能够不断推动我们为客户创造价值。

“速度不是注定的;速度是一种选择,”Jassy 表示,“你可以做出这个选择,你必须建立一种迫切地想要试验的文化……并且你必须坚持下去。”

始终做到“积极行动”并确保其优先级和紧迫性,此外,还要求我们“从大处着眼”— 另一条领导力原则,提醒领导者传达大胆的方向、激发良好的成果,并广泛寻找服务客户的方式。通过“从大处着眼”,高管通常能够发挥最大的影响力,推动创新文化并带领企业以不同的方式大胆思考。不仅要专注于核心竞争力,还要挑战现状、冒险颠覆并突破界限,以创造比现状更美好的愿景。领导者可以帮助组织自上而下地从大处着眼,并鼓励不断以客户为中心进行快速的创新。

Prime Now 的首次启动是通过践行“积极行动”和“从大处着眼”来推动创新的一个例子。我们知道客户重视快速交付,他们认为 1 小时内超快交付(或两小时免费送货)是一项有吸引力的服务。但是,要以可靠的方式为大量客户扩展服务是很困难的,尽管我们已通过网站优化了关于订单和交付方式的当前限制。

当前能力不足并不能阻止我们从大处着眼。通过专注于客户所重视的数万种产品,而不是整个目录,并推出基于应用程序的服务来摆脱一些限制,Prime Now 可能提供与从 Amazon.com 订购不同的体验,但这并没有改变核心的 Amazon 体验,即保持高标准的服务水平和质量。它使我们意识到这样一个“从大处着眼”想法 — 如何在短短一个小时内向客户交付。我们在践行“积极行动”方面取得了非凡的成绩,从构思到发布仅用了 111 天。

“从大处着想”和“积极行动”并不是成功创新的唯一变量;您当然得确保自己做出正确的决策。但这不能保证业务成功;事实上,要真正做到创新,您需要不断地试验和迭代,难免会经历很多失败。

失败对 Amazon 来说并不陌生 — 在推出 Amazon Fire Phone 大约一年后,我们停止了这款产品的生产,并宣布减记 1.7 亿美元。但是,我们从 Fire Phone 中获得的经验 — 构建硬件、与供应商合作等等 — 对我们今天的设备业务有所帮助。许多 Fire Phone 工作人员继续致力于 Alexa 和我们的 Echo 系列设备。为推动创新文化,您需要培养员工进行试验的意愿并容许不可避免的失败,以及形成捕获和应用所学知识的结构和严谨性,以帮助您做出调整和迭代。

Amazon 通过践行“从大处着眼”和“积极行动”来推动以客户为中心的创新,留出空间进行发明创造并接受伴随的失败和经验教训。为了始终如一地实现高速度高质量的决策,“积极行动”的另一方面以及另一条领导力原则 —“深入探究”— 发挥着重要的作用。

“积极行动”还指出,“很多决策和行动都是可以反转的,因此不需要进行过多推敲。我们提倡在深思熟虑的前提下应对风险。” 您应赋权给您的团队,让他们可以快速做出可逆决策,即可以快速启动和测试的决策,如果之后发现决策不够理想,在不会造成重大后果的情况下可以反转。从这些决策中学到的知识通常是无价的,而且如果发现决策错误,撤销的成本很低。Prime Now 是一个很棒的可逆决策,因为它能够以不改变 Amazon.com 提供的核心体验的方式在一个地理区域内进行试验。不必深入探索每个分面之后才发布,只需要掌握大约 70% 的信息,就可以快速进入下一步,测试客户响应并快速迭代。

另一方面,不可逆决策 — 那些难以撤销并返回之前状态的决策 — 需要经过有条不紊的深思熟虑。对于这些决策,需要花一定时间深入探究,确保我们拥有正确的数据和关键信息,并进行仔细验证,以便在实施之前形成方法。

坚持做正确的事

坚持做正确的事

通过践行我们的领导力原则 — 不仅是意识形态的教条,而且是实际的决策工具 — Amazon 员工能够做出更快、更高质量的决策。我们需要衡量决策,并了解如何最好地平衡“深入探究”和“积极行动”。是否是依据初始数据形成的可逆的双向门决策,可以“积极行动”并进行合理的风险计算? 或者更像是很难逆转的单向门决策,需要更多的“深入探究”并花一定时间来进一步挖掘细节,之后再采取行动?

没有唯一的答案,因为每个决策都是不同的。但领导者可以赋权给团队,让他们独立做出更多双向门决策,从而加速创新。通过将我们的领导力原则作为决策工具,以客户至上且最贴近客户需求的 Amazon 团队可以拥有更多自主权来做出可逆决策,并为客户不断进行试验和发明创造。

Amazon 的领导力原则

Amazon 的领导力原则

赋予团队做出双向门决策的自主权,其中一个好处是帮助团队形成卓越的判断能力和敏锐的直觉 — 这是另一条领导力原则的关键组成部分,即“坚持做正确的事”。这条领导力原则不是指只能做对,而是要培养直觉,在需要时尽可能做出正确的决策。它还涉及在启动后根据新证据快速做出调整。它使团队能够轻松且快速地做出艰难的决策 — 知道何时向前推进,而无需深入调查每个细节,或者在需要更谨慎和全面的方法时轻松地上报给领导层。

聘用和培养最优秀的人才

聘用和培养最优秀的人才

所有 Amazon 人员 — 包括高管和创建者 — 每天都在践行这 16 条领导力原则,将其作为统一的信念体系和用于快速做出高质量决策的工具。领导力原则易于分发,并且有助于引导员工更多地朝着正确的方向思考。我们是否充分做到“从大处着眼”? 该解决方案是否真正以客户至上并基于我们所了解的客户需求? 我们是否充分做到“深入探究”,以明确方向并确定我们正在推动实现最重要的客户利益? 是否有些要素可以通过“积极行动” 来快速推进,以安全的方式验证假设和迭代? 我们是否坚持最高标准并通过我们正在创造的客户体验提高标准? 我们是否确保我们坚持做正确的事,寻求不同的观点并用正确的数据推翻根深蒂固的假设?

Amazon 的领导力原则是很棒的工具,可以帮助我们随着公司规模的扩大培养自主决策能力,并帮助领导者把目光放长远。但领导力原则的应用不仅限于在 Amazon 做决策。它们已融入到我们的招聘流程中:我们在面试之前将它们提供给应聘者并评估他们给出的事例,看看他们做出决策和解决问题的方式如何体现不同的领导力原则。我们使用它们来提出关于“从大处着眼”想法的相互反馈,或用于经理与员工之间的成长和发展对话。

通过这种方式,领导力原则成为一个通用术语,有助于在很难做出决策或复杂情况下展开对话。它们迫使我们从许多不同的角度看待问题,并在需要做出决策时衡量优先级。它们为我们提供了一种方式来挑战和测试假设,培养不同的观点,并为客户提高我们的标准。

不仅仅是领导力原则所述的内容,还有我们每天践行它们的各种方式,使它们成为 Amazon 文化结构中不可或缺的一部分。制定公司原则并打造有目的、有意义的践行方式,将帮助您创建一种与企业共同成长的持久创新文化,使您能够推动大规模、快速和以客户为中心的创新。

分享此文章


Amazon 第 1 天文化的要素
文章 | 阅读需时 7 分钟

Amazon 第 1 天文化的要素

把“第一天”付诸实践,需要长期保持关注、对客户执着,以及大胆的创新
阅读更多 
以客户为中心的创新势在必行
文章 | 阅读需时 7 分钟

以客户为中心的创新势在必行

业务的发展速度、技术的进步和细分市场的转变迫切需要在不断变化的客户需求和要求之前进行创新
阅读更多 
在颠覆中创新
Gartner 创新案例研究

在颠覆中创新

Gartner 检查 Amazon 如何扩大其创新能力
阅读更多 

关于作者

Dan Slater,AWS 全球创新项目

Daniel Slater,AWS 全球创新文化负责人

Dan Slater 作为 AWS 数字创新团队的一员,负责监管创新文化领域,该团队利用受 Amazon 创新机制(如逆向工作)启发的方法,帮助客户在 AWS 上开发和交付新的解决方案。Dan 2006 年加入 Amazon,推出了该公司首款直接面向客户的数字内容产品。他帮助推出了 Kindle 设备和 Kindle 的全球内容市场,以及 Amazon 的自助出版服务 Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP)。在监管了排名前 60 的贸易出版商的数字业务之后,Dan 领导了 KDP 的内容收购、需求生成和供应商关系工作。在加入 Amazon 之前,Dan 是 Simon & Schuster 和 Penguin 的高级收购编辑,并负责一家 IT 出版公司(Vista,现为 Ingenta)的销售工作。Dan 出生于加拿大多伦多,现在与妻子和两个孩子住在西雅图。他获得了杜克大学福库商学院的工商管理硕士学位,并在康奈尔大学完成了文学双学士学位。

联系我们

新闻通讯
Executive Insights 新闻通讯
从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱
订阅新闻通讯 
博客
企业战略博客
向亲自领导云支持转型的高管级领导者学习
阅读博客 
社交媒体
AWS Executive Connection
通过文化、人才和领导力实现创新和转型的观点
在 LinkedIn 上关注我们

Leading and Innovating with Leadership Principles

Leading and Innovating with Leadership Principles

Article | 7 min read

Daniel Slater, Worldwide Lead, Culture of Innovation, AWS

by Daniel Slater
Worldwide Lead, Culture of Innovation, AWS

CEOs often implement a set of principles that define their company’s culture, values, and how they will achieve the business’s long-term objectives. CEOs are responsible for leading a company’s direction from the top-down, and for setting the priorities and focus of the business—a set of guiding principles often help express their strategic aims and galvanize employees around a unified purpose.

There are many formats these principles can take: vision statements that articulate a company’s long-term objectives and what it aspires to be; missions that define the business and its focus; statements of purpose that help a company align roadmaps with its strategy.

These different forms of principles provide a transparent and codified expression of where—and how—a business will focus its attention, resources, and energy. Companies rightly spend a lot of time thinking them through. Principles convey the core values a company believes in and the belief system it will follow in serving their customers and executing its business.

A company’s principles need to form the bedrock of a culture of innovation, and a touchstone that leaders and their teams can come back to daily to help them make better decisions quickly, and at scale. They provide consistency in aligning the workforce to the top business priorities and its customers.

But in order to be truly effective in promoting innovation, these sets of principles can’t just be stated—they need to be used. They can’t simply exist, passively posted on a company website and as placards in conference rooms, occasionally revisited at corporate retreats and employee all-hands meetings. They need to be infused in everything employees do, and leveraged by new hires walking in the door, to teams and their management, to the CEO and their leadership team. Principles need to guide decisions that are made, from day-to-day operations to broad corporate strategic planning.

Establishing this innovative culture through a set of principles is easier at a start-up or small company. Executive leaders, management, and the company’s builders are more accessible and often located more centrally. There is greater opportunity for stakeholders to be together in the same meetings, where a company’s principles can be reinforced face-to-face as decisions are being made in real time.

However, reinforcing principles becomes harder as a company scales. As the business grows and becomes more complex, and as the number of employees swell across different locations and time zones, it is harder to maintain the same energy and emphasis on your principles. The decision-making process that often relies on a company’s founders and senior executives in startup or small business environments becomes weightier—and takes more time—as the business and its operations grow. If there isn’t a purposeful effort and the right mechanisms to help distribute effective, autonomous decision-making, lines of decision-making can become bottlenecks that grind a company’s ability to rapidly innovate to a stand-still.

Amazon is no different, and we went through our own growing pains as the company scaled—geographically and across multiple, diverse businesses. A primary reason why Amazon has been able to maintain our culture of innovation, focusing on customers and working backwards from their needs, is through how we employ Amazon’s Leadership Principles every day.

Amazon's Leadership Principles

Amazon’s Leadership Principles

At Amazon, we hold ourselves and each other accountable for demonstrating 16 Leadership Principles in our daily actions. Our Leadership Principles have a few accompanying sentences that not only describe what each means, but how they should be practically applied. They guide how Amazon approaches business decisions, how we want our leaders to lead, and how we keep the customer at the center of every decision we make.

Many of these Leadership Principles have existed at Amazon from the very start, notably Customer Obsession. The notion of remaining close to your customers, of truly obsessing over their needs and understanding the context behind them, was inherent in Jeff Bezos' very first Letter to Shareholders in 1997, and in Amazon’s mission: to be Earth’s most customer-centric company.

This Leadership Principle states, “Leaders start with the customer, and work backwards.” Ensuring that you remain close to customers and singularly focused on solving their problems helps inspire you to constantly innovate—often in areas you may not have otherwise. At AWS, 90% of what we build is driven by what customers tell us matter to them; the other 10% come from things that may not be directly articulated, but where a deep knowledge of customer needs and pain points allows us to invent new features and services that will surprise and delight them.

While this Leadership Principle acknowledges the need to pay attention to competitors and trends, it prioritizes focusing on your customers’ needs over the long term, and creates a call to action of working vigorously every day to earn and keep customer trust.

While Customer Obsession has existed at Amazon since the company’s literal Day 1, other Leadership Principles have been introduced over time, such as Learn and Be Curious, which was added in 2015. This principle states that “leaders are never done learning and always seek to improve themselves. They are curious about new possibilities and act and explore them.” A CEO’s bold leadership can help set the tone, encouraging talent to experiment, learn, and iterate new ways to meet—and stay ahead of—customers’ needs.

The ability to be open to learn, adapt, and constantly grow your capability to satisfy customer needs also helps keep a company agile in an ever-changing environment. It better equips you to not just respond to what customers want, but proactively invent on their behalf.

High-quality and high-velocity decisions

High-quality and high-velocity decisions

As the Leadership Principle Bias for Action states, “Speed matters in business." In his 2020 re:Invent keynote address, AWS CEO (and, as of this writing, soon-to-be Amazon CEO) Andy Jassy pointed out speed as one of eight key ingredients for companies who want to build a culture of invention and reinvention, and one that continually drives value to customers.

“Speed is not preordained; speed is a choice,” Jassy said. “You can make this choice, and you’ve got to set up a culture that has urgency and actually wants to experiment…you’ve got to be doing it all the time.”

Maintaining a Bias for Action—and ensuring priority and urgency behind it—also requires us to Think Big, another Leadership Principle that reminds leaders to communicate a bold direction, inspire results, and look around corners for ways to serve customers. Thinking Big is where executives can often make the biggest impact in driving an innovative culture and leading the business to think differently and audaciously. To not just focus on core competencies, but challenge the status-quo, risk disruption, and push boundaries to create a vision that is bigger than current reality. Leaders can help an organization Think Big from the top down, and encourage relentless, customer-focused innovation at speed.

The initial launch of Prime Now is an example of innovation driven by applying Bias for Action and Thinking Big. We knew customers valued fast delivery and thought ultra-fast delivery within 1 hour (or two hours with free shipping) would be an attractive service. But scaling reliably for a very large number of customers was difficult, with existing constraints of how orders and delivery were already optimized via our website.

We did not let current capability prevent us from Thinking Big. By focusing on tens of thousands of products that customers valued, rather than the entire catalog, and decoupling from some constraints by launching as an app-based service, Prime Now may have been a different experience than ordering from Amazon.com, but one that didn’t change the core Amazon experience, keeping a high bar for service levels and quality. It enabled us to realize that Think Big idea of how we could deliver to customers in just an hour. And we were able to do it with extraordinary Bias for Action, moving from idea to launch in just 111 days.

Thinking Big and having Bias for Action aren’t the only variables to successful innovation; you naturally want to make sure you are making the right decisions. But there are no guarantees of success in business; in fact, to truly be innovative you are going to need to constantly experiment, iterate, and fail—a lot.

Amazon is no stranger to failure—around one year after its launch, we ceased production of Amazon’s Fire Phone and announced a $170 million write-down. But the learning we captured from the Fire Phone—of building hardware, working with suppliers, and more—helps us today in our devices business. Many of the people who worked on Fire Phone went on to work on Alexa and our Echo family of devices. To drive a culture of innovation, you need to foster a willingness to experiment and allow tolerance for inevitable failures, and the structure and rigor to capture and apply learnings to help you pivot and iterate.

Amazon pushes customer-centric innovation by applying both Thinking Big and having Bias for Action, and making room for both invention and the failure and learning that comes with it. But to consistently achieve both high velocity and high quality decision making, another part of Bias for Action—and applying another Leadership Principle, Dive Deep—are instrumental.

Bias for Action also states that, “many decisions and actions are reversible and do not need extensive study. We value calculated risk taking.” Decisions that are reversible—ones you can quickly launch, test and, should you find that the decision was suboptimal, reverse without huge consequences—are decisions you should empower your teams to make quickly. The learning that comes from these decisions is often invaluable, and the cost of undoing it if it is a mistake is low. Prime Now was a great reversible decision as it enabled experimentation in one geographical area in a way that did not alter the core experience offered on Amazon.com. We didn’t have to deeply explore every facet in order to launch—we could quickly move with about 70% of the information we wish we had, test customer response, and iterate rapidly.

On the other hand, decisions that are irreversible—ones that are hard to unwind and get back to where you were before—need to be made with careful and methodical deliberation and thought. These decisions require the necessary time to Dive Deep and ensure we have the right data, key information, and careful validation to inform the approach before implementation.

Being right-a lot

Being right—a lot

By using our Leadership Principles—not just as ideological doctrine, but as actual tools in decision-making—Amazonians are able to get to quicker and higher quality decisions. We need to gauge a decision and understand how to best balance Dive Deep and Bias for Action. Is it a reversible, two-way door informed by initial data where we can have Bias for Action and make a well-reasoned calculated risk? Or is it more of a one-way door that’s harder to reverse, and requires more Dive Deep and requisite time to dig further into details before acting?

There is no single answer as every decision will be different. But leaders can accelerate innovation by empowering teams to make more two-way door decisions independently. By leveraging our Leadership Principles as decision-making tool, teams at Amazon who obsess over customers and are closest to their needs can have more autonomy with reversible decisions, and constantly experiment and invent on their customers’ behalf.

Amazon’s Leadership Principles

Amazon's Leadership Principles

One output of enabling autonomy around two-way door decisions is that it helps teams build strong judgment and good instincts—a key component of another Leadership Principle: Are Right, A Lot. This Leadership Principle isn’t about being right all the time, but about developing intuition and being able to be as right as possible at the time that a decision is needed. It’s also about adjusting rapidly with new evidence that comes in after you’ve launched. It enables teams to get comfortable making tough decisions quickly—knowing when to move forward without deeply investigating every detail, or freely escalating to leadership when a more careful and thorough approach is required.

Hiring and Developing the Best

Hiring and Developing the Best

All 16 Leadership Principles are used every day across Amazon—by executive leaders and builders alike—as both a unifying belief system and a tool to make rapid, quality decisions. Leadership Principles are easily distributable, and can help guide thinking towards the right direction more often. Are we Thinking Big enough? Is the solution truly Customer Obsessed and based on something we know customers need? Did we Dive Deep sufficiently to inform direction and know that we are driving the most important customer benefit? Are there elements we can move fast with Bias for Action to safely validate assumptions and iterate? Are we Insisting on Highest Standards and raising the bar with the customer experience we are creating? Are we ensuring we Are Right, A Lot and seeking diverse perspectives and disconfirming tightly-held assumptions with the right data?

Amazon’s Leadership Principles are great tools that help us foster autonomous decision making as the company scales, and helps leaders lead beyond their immediate line of sight. However the use of Leadership Principles isn’t confined to just making decisions at Amazon. They are embedded in our hiring processes: we give them to candidates prior to their interview, and evaluate their examples by how their decision-making and problem-solving demonstrates different Leadership Principles. They are used to frame the feedback we give each other—for the Think Big ideas we present, or in growth and development conversations between managers and employees.

In this way, Leadership Principles become a common vernacular that help frame conversations where decisions are hard and complex. They force us to look at problems from many different angles, and balance priorities at the time we need to make a decision. They provide a way for us to challenge and test assumptions, foster diverse perspectives, and raise our own bar on behalf of our customers.

It is not just what the Leadership Principles say, but how we utilize them—every day, in myriad ways—that make them an integral part of the fabric of Amazon’s culture. Developing your company’s own principles and creating purposeful, meaningful ways they can be used will help you create an enduring culture of innovation that grows with your business, and allows you to drive customer-centric innovation at scale and speed.

Share this article


Element of Amazon's Day 1 Culture
Article | 7 min read

Elements of Amazon’s Day 1 Culture

Putting "Day 1" into practice relies on maintaining a long-term focus, obsessing over customers, and bold innovation
Read more 
The Imperatives of Customer-Centric Innovation
Article | 7 min read

The Imperatives of Customer-Centric Innovation

The pace of business, advances in technology, and shifts in market segments create an acute need to innovate ahead of constantly changing customer needs and demands
Read more 
Innovating Through Disruption
Article | 7 min read

Innovating Through Disruption

AWS Worldwide Lead of Digital Innovation, Richard Halkett, examines how Amazon has scaled its innovation capabilities
Read more 

About the author

Daniel Slater, Worldwide Innovation Programs, AWS

Daniel Slater, Worldwide Lead, Culture of Innovation, AWS

Dan Slater oversees Culture of Innovation as a part of AWS’s Digital Innovation team which uses methodologies inspired by Amazon’s innovation mechanisms (e.g. Working Backwards) to help customers develop and deliver new solutions on AWS. Dan joined Amazon in 2006 to launch the company’s first direct-to-customer digital content offerings. He helped launch the Kindle device and Kindle’s global content marketplaces, as well as Amazon’s self-publishing service, Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP). After overseeing the digital business of the top 60 trade publishers, Dan led content acquisition, demand generation, and vendor relations for KDP. Prior to Amazon, Dan was a Senior Acquisitions Editor at Simon & Schuster and Penguin, and led sales for a publishing IT firm (Vista, now Ingenta). Born in Toronto, Canada, Dan lives in Seattle with his wife and two children. He earned his MBA from the Fuqua School of Business, Duke University, and completed a dual Bachelor of Arts degree at Cornell University.

Connect with us

Newsletter
Executive Insights Newsletter
Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS delivered to your inbox
Subscribe to the newsletter 
Blog
Enterprise Strategy Blog
Learn from executive leaders who have personally led cloud-powered transformation
Read the blog 
Social
AWS Executive Connection
Perspectives on enabling innovation and transformation through culture, talent, and leadership
Follow us on LinkedIn